We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Elms

1060 London Road, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 3ND, England
017024687
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (8 reviews)
“jacket potato” (3 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1060 London Road, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 3ND, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 259 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visited with my mum and my partner!We been in this pub so many times and we always like it.But last time was awful.All tables do dirty and sticky!Dirty plates and glasses everywhere!!We did asked can somebody come and clean our table in the bar but...More

Thank Rasa R
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Popped in for a quick drink with my wif after shopping at Waitrose It was 1430 hours on a Friday I would estimate about 15 to 20 percent full The place was filthy couldn't find a table that wasn't swimming in beer or full of...More

Thank lovell_k
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I took my parents to The Elms last night for dinner. So disappointed, firstly I was going to have Chicken Tikka however it has two chillies on the menu and I don't like spicy so decided to have Lasagna. I would never...More

Thank Regali2013
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good cheap weather spoons pub for fast cheap meals early to late. On the A13 for easy access and parking outside.

Thank claresmail
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great value pub for food and drink, always good atmosphere friendly bar staff a well run pub will be going back at some point!!

Thank sarah26sat
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pub is okay as a local pub, floor is dirty looking. Whole pub is dreary and needs updating and made lighter. Food never comes out hot. Staff are always changing every week. You have door staff at weekends due to constant trouble

1  Thank Debbie B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped unexpectedly as neither my Grand-daughter nor I had, had dinner. It was chicken night special, I had chicken Breast pieces and chips with soy sauce it was very tasty, the other meal was chicken rapped in bacon with a BBQ sauce and jacket potato...More

Thank Ladyinred1065
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have never massively rated this place and haven't been in years. we went here for my birthday lunch ( daughters request ) and I'm so glad I did. the food was beautiful, I literally found not fault it. We tried the order from the...More

Thank Melissablowes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food is nothing to write home about. Someone need to teach them how to poach an egg!! Came out hard boiled on my eggs benedict. Floor and tables sticky. Staff friendly, helpful and well presented. You definitely get what you pay for!!

Thank vinniethespark
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We are frequent customers of Wetherspoons pubs wherever we go and have used this one regularly in the past. Sadly it has gone down hill in recent months. The staff were curt, inattentive, and slow, the standard of cleanliness in the public areas poor, with...More

1  Thank Leslie H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Yak & Yeti
194 reviews
.09 km away
Rosy Lee Cafe
223 reviews
.07 km away
Mad Dogs & Englishmen
102 reviews
.51 km away
Henry Burgers
319 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old Leigh
793 reviews
.97 km away
Belfairs Wood, Park and Nature Reserve
274 reviews
1.36 km away
Leigh Heritage Centre
42 reviews
.97 km away
Bell Wharf Beach
51 reviews
1.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kerrypriest
11 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Beth N | Reviewed this property |
When we were refused service in July 2017, they said the policy had been in a year but we have taken our dog on numerous occasions and he is only 18 months old. Will never set foot in the place again
0
Votes
Sarah H
1 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Margaret L | Reviewed this property |
Am not sure. Probably 9pm. The rear dining area is large and families are not not intrusive to the bar area. We tend to go during the day and early evening when children are well catered for
1
Vote
Angie P
3 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Margaret L | Reviewed this property |
Yeah curry, but their full menu also
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1060 London Road, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 3ND, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
  • Phone Number: 017024687
Description
This is a J D Wetherspoon establishment
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing