We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Castle Inn

€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Castle Street, Framlingham IP13 9BP, England
+44 1728 724033
Website
Today
11:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 11:00 - 17:00
Tue - Sat 11:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Mount Bures, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We dropped in on Monday afternoon for a drink and a bar snack. We were greeted by a very pleasant young lady. I had a pint of real ale and my Wife enjoyed a hot chocolate. after looking at the menu we gave up on the bar snack and decided on the fish and chips followed by the homemade bread... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike R
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The thing that struck us the most was the great atmosphere. The landlord was very welcoming. People were disappointed to be turned away today as it was very busy. The food was basic but plentiful. Dogs were welcome which is fab. We had a great time.

Helpful?
Thank Bev P
Tony M, Owner at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bev, thank you very much for your review and kind words. Yes we were busy as it was the last weekend of half term so we were a bit stretched, its a shame we could stretch the pub so we could have fitted everyone in. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went in for lunch last Saturday. The place seemed nice and reasonably busy for the time of year. Staff seemed friendly and helpful. However my wife and daughter had the lasagne, both meals were very poor. The meat looked grey and was watery, ant the cheese on it was rubbery, and it had a funny taste. It was accompanied... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian J
Tony M, Owner at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sincerely sorry you didn't enjoy your food. We have a mechanism in place to deal with these situations that is for you to tell a member of the team when they come to you and ask "if everything is OK with your food?". It's only at these times we can help you,... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016

Just popped in for drinks & snacks which were very good except they had to be reminded that one of us had ordered coffee (what is it with Framlingham & coffee? - see my review of the Lemon Tree). Just a quick mention that the Ladies were lovely, very clean with some nice touches.

Helpful?
Thank goldrush2525
Tony M, Owner at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review and your kind words. Sorry that we missed your coffee, even the best make mistakes, please make yourself known to me the next time you are in Framlingham and I will buy you your coffee personally. Looking forward to seeing you, regards Tony More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Have eaten a few times here basic lunches never seems busy not haute cuisine Usual pub fayre at pub prices Allows dogs in too and on sunny days loads of room outside at front and rear of the pub

Helpful?
Thank Eric T
Tony M, Owner at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Eric for your review, and for confirming what we are about. We try to give good quality and good value with a friendly service certainly not "haut cuisine" there are enough pubs doing that and charging high prices. It is also nice that you have been to see us before. Best regards Tony More 

March
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Very family friendly pub, the food was fairly standard pub fayre but well presented and plentiful ( we think the garnish was a full salad!) The service was excellent and the landlord went the extra mile discussing the real ales available at his mini beer festival that I had the good fortune to stumble upon!

Helpful?
Thank 48david2016
Tony M, Owner at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, David, for your kind comments about our Pub and your visit. We are continually trying to improve our operation/service. We note your comment regarding our food quality, we will sit and discus this to see if we can make it better. Our policy is based on value and service, trying to give the best of both but more... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

The Castle Inn is, as the name suggests, conveniently located near the castle, just below the car park. There are a few tables outside at the front, but there is also a lovely terraced garden behind which is where we decided to eat our lunch. We chose beef lasagne which was excellent, my sister had chips with hers but I... More 

Helpful?
Thank helenh632016
Tony M, Owner at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Helen, for your kind words about your time with us. It makes us very happy to know we got things right for you and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Very best regards Tony More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Do not go to this 'food' establishment. Heating up Tesco products, uncooked meat, vegetable lasagne with no vegetables and three plates of food coming out at various intervals! Relying on its position is the only way this place can make a living! DO NOT GO.

Helpful?
Thank Alice A
Tony M, Owner at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your comments but I strongly advise you to get your facts right before you broadcast your opinions. All food and sauces are prepared fresh on site and temperature tested before they go to table, so cannot be undercooked. Nothing is purchased from any high street supermarket chain. The fact that your order came out fragmented was... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely pub, looks very classy from the outside. Decor is very nice too. Really enjoyed our stop off here for a drink whilst in Framlingham. Only thing stopping it getting 5/5 - not very pushchair friendly (although this is to be expected with an old, sympathetically returned building full of charm).

Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
Tony M, Owner at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Tony More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had dinner in the pleasant setting of the courtyard. It was good "pub food" served by very friendly staff

Helpful?
Thank Ray G
Tony M, Owner at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments we are very please you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again, kind regards Tony More 

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

Framlingham, Suffolk
 
Framlingham, Suffolk
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$2 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Drinks, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 17:00
Monday
11:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Castle Street, Framlingham IP13 9BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Framlingham
  • Phone Number: +44 1728 724033
Description
A typical English country pub on the outskirts of Framlingham & next to Framlingham Castle, serving local ales in prim condition with pub type food and country food specials all sauced locally and produced in house. Tea and coffee with cakes is available if that is your preferred choice. Be assured a warm welcome awaits you.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Castle Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?