We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Weary Ploughman

Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
+44 1803 844702
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (35 reviews)
“liver” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Ideally located alongside Churston Station (Dartmouth Steam Railway) with plenty of parking and easy access. The Inn is very nicely presented with a comfortable decor and well spaced tables. The property looks very well cared for. Pleasant greeting on arrival and a wide choice of...More

Thank Illumin8
Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst on a weekend stay in Torquay we asked local friends to choose a favourite place for lunch, The Weary Ploughman was their choice and what a brilliant choice it was,,we all had the roast beef sunday lunch, service was very good, a warm welcome...More

Thank 314FatController
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am local so come here quite often with my husband for one of their amazing Sunday lunches. I don't review everytime, however this past weekend we were here again but this time also with family who enjoyed it as much as we do so...More

Thank MMackDevon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend took me for lunch on my birthday, we had ham egg and chips. We did sit in the bar area as there was another function, but we really enjoyed our lunch and didn't have to wait long.

Thank Louise L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal for four. Starters and main meal all cooked well. Our only complaint was the portions too large but great if you have a big appetite. The quality of the food was very good. There was a November special menu plus...More

Thank elaine p
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked in on a busy Friday night and I was really impressed. The menu catered for a wide range of tastes the liver I had was some of the best I have eaten. Well presented and clearly a lot of effort was put in...More

Thank Mark H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst the good company came with me, everything else was provided by the excellent service and friendly staff. The food was amazing, and the bar well stocked in a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Candles in all. This place is now on my regular list...More

Thank Christopher B
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We've been here a few times when visiting Brixham, and have never been disappointed. A warm welcome, and knowledgeable staff. This time we had some interesting Gin and Tonics from the large selection before we moved to our meal. The menu is comprehensive, but has...More

Thank P3513RGsimonp
Reviewed 3 November 2017

People who've read my reviews will know how much l think of the Weary Ploughman, l've been since my last review and decided to give you all a break, however returned today and just had to say how the high standards are maintained and the...More

Thank Caron C
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the weary ploughman We only stayed one night the room was clean and tidy and nicely decorated with a fairly large bathroom which was also very nice. We also eat in the restaurant that night the food and menu...More

Thank Andrew C
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Manor Inn
202 reviews
.58 km away
Carolines Kitchen at Churston Farm Shop
80 reviews
.45 km away
Churston Court
56 reviews
.90 km away
Nearby Attractions
Greenway House & Garden
71 reviews
2.76 km away
Brixham Harbour
1,980 reviews
3.08 km away
Greenway
1,443 reviews
2.76 km away
Golden Hind Museum Ship
460 reviews
3.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
D5556FScolinb
1 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from ThePloughman | Property representative |
The answer is, as many people have pointed out, we are but with limited availability - we tried the whole pub and got many many complaints. So as it stands, in the bar area is fine and we can reserve tables there, it's... More
1
Vote
messeycat
4 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Steve P | Reviewed this property |
Hiya there is a bus stop both sides of the road very close to the weary ploughman for the number 12 to go either way
2
Votes
Ronald F
28 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from ThePloughman | Property representative |
Hi Ronald, My name is James and I'm in the process of taking ownership from the current occupants. I can assure you that we are not looking to make any fundamental changes to the nature of the business or the way in which... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$33
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  English Riviera  >  Brixham  >  Churston Ferrers
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 844702
  • E-mail
Description
The restaurant, bar and rooms at the Weary Ploughman at Churston has been extensively refurbished to a very high standard during the last two years to provide somewhere to eat, meet or stay that is very welcoming and comfortable, but not in any way pretentious. Our menu is varied and freshly cooked using, whenever possible, produce sourced locally.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing