We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Princess Garden

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1-3 Brewery Lane, Ponteland NE20 9NZ, England
+44 1661 821818
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 228: English reviews
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

as you can see from my last visit its been a long time,couldn't fault anything on this visit, firstly the staff/manageress on duty that night looked after us so much. Special mention to the young Chinese girl who looked after us that night, after speaking to the manageress they call her smiler,she was superb. Food from start to Finnish was... More 

Helpful?
Thank darren r
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Once again a great experience super service and really tasty food I can not recommend this restaurant enough we have visited as a couple and as part of a large group and the service has always been spot on

Helpful?
Thank Big_Lad_101
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was the first time we have ordered a takeaway, from Princess Garden, it was by far the best we have ever had! The £14 deal (x2 appetisers x2 mains and a side) is excellent for the two of you. Only had to wait 15mins. Highly recommend salt and pepper spare ribs and sweet and sour king prawns! Delicious, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bumble B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Came here with friends and had a fab night! You really can't fault the service/food! We had chicken and sweet corn soup (only slight problem wasn't piping hot) appetisers were beautiful especially the ribs and prawn toast! Ordered a selection of mains and all were extremely tasty especially the chicken curry! I would definitely recommend ordering the noodles as a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Called in for a takeaway on the way back to hotel after work. Crispy lamb starter was chewy at best. Mixed meat curry and rice was very bland, meat was chewy and tasteless. Two courses and a bottle of cider while I waited at a total cost of £23. Poor quality food at high quality prices. I will not be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Garry H
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Dear Garry H, Sorry you did not enjoy your takeaway if you had called back we could have made you another dish more to your liking. i am assuming you can count but did not look at our prices next to each dish you choose off the menu !!!! Regards Paul Stephenson Regards Paul Stephenson More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Food,service were exceptional.Party of 11 had a great night and I would highly recommend a visit...Staff were really helpful and friendly..

Helpful?
Thank martin l
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thank you very much for your lovely review. Regards Paul Stephenson More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Ordered the beef curry- such small pieces of beef. God knows what's going on with the chow mein I've never had a chow mein like that in my life... My partner had sweet and sour chicken but you obviously have to specify if you want the balls as he got some small pieces of shredded chicken. Waste of £25 really.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Slianne11
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Dear Slianne11, Thanks for your review but to be honest i really dont understand the content of it. You dont say whats going on with the chow mein for it to be a problem. We dont even make chicken balls. Our menu has not changed in 19 years so i think you might have written your review about the wrong... More 

newcastle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Good value for money. We visited for the first time tonight having noticed it whilst shopping in Waitrose opposite. Bought a takeaway and food was still hot by the time we drove home (about 35mile away!) Very tasty kung po and beef curry, nicely cooked chips as well. Will defo return again soon.

Helpful?
Thank scooter1111111
Whalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

First visit here, was practically empty which was nice for us. Up a flight of stairs and didn't see a lift so no good for those who can't manage the stairs... Staff polite and efficient. Menu varied and not too expensive. Décor is very dark but works quite well and looks okay. Enjoyed our meal, but the wine was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We moved away from the area many years ago, so haven't been for quite some time,but as we still have family relatively near by and we're having a get together we visited again. In times gone by we always thoroughly enjoyed our visit & the food was always exceptional, tonight was as good as ever, a busy Saturday but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Murphie07

Travellers who viewed Princess Garden also viewed

 
Ponteland, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Princess Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-3 Brewery Lane, Ponteland NE20 9NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Ponteland
  • Phone Number: +44 1661 821818

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Princess Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?