We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
12-14 North Lane, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3HE, England (Formerly Bretts Fish Restaurant)
+44 113 232 3344
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
Closed now
All hours
Sun 12:00 - 16:00
Mon 17:00 - 21:00
Wed - Fri 12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
Sat 12:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 58: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Worst fish and chips ever. Every other chip bad and mouldy, slimy wet fish. Can't believe the person who prepared it couldn't see how bad it all was. Won't b going again, got full refund.

Thank Sandra C
givememorewine, Director of Sales at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Hi there. I think it's important that reviewers know the full facts first. Our head chef (michelin star trained) cooked your fish and chips and half an hour later you returned with no fish left and a handfull of chips complaining that they were terrible and asking for a full refund. My collesgue apologised and on the evidence presented to... More 

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The mood was sombre following a funeral for my mother and we thought we'd give her a good Yorkshire send off with fish & chips from Charlie Bretts at the Allerton. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive and exceedingly helpful. We all would highly recommend this venue for a function or a meal.

Thank SpamulaMacSpamula
CharlieBretts, Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Hi SpamulaMacSpamula, We're very pleased to hear your afternoon with us went well and thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you soon for a more cheerful experience. Charlie Brett's More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Saturday evening fish and chips with my mum and two children. The fish and chips were delicious! Crispy batter and quality fish, and yummy ice cream and strawberries for dessert. The children enjoyed colouring crayons and paper and there was even a small children's play area at the back where the children were kept entertained. Theres also a children's menus... More 

Thank xamypogsonx
CharlieBretts, Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Hi xamypogsonx, We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit to us. From your review, I see you were at Charlie Brett's at The Allerton, which now has it's own TripAdvisor page. The children's area is proving to be very popular and we know these little things can make trips out with the kids a bit easier. Hopefully we will see... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went on a Wednesday evening, had the basic Fish, Chips, Mushy Peas and Tartar Sauce. Excellent food and service. Lovely dining room. I would say I only noticed this place by accident and I have spoken to people around there, praising the venue and none of them new it existed which is a shame.

Thank Lush777
CharlieBretts, Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Hi Lush777, Thank you for the review. We're pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. It looks like this was at our site in Alwoodley, which now has it's own TripAdvisor page. We hope to see you back soon! Charlie Brett's More 

Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016

We visit this place when visiting the cricket at Headingley. The issue is always that they seem to wait for the cricket fans before putting any fish in the fryer. On occasion's the demand for fish is so high that they manage to run out of Chips too. This sometimes means the chips are fast cooked and not at their... More 

Thank Ian R
Management response:

Hi Ian R, Thank you for your review. We do always try and get things out as speedy as possible, however unlike a lot of places, we cook to order as much as we can, rather than letting our food sit in the hot cupboards. On a cricket day, when busy, this can cause minor delays, however this means we... More 

Bishop Auckland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable meal at this excellent restaurant, and will return. It has recently changed hands, and the new management seem to have kept the previous ambience

Thank Jon2512
Management response:

Hi Jon2512, Good to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and will look forward to welcoming you again soon. Charlie Brett's More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2016

I visited this outlet one late afternoon whilst working in the area, on entry the outlet was very quite and I was giver a warm and friendly welcome by Sammy. The choice on the menu is really interesting and I ordered fish and chips which came with mushy peas. I also ordered a latte coffee but was informed they did... More 

Thank mysteryvisitor1
Management response:

Hi mysteryvisitor1, Thank you for your review, it's always good to hear when people enjoy their visit to us and even better when we hear good things about our staff! Hopefully see you again soon in either Headingley or Alwoodley. Charlie Brett's More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2016

Went to the Takeaway today and all I can say is that it was terrible. Both Fish & Chips were very greasy. Chips were possible new season potatoes but needless to say they were very greasy and were tastless. The portion was far too large and certainly was not portion controlled. Fish was very wet and the batter was obviously... More 

Thank HLBrook
Management response:

Hi HLBrook, Sorry to hear about your experience with us on Saturday. Did you speak to a member of staff to complain about your issues? All our fryers are trained and have had quite a number of years experience. It is very rare we get a complaint of this nature and it is something we look to take seriously to... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2016

So so disappointed in this restaurant , like any top establishment you need consistency ,we have been twice first visit we had the fish and chips with peas and bread and butter, it was excellent , my only slight concern was the cutlery the paper napkin and plastic table cloth were not pristine, crumbs on the table cutlery sticky with... More 

Thank Briskie
Management response:

Hi Briskie, Sorry to hear about the issues that you had on your visit. Am I correct in thinking that this was at the site in Alwoodley? We have upped procedures and staff training at both of our sites. In terms of the food, did you make your complaints known to a member of staff at the time so we... More 

Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2016

I'd forgotten that the very famous Brett's in Headingley had undergone a facelift. A bit shocked on walking in to find the oak panels gone, walls knocked through, and the building opened up, but.... wow! Often, when an old and established business like this is modernised, the first thing to suffer is the food - but not in this case.... More 

Management response:

Hi HRHII, We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Charlie Brett's. We're striving to improve things further and hope to see you again soon. Charlie Brett's More 

Travellers who viewed Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

Headingley, Leeds
Headingley, Leeds

Been to Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$38
British, Seafood
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
12:00 - 16:00
17:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12-14 North Lane, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3HE, England (Formerly Bretts Fish Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds  >  Headingley
  • Phone Number: +44 113 232 3344

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?