We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dunes

€€ - €€€, , Seafood
1193 Barrenjoey Rd, Palm Beach, Pittwater, New South Wales 2108, Australia
+61 2 9974 3332
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good37%
  • Average5%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“snapper” (6 reviews)
“beet salad” (2 reviews)
“duck” (6 reviews)
Open Now
08:30 - 15:30 Hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, Australian, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1193 Barrenjoey Rd, Palm Beach, Pittwater, New South Wales 2108, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I dined at Dunes last weekend for lunch, to celebrate my mother in law’s 70th birthday. It was a big disappointment. Firstly, the waitress was completely disinterested in us and was run off her feet so we practically had to beg for...More

1  Thank Turramumma86
Mmuehleck, Owner at The Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Katie First of all I would like to say I am very sorry if you had a bad dining experience with us. Since you did not complain to us on the day and all your meals came back eaten we actually had no idea...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hosted a lunch on April 29 for 16 people to celebrate my sons 50th birthday at the Dunes restaurant. It was a beautiful day and I want to thank and praise the restaurant for good service ,excellent food and a very happy atmosphere. We...More

1  Thank Robert S
lopepc17, Manager at The Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Robert Thank you so much for your lovely review- it is great to know you enjoyed your special occasion with us! Looking forward to seeing you soon, the Dunes team

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I went there with a friend who had heard of it but never been. The service was friendly and welcoming but without being over the top, the food was very good and the chance to sit on the verandah in the autumn sunshine and enjoy...More

1  Thank Maurice I L
lopepc17, Manager at The Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the kind words Maurice. We are happy that you enjoyed your meal at Dunes. Hoping to see you again.

Reviewed 4 March 2018

A beautiful setting, on the park, room for children to run around & play whilst we dine, beautiful food, excellent service, friendly, sincere & caring staff.

2  Thank jmy82215
lopepc17, Manager at The Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are always excited to organize celebrations at the Dunes, especially on a sunny day where kids can just enjoy the surroundings. Hope to welcome you soon at the Dunes.

Reviewed 22 January 2018

the best fish & chips at the kiosk in Sydney to eat outside or take away, the restaurant also serves excellent food and good variety.

2  Thank horst2018
lopepc17, Manager at The Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the kind words. Always good to hear that our customers are happy with our quality.

Reviewed 19 January 2018

Lovely beach like setting across from the actual beach. Limited menu but adequate for lunch. Dogs are welcome. Parking is paid parking $ 6 per hour.

1  Thank AWCostless
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

This spot never fails to please , and again we enjoyed it at its best - at the end of a sunny hot day . The cross ventilation allows the cool onshore wind to gently flow through the restaurant , which is tastefully decorated in...More

1  Thank Fran C
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Came here for a nice lunch. The restaurant is very nicely decked out. There is an inside part, but we were lucky to have a table outside with a cool breeze coming through. You can just walk across from the beach and so the location...More

3  Thank mihskaelli
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We discovered The Dunes by accident- we arrived at The Boathouse, we’re put off by the queue and walking back to the car came across The Dunes. Our afternoon could not have been better. The meal was superb, service prompt and friendly, the seafood very...More

4  Thank SydneyFamily2011
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I ordered an extra piece of fish from Dunes Kiosk and they served me this tiny shred of a thing the serving staff universally agreed it was far too pitiful, so they sent it back to the kitchen. then the kitchen staff smugly refused to...More

4  Thank bernardz724
Mmuehleck, Owner at The Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Bernard Our kitchen team prepared a piece of fish for your and although it is normally served battered they agreed to serve it grilled as you asked for this. As a result your fish piece was of course smaller than it would be if...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Palm Beach Hotels
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort
967 reviews
6.49 km away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
2,643 reviews
8.08 km away
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
213 reviews
8.18 km away
Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
330 reviews
8.24 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Boathouse Palm Beach
671 reviews
.10 km away
Barrenjoey House
288 reviews
1.19 km away
Palm Beach Fish and Chips
89 reviews
1.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pittwater Kayak Tours
261 reviews
1.15 km away
Barrenjoey Lighthouse
203 reviews
1.03 km away
Palm Beach
622 reviews
1.03 km away
Fantasea Palm Beach Ferries
72 reviews
1.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Courts B
16 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mmuehleck | Property representative |
We normally serve lunch Sundays from 12pm. We are currently on our annual winter break so the restaurant is closed this Sunday- we will reopen on the 2nd of July.
0
Votes
SvFisher
30 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mmuehleck | Property representative |
There is a 3 course set menu including a glass of champagne upon arrival $85 per person for Valentines Dinner. The menu offers a choice of 3 for each course.
1
Vote
WATTO247
24 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from MichelleESydney | Reviewed this property |
This is a licensed restaurant however you can byo wine.. They previously changed this policy for byo certain days prob best to check before you go!! Not sure since it has changed hands as i didn't take notice of this when we... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$27
Cuisine
Contemporary, Australian, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 15:30
Wednesday
08:30 - 15:30
Thursday
08:30 - 15:30
Friday
08:30 - 21:30
Saturday
08:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1193 Barrenjoey Rd, Palm Beach, Pittwater, New South Wales 2108, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Sydney  >  Pittwater  >  Palm Beach
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9974 3332
  • E-mail
Description
Located near the northern point of the beautiful Palm Beach peninsula, Dunes Restaurant & Kiosk provides a perfect setting for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Opened in 2006, Dunes sits between Pittwater and the Pacific Ocean on 1200 square metres of manicured lawns and gardens. Our seasonal menu includes only the freshest produce in an innovative and contemporary variety of dishes, designed by our Executive Chef Troy Frater and his partner Madeleine Muhleck. Surrounded by Australian native plants, lush palm trees and filtered water views, we invite you to come and discover all the natural wonders of Dunes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;