We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd.

71 Broadway, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 1PE, England
+44 1702 480067
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“jambalaya” (17 reviews)
“whitebait” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
71 Broadway, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 1PE, England
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice restaurant, the atmosphere is cool and relax. The food was nice, we can see the food is homemade due to the quality and freshness of product. A nice seafood restaurant. Also, the homemade ice cream was nice. Thank you.

Thank aurelien90
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's an extensive menu, changed my mind a few times before ordering, all starters marked with a star and main marked with a star are £15. There was 7 of us and everyone had something different, the service was good and the food and portion...More

Thank Eileen B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The whitebait was under seasoned and extremely dry (over cooked). We was hoping to have lobster but they had ran out. The rest was edible but not great, won't be going back.More

Thank Emma P
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thank you for you review - sorry you found the food disappointing. The wonderful thing about Leigh on sea is the wealth of restaurants, so although you will not be coming back to us, you have some other wonderful places to go. We wish you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant for our wedding anniversary with another couple. We were there for 2.5 hours as the service was incredibly slow. First course was very nice. 2 of us had sea bass for mains. One small piece on loads of pesto mash. Sea...More

Thank Francine W
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you very much for your review. we had 37 booked for lunch and 110 walked through our door for lunch - we were completely buried. We would love more staff in the kitchen, but it is easier said than done. I am so sorry...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the second time I have visited The Sand Bar - the last time my meal was average but ok but this time it really was pretty bad. First of all the wait time for our food really was too long - I think...More

Thank Chloe H
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thank you for your review - albeit an upsetting one - I hate excuses, but it was an extremely busy night, we had a party upstairs, and we have statement on our menu that if we are under pressure - there could be delays. As...More

Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Went for a late leisurely lunch with a friend today. We had the oysters Rockefeller, soft shell crab, jumbalya and bouillabaisse. All of them were very nice. What made the lunch for me though we're the friendly, attentive (but not in your face) staff. Had...More

Thank Holly B
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

thank you so much for your review - service is a tricky thing - some people like really attentive, 'refilling your glass after every sip' service - however, I hate that as it can affect your flow of conversation with your friends - so I...More

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Can not say anything more then, perfect! Every visit, every meal is perfect. Love the vibe of this place also. Defo returning 👍More

Thank Thefatsurfer
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

thank you from me and thank you from our team - they all dread bad reviews - because it means being thrashed - 20 lashes each. So you have made us all very happy and in fine fettle. take care and say hi when you're...More

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Enjoyed a decent lunch at this popular restaurant in Leigh. Food was well cooked and of good quality. A wide ranging menu though fish seems to be the sin strength. Service friendly but the two waitresses on duty had to work hard; another person was...More

Thank Welshmanabroad1
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

I must thank you so much for your generous four stars - because if I had to listen to Phil Collins - I would want to shot myself! Obviously to two young ladies working were caught on the hop - if we knew we would...More

Reviewed 26 April 2017

A group of us had lunch at this restaurant, to which we had been before. The menu has a selection of dishes which can be combined for a £14.99 two course meal. They also have specials not on the regular menu. We had a range...More

Thank JLizzieH
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

I am so sorry that you felt that your lunch was not as good as when you came last. If this is to happen again, although I really hope that isn't the case - please tell the front of house staff that is looking after...More

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

My wife opted meatless monday deal. £9.99 for 3 courses. Food was a good portion and delicious. I opted for crayfish risotto, probably the best i've had. I preferred it to Jamie's Italian, Ask Italian and Zizzi's. Probably the best seafood restaurant in southend.

Thank JackerCrack
ourword, Owner at The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

thank you so so much for taking the time out to write such a kind review - we wish you well and hope to see you again soon. Louise

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Stop The World Cafe
598 reviews
.15 km away
Leigh Bistro
207 reviews
.18 km away
Relish
117 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old Leigh
742 reviews
.59 km away
Leigh Heritage Centre
35 reviews
.54 km away
Leigh Library
42 reviews
.32 km away
Bell Wharf Beach
44 reviews
.76 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Pat S
i would like to view the menue
28 July 2016|
Answer
Response from ourword | Property representative |
Good Morning, thank you for your request to see our Menu - we change our menu sometimes three times a week - the best thing to do is to email us direct and we will send you a copy of that day's menu... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 00:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 71 Broadway, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 1PE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 480067
Description
The Sand Bar & Seafood Co. has been apart of the Leigh Community for 15 years. We're a family run Restaurant with a love of Seafood. Everyday we learn some new, even after all these years, but we always have the ultimate aim of improving ourselves. We are Doggy friendly, and your pooch is welcome in our Downstairs Bar & Restaurant Area.We have a Wedding Licence and have held many weddings here. We have an upstairs Restaurant, which is used for many kinds of special occasions, Birthdays, Funerals, Business dinners, Company Events, Charities evenings, Film nights, Fashion Shows, Plays, Cooking Classes,Dance Classes & many other events. We haven't had a Doggy Fashion Show yet, but give us time!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing