We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Woolpack Inn

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Warminster Road, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
+44 1373 831244
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

use this every christmas excellent atmosphere , pleasant surroundings freindly staff. pleasant village location

Helpful?
Thank 225philipw
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Always enjoy eating at the Woolpack; today, we had a traditional Sunday roast with a bottle of Australian Chardonnay and a delicious sweet each. We had our table booked for 1200 noon, a wise move - by 1230, the restaurant was busy. Not sure whether I would want to eat there much nearer Christmas! Hopefully, will return early in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob E
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Very wide range of food on offer from quick snacks to Fillet Steak. If it's a cold day make for the roaring inglenook fireplace, very cheery,

Helpful?
Thank John S
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

Arrived at The Woolpack lunchtime without a reservation, but not a problem, we chose a table and had to decide our meal and order it and drinks at the bar. We had the chicken duo,which was a peice of chicken in a wine sauce and a small chicken pie, which was nice, but probably not needed, served with veg and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank zepp
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Zepp, Thank you for your review, We are glad to here you had a lovely lunch. I will pass on your comments to the staff and we hope to see you agin soon. Tina More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016

We visited for dinner when staying in Frome Premier Inn. The food was good, with friendly staff and quick service.

Helpful?
Thank karen996a
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Karen996a, Thank you for your review, We are pleased to here you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to see you again soon. Tina More 

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

Had mixed grill, which was very bland. 5 types of meat that tasted the same. Go for the burger, that is ok.

Helpful?
3 Thank jaydeeAberdeen
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear JaydeeAberdeen, Thank you for your review, Im sorry you felt your Mixed Grill was bland, i have passed on your comments to the kitchen team and look to improve this. Tina More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016

Just a shame my potatoes never arrived and had to go looking for them whilst meal cooled! Would visit again though if in the area.

Helpful?
Thank LouiseMill
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear LouiseMill, Thank you for your review, Im glad to here that you would return to us, definetly a shame you had to chase up potatoes! I will pass on your feedback to the staff See you again soon Tina More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Anniversary meal. Chicken breast supreme wasn't a breast and was far from supreme, tough old chicken quarter, tired frozen veg,tasteless potatoes. Baked Alaska straight out the packet frozen as was apple pie. Curry dry and tasteless. Service adequate. Never again! Dampened our celebration 😭

Helpful?
1 Thank Nirtbid
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nirtbid First of all I would like to apologise for the level of service and the quality of food that you have recieved. We do our utmost to ensure that we offer the best dishes for the lowest prices and comments such as yours will now be used to help develop our methods to ensure greater satisfaction in future.... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

Had Sunday lunch with the family , prices were very reasonable as they had an offer on , service was ok and food was ok as well but no better than that , I can never understand why places serve cauliflower cheese that has virtually no cheese in it , overall it was value for money but I would have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Adam W Firstly, Thank you for your comments, all feedback is used to ensure that we are able to provide the best qaulity service and all feedback is used to find room for improvemnt so that we can better ourselves for our customers. I am sorry to hear about the lack of cheese that was recieved with your cauliflower... More 

Mid Glamorgan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016

Pleasant surroundings and polite, friendly and helpful staff. Called in for early evening meal. Dining room all reserved but plenty of seating in the bar area. The meal was not exceptional but there was nothing to complain about. Did not take long to be served, was hot and plentiful without the plates being overloaded. Been the 3 of us we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oldmotherhen
Old_English_Inns99, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Oldmotherhen, We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit and i will take note of the vegtable situation and inform kitchen mangaer to keep an eye on quality. We always look at ways to improve. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again. Tina More 

Travellers who viewed The Woolpack Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Warminster Road, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Frome  >  Beckington
  • Phone Number: +44 1373 831244
  • This restaurant is at The Woolpack Inn

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Woolpack Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Rugby, United Kingdom
Exeter, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Woolpack Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?