We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$59
CUISINES
Italian, Swiss, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
14
4
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
14
4
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegan hotel view mountains alpine wood
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 18 January 2022

- The hotel is really nice, in a small village of few houses - The rooms are nice as well, the bed is comfortable - The private bathroom was not within the room, but it was great as well - The location of the hotel...is nice for those looking for calm, nature and mountains, especially in winter with snow ! - The restaurant of the hotel is really nice, with excellent food for a reasonable price. - Only problem : the sound isolation is terrible. You can hear a lot of noise at night (footsteps on the wood stairs,...) until 1 am.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 August 2021

Top, the Team was excelente. The view is beautiful. We love the Week there. All was great, we are really happy there.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 February 2021

nice vegan dinner in a familial nice alpine little hotel - breakfast could be better - no noise wood cracking apart - quite expensive

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 October 2020

Me and my partner stayed at the Stella Alpina for two nights. We were hoping for a nice wellness-weekend - but at our arrival we were informed that the spa and wellness-aera of the hotel was closed (due to Covid-19). Of course we understand the...safety and precaution-measures - however, we should have been informed prior to our arrival. It isn't tolerable that we travled all the way up to the Hotel only to find out that the spa and wellnes-aereas are closed (the main reason for us to travel there in the first place!). This was a big disappointment for us. In addition, the service-personal never apologized for the inconvenience and was rather rude to us. We would have been happy with an apology and a small discount. But the service-personal didn't take on responsiblity for any other inconveniences that came up during our stay either. They were also very unhelpful when we had questions about the local public transport.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
stellaalpina2012, Direttore generale at Chalet Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2020

THANK YOU for being our customers. Our spa is not closed for covid. it is open every day from 8:00 to 20:00 by appointment only. (private use for each client) It is possible that there was a technical problem where it was not possible to...More

Reviewed 12 October 2020

The hotel is charming and nicely set in the valley. The rooms and beds are ok, however you can follow everything that is discussed in the neighbouring room. We really enjoyed the shower which was nice, and also the coffee and tea provided in the...room. Our room had a window that did not close properly, so the general policy seems to be to turn up the central heating. However, the room was warm enough anyway. We were a bit disappointed to hear that only an Italian breakfast (coffee and croissant) is included in the room price and that you have to pay extra for cheese and bread. It is a good idea to have vegan and vegetarian options on the menu, but the ones we have were not really seasoned and seemed a bit uninspired. Probably the cook simply forgot that there was no salt/pepper available on the table due to Corona measures.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
stellaalpina2012, Proprietario at Chalet Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Thanks for your review. Buffet breakfast is prohibited with coronavirus. Breakfast is now not included in the room rate, as you can read in your booking. However, we offer a free small Italian breakfast with croissants and coffee-the-cappuccino. The maxi breakfast is now served at...More

Reviewed 13 September 2020

Tried to cancel booking 6 days before arrival but was still charged full rate. There is a pandemic on! Very annoyed, and strongly urge anyone considering staying to be careful on dates of cancellation, especially is these very difficult times.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
stellaalpina2012, Direttore generale at Chalet Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

internet translation: YOU HAVE NEVER CANCELED your booking with booking.com. You just wrote a message to find out if it was possible to cancel. We kept the room reserved for you. We are the ones bothered! We live honestly with our work and the room...More

Reviewed 2 September 2020

We spent 4 days there and we fared very well. Very kind staff, good location and a special mention for the cook; you can find the same course in different versions: normal, veggie or vegan. Very tasty all the times. For us highly recommended. Quite...close you can find paths for every kind of excursions and hiking.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 August 2020

We enjoed very much the litte hotel which is at a very nice location with excellent fodd, good athmosphere and very friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 August 2020

A lovely place, very cosy with great staff. The place has lots of small details, a nice style without going over board

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 June 2020

We had high expecations with regards to both food and hopes of relaxation after the hard period of lockdown which has just been softened. What can we say? We LOVED it. Mauro and the entire staff gave us an amazing experience and we could not...be more grateful. We were also lucky enough to find beautiful, warm and sunny days meaning we could up the mountains and have day-long hikes. Food (we went for full vegan) is excellent and despite missing on animal ingredients, it definitely delivers on the alpine experience. Looking forward to coming back soon!More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Chalet Stella Alpina Hotel & Wellness
400 reviews
.01 km away
Hotel & Ristorante Forni Airolo
112 reviews
8.82 km away
Hotel des Alpes - Hotel, Albergo
59 reviews
8.91 km away
Hotel des Alpes
30 reviews
10.93 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Locanda Orelli
235 reviews
1.24 km away
Osteria Lucendro
10 reviews
2.72 km away
Ristorante All'AcquA
38 reviews
2.37 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St Gotthard Pass
106 reviews
7.90 km away
Nufenen Pass
66 reviews
9.01 km away
Dampfbahn Furka Bergstrecke
83 reviews
9.67 km away
Rhone Glacier
196 reviews
10.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chalet Stella Alpina staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chalet Stella Alpina

Chalet Stella Alpina is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5