We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Galleon

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
189 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 5EA, England
+44 1425 279855
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 12:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 12:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 234: English reviews
Lymington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our first visit,very friendly welcome,nice atmosphere,a complimentary glass of prosseco with your meal. Great starters,we had pate and whitebait,good size portions. Roast beef and Turkey for our main,good size plate of vegetables and mash potatoes,very yummy,will definitely be going back again.

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
GodivaManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Galleon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed The Galleon roast dinner. The team welcome the comments regarding the nice, warm and friendly atmosphere and we do hope that you join is again soon More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Wife's birthday, 3 children and partners, 4 grandchildren. had been to Galleon before but under new management. Major reason for choosing Galleon is the excellent children's play area in full view of the restaurant. It is a dog friendly pub and a previous reviewer had remarked on dog faeces in the play area. My grandchildren spent best part of two... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank john s
GodivaManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Galleon, responded to this review

It is great to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable afternoon at The Galleon and it's good to know that your grandchildren spent hours charging around our children's play area! Thank you for comments regarding our menu and the ale and we look forward to welcoming you another time More 

Saintes, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in for lunch and to see how it had improved since new management took over in late January. Most impressed - we had liver and bacon with fresh vegetables, and the quantities and the cooking were excellent. All vegetables are now freshly cooked, instead of coming out of tins. Menus contained some traditional dishes and some with a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank readercomm
GodivaManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Galleon, responded to this review

Thank you your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meals at the Galleon. We pride ourselves using local companies and produce and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped into the Galleon a few weeks ago with friends not knowing much about the area or the pubs in Highcliffe. It looks recently renovated and well cared for so we chose the Galleon. The conservatory restaurant was fairly busy but plenty of tables to eat at, good choice of roast dinners which were served promptly and a good variety... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn7xpk
GodivaManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Galleon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you had a great first experience at The Galleon. We hope that when you next visit Highcliffe ,you will visit us once again. More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only went here for a drink, it was ok, not outstanding. Very quiet. The owners were friendly and they had a lovely dog. Closes early and not much goes on there.

Helpful?
Thank Emily C
GodivaManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Galleon, responded to this review

Thank you for comments and we are glad that you popped in for a drink. We hope that you visit us again soon where you can be assured of a warm, friendly, welcome. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having not had previous good experiences at the Galleon, it seems that new management and a new team have changed their fortunes. The food has improved and is now worth more than you pay for it. The staff were friendly and no mix ups with orders. Long may it last......... we will be back :)

Helpful?
Thank Simon L
GodivaManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Galleon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are all delighted to hear such wonderful comments. We all pride ourselves on our customer service and friendliness and we look forward to your returning visit More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place has reached an all time low! What a dreary uninviting place! Drink is expensive and furniture has seen better days! No entertainment and no atmosphere. Restaurant empty and menu expensive. Will not be going there again until it improves substantially!

Helpful?
Thank Rob S
GodivaManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Galleon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are extremely disappointed that you felt that The Galleon is expensive. We can assure you that our prices fall in line with other similar venues in the area. The new management and their team do hope that you will come back in the near future. More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Dont normally write reviews but felt it necessary this time.. went there today for Sunday lunch - Sunday 22nd January - my son was playing out in the garden where there is a kids play park he came running back in with dog mess on his trainers.. he said there was quite a bit dog mess in the garden. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jobada B
GodivaManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Galleon, responded to this review

We apologise profusely for the dog mess which was totally unacceptable and we are sorry that the situation was not dealt with in the correct way. Please let us reassure you that this was an isolated indecent and we hope to see you again in the future More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

Called in new years eve after being told at the house martin it would cost us £10 each to get in ,we only wanted one drink. Outside the galleon a board said 'free entry'so we went in ordered drinks and found a table ,at 7.30 adisco turned so we had another drink, at 8.45 the staff brought out a free... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
GodivaManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Galleon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable New Years Eve at The Galleon and we look forward to offering you a warm welcome in 2017 More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

Haven't been here for a year but wanted to check it out as it's under new management so I give it ago.. wished I hadn't. Came in the evening and the place should have been busy but it wasn't ... always a bad sign. My pie wasn't cooked sufficiently and the meat was of very poor quality. Peas were hard.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ExJanetEx

Travellers who viewed The Galleon also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Galleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 12:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 12:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 12:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 12:00
Friday
11:00 - 12:00
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 12:00
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 189 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 5EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch  >  Highcliffe
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 279855
Description
The Galleon is under new ownership as of July 1, 2016. Prominently located on the Lymington Road in Highcliffe, Christchurch, just a few minutes walks from Highcliffe Castle and the beach, this large restaurant and bar is now part of the Godiva Leisure Group, which also owns and operates The Coventry Arms, in Wimborne, Dorset. The restaurant serves a large and varied fresh menu, while the bar serves a selection of great wine, beer, and real ales, in a modern and family friendly atmosphere. The large gardens feature a children's play area, as well as comfortable seating for dining or just relaxing.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Galleon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?