We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

India Villa

) #2 of 6 Restaurants in Thaxted €€ - €€€ Indian, Asian,
20 Watling Street, Thaxted, England
+44 1371 831205
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good30%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“poppadoms” (11 reviews)
“curry” (9 reviews)
“chicken” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20 Watling Street, Thaxted, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Start with the building was tatty and looked like they haven't spent money on it during the past 8-10 years. Even the interior was looking old and tatty. The previous owner was running a good Indian restaurant but some time ago the changed hands, for...More

Thank C T
Sobhan S, Owner at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We really surprise by reading your message, that never happen to us and if you don't believe me , read the other message and tell the diffference, I understand about that buildings but about the curry we never had complain like that. Yeah building its...More

Reviewed 12 June 2017

Things seem to have improved here recently, with the odd hiccup. Depending on what you order and when you order things can vary from being good to somewhat oily food and slick to very slow service. Takeaway time can be chaotic.

Thank ChelmsfordMel
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

We have eaten at the Indian Villa in Thaxted quite a few times. The most recent being May 2017. The food is authentic and delicious and the service is spot on. This recent is the best that Thaxted has to offer.

Thank Robyn M
Sobhan S, Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hi Robyn thank you very much, really appreciate you really enjoyed your meal and our service. . Thank you very much once agin hope to you see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Been eating here for years....Gets better every time we go....love it here. Friendly, fast service.....fantastic food!

Thank Mary P
Sobhan S, Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hi Mary thank you very much for yur review, we are glad to hear that you really enjoys our services and our meal.

Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Went for my birthday celebration, waiters all very helpful on explaining dishes, I had India villa mixed grill huge divine & very tasty, will definitely be returning to try out out other dishes.

Thank Lisa R
Sobhan S, Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you very much Lisa we hope you enjoyed your birthday at India villa. Yes all of our staff very friendly n nice, very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thank again we are looking forward to see you again.

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Beware of Indian Villa's practice of not taking the 10% collection discount off your bill. I was offered a "complimentary" bottle of wine "because of order size " (£85 for take away). I paid and whilst waiting for the food checked my bill and realised...More

Thank MikeA15
Sobhan S, Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi mike , we have seen youe review and read it through. My sincery apologizes to you. This is all miscumation about the offer , it's basically my staff couldn't explained it properly about the offere, basically the offer was with two options one is...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017

This restaurant has been our local Indian restaurant for many years but sadly had gone downhill, so we'd stopped visiting in the last 2 years. Well, I am delighted to say that with the new owners everything seems to be good again. We were tempted...More

1  Thank Lambfleece
Sobhan S, General Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback... yes look our customer was telling us that they really bad experiences with the last managed man sooo we are our trying our best not to disappoint any off our customer. And you gave our new mangment try you like...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Having recently been taken over by new people, a vast improvement on prior owners. The restaurant has been re-decorated and the service, food and ambience was great. We will definitely return and would highly recommendMore

Thank SueGandi
Sobhan S, General Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Hi sue Gandhi thank you very much appreciated for your feed back.lovley comments.we have very good team at the moment and we are trying to work hard to keep everything nice and tidy. Thank you very much once again and hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

From the moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome. Service was immediate and the popadum accompaniments were really good, and the Cobras came without delay. Our chosen dishes were excellent. We had gone there especially to try the place as I'd...More

Thank Neil W
Sobhan S, General Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we really happy to hear that you was happy with your meal and our service. And we always on focus to look after out costumer, we try our best with everything so no ones gets disappointed, thank you...More

Reviewed 19 April 2017

I am partial to a curry or 2 so when my boyfriend and I moved to the village we thought we would give the local Indian a go after hearing good things about it. We were not disappointed. Whilst I can't comment on the dinning...More

Thank Peach_Tinted_Glasses
Sobhan S, General Manager at India Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thanks for your review. We are really happy that you wasnt disappointed and you was really happy with your meal... and I do agree you with sometime we do get really busy and people should book before they come and not get disappointed when they...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Star
142 reviews
.33 km away
Parrishes
112 reviews
.16 km away
The Maypole Thaxted
27 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Thaxted
36 reviews
.14 km away
Prince of Wales Broxted
24 reviews
6.49 km away
The Nurture Barn
42 reviews
6.78 km away
Guildhall Finchingfield
11 reviews
7.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stel300
11 September 2016|
Answer
Response from aliboulton | Reviewed this property |
No idea, sorry. I was only visiting as I was working locally for one night.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Watling Street, Thaxted, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Thaxted
  • Phone Number: +44 1371 831205
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing