We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Devon Doorway

) #10 of 49 Restaurants in Heswall €€ - €€€ Bar, British, Pub
2 Telegraph Road, Heswall CH60 2SA, England
+44 151 348 4462
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good25%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (18 reviews)
“pudding” (19 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
DETAILS
2 Telegraph Road, Heswall CH60 2SA, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent roast dinner. Perfect veg, crispy roasties, only problem was the roast chicken was on the bone which I don't like. Perfect puds and good service. Love this place!

Thank RosiePosie2014
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi Rosie, Thank you so much for your positive feedback, its fabulous to hear how much you enjoyed our famous Sunday roast. We hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is our new lunch haunt. Simply because the Pork & dauphinois potatoes dish is utterly delicious! My husband loved the Wagayu burger which we found perfect (I stole some) and the chicken pie is also lovely. I really look forward to visiting here and...More

Thank MRANDMRSSMITH05
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi MRANDMRSSMITH05, It is fantastic to hear how much you have enjoyed your visits to our lovely pub. It is great news that you have sampled some of the most popular dishes off our extensive menu. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to try here for lunch, it was a beautiful day so sat outside. Went in to get some menus and ordered at the bar. Helped ourselves to cutlery etc. Friendly service and a nice atmosphere in a lovely country pub setting. Opted for gammon...More

Thank Ash W
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi Ash W, We are so glad you enjoyed your lunch in the sun with us. Both the gammon and Homemade British Beef burger are popular choices and we are glad you can see why. We look forward to seeing again soon so you can...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was excellent and very good value. Noisy as very busy. Service was very very slow though staff were doing their best

Thank Tripper268
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi Tripper268, It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we really look forward to seeing you again very soon. Many thanks.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the second time we've dined here as a family and have to say it just gets better and better. Amazing food, great service and wonderful staff. Can't wait to return in the very near future.

Thank JoAndKev
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi JoAndKev, It is really great to hear both you and your family continue to enjoy everything the Devon Doorway has to offer. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best wishes.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food and amazing place to eat and drink with family and friends.. We visited this restaurant in December every year.. the place is full all time and you need have a reservation. ❤️👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

Thank Leidysmar
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi Leidysmar, It is great to hear how much you enjoy your visits to the Devon Doorway. Many thanks for your positive feedback, we look forward to seeing you again at our lovely pub.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having seen the reviews we came here with high expectations and the menu looks good. However we left disappointed, chicken was overcooked and dry, crab cakes very mediocre. Service was ok but that's it.More

Thank djh&cjh
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi djh&cjh, I am sorry to hear that you felt disappointed after your recent visit to the Devon Doorway. We take great pride in the high quality of both our food and service and therefore will be taking your feedback on board. Many thanks for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I havent visited this pub for years but heard good reports. The decor is light and bright and comfortable .. gastro pub style. As it was lunch i chose the chicken salad which was very nice and had tenderstem broccoli and avocado in it too....More

Thank clare w
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi Clare, It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our charming pub. We aim to provide the best quality food at fair prices and therefore your feedback will most definitely be taken on board. Many thanks and we hope to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a table for Saturday evening 7pm - was shown straight to table. The waitress was eager to take order and was back within 2/3 minutes asking if we were ready to order drinks/food - asked for a little more time. Back again in less...More

Thank Jacqueline M
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi Jaqueline, I am sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your recent visit to the Devon Doorway. We pride ourselves on our food quality and extensive menu, so we will be sure to take your comments on board. We offer a...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

The waiting on staff were very cheerful and welcoming which is why I haven't given The Devon Doorway a lower rating. The food was fine - nothing to get excited about and ok value for money. But 2 1/2 hours is too long to wait...More

Thank graham1808
TheDevonDoorway, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this review

Hi Graham, We are happy to hear that the service you experiences was up to our usual high standard and that you enjoyed your food on your recent visit. However, I am sorry to hear that you left disappointed due to your wait time, this...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
107 Dining Room
735 reviews
.93 km away
Burnt Truffle
354 reviews
.69 km away
Gusto Heswall
550 reviews
.86 km away
The Jug & Bottle
294 reviews
1.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Dee View Inn
29 reviews
1.09 km away
Mini Monsters
34 reviews
1.11 km away
Heswall Golf Club
19 reviews
1.27 km away
Love Stitch
7 reviews
1.19 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Plinnked
What's your policy on charging service charge.
6 February 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from TheDevonDoorway | Property representative |
We do not put service charge on bills unless it is a large party but this is at your discretion and can be removed.
0
Votes
barbaracha2016
do they do a nice steak
3 October 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Riggerbootsuk | Reviewed this property |
Not sure
0
Votes
j0shua12
I would like to know who owns the Devon Doorway
26 December 2015|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Margaret M | Reviewed this property |
Hi there your question about "who ownes the Devon Doorway in Heswall is Mitchells & Butlers. Hope that helps. Margaret
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$23
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Telegraph Road, Heswall CH60 2SA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Wirral  >  Heswall
  • Phone Number: +44 151 348 4462
  • E-mail
Description
Our menu changes with the seasons and is modern British, comfortably interwoven with some Mediterranean influences.It ranges from traditional favourites such as fish and chips and steaks to freshly made pizzas and pastas with the chef’s daily specials showcasing the finest market fresh ingredients. There’s something for everyone and for all occasions too. You don’t have to go for the full works if you don’t want to, just have a snack and a lovely drink in the bar with your friends.Wine is something of a passion for us and nothing pleases us more than when we unearth a new discovery that blows our socks off! We’ve got everything from crisp refreshing whites, trendy pinks to fat juicy reds by the bottle or glass so we are really looking forward to your reaction to all the latest treasures!We are also very proud of our beers and we have a great selection of cask ales, super chilled draft and bottled beers to quench your thirst.Just stop by for a pint of ale, read the papers and chill out or book a table and enjoy simple food prepared with care.