We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Princess Garden

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1-3 Brewery Lane, Ponteland NE20 9NZ, England
+44 1661 821818
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 225: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Came here with friends and had a fab night! You really can't fault the service/food! We had chicken and sweet corn soup (only slight problem wasn't piping hot) appetisers were beautiful especially the ribs and prawn toast! Ordered a selection of mains and all were extremely tasty especially the chicken curry! I would definitely recommend ordering the noodles as a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for a takeaway on the way back to hotel after work. Crispy lamb starter was chewy at best. Mixed meat curry and rice was very bland, meat was chewy and tasteless. Two courses and a bottle of cider while I waited at a total cost of £23. Poor quality food at high quality prices. I will not be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Garry H
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Dear Garry H, Sorry you did not enjoy your takeaway if you had called back we could have made you another dish more to your liking. i am assuming you can count but did not look at our prices next to each dish you choose off the menu !!!! Regards Paul Stephenson Regards Paul Stephenson More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food,service were exceptional.Party of 11 had a great night and I would highly recommend a visit...Staff were really helpful and friendly..

Helpful?
Thank martin l
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thank you very much for your lovely review. Regards Paul Stephenson More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Ordered the beef curry- such small pieces of beef. God knows what's going on with the chow mein I've never had a chow mein like that in my life... My partner had sweet and sour chicken but you obviously have to specify if you want the balls as he got some small pieces of shredded chicken. Waste of £25 really.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Slianne11
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Dear Slianne11, Thanks for your review but to be honest i really dont understand the content of it. You dont say whats going on with the chow mein for it to be a problem. We dont even make chicken balls. Our menu has not changed in 19 years so i think you might have written your review about the wrong... More 

newcastle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Good value for money. We visited for the first time tonight having noticed it whilst shopping in Waitrose opposite. Bought a takeaway and food was still hot by the time we drove home (about 35mile away!) Very tasty kung po and beef curry, nicely cooked chips as well. Will defo return again soon.

Helpful?
Thank scooter1111111
Whalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

First visit here, was practically empty which was nice for us. Up a flight of stairs and didn't see a lift so no good for those who can't manage the stairs... Staff polite and efficient. Menu varied and not too expensive. Décor is very dark but works quite well and looks okay. Enjoyed our meal, but the wine was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We moved away from the area many years ago, so haven't been for quite some time,but as we still have family relatively near by and we're having a get together we visited again. In times gone by we always thoroughly enjoyed our visit & the food was always exceptional, tonight was as good as ever, a busy Saturday but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Murphie07
Wales
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

The "all you can eat" menu was perfect for our group after doing the Great North Run : ) We had a fantastic evening at Princess Garden, the food and the service were wonderful! But the highlight was was the free lift home from the lovely waitress and her partner after we stayed too late to get a taxi! We... More 

Helpful?
Thank WelshGeordie53
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

Doesn't matter how many time we go to Princess Gardens we always have a fantastic meal and served by friendly staff, I chose the Chung Bow Chicken dish and it was exceptional, my wife had the Smoked Chicken and said it was gorgeous, We really cannot fault the service again, just keep doing what your doing as its spot on... More 

Helpful?
Thank phil s
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

From the tasteless food to the tacky new decor this place does not impress on all fronts. The best thing about it was my pint of Fosters. Spend only £10 more & go to New rendezvous where the overall experience is a million times better.

Helpful?
1 Thank dandcdandc
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

I think your review is just an advert for the New Rendezvous and have reported it to tripadvisor. More 

Travellers who viewed Princess Garden also viewed

 
Ponteland, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 

Been to Princess Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-3 Brewery Lane, Ponteland NE20 9NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Ponteland
  • Phone Number: +44 1661 821818

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Princess Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?