We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#11 of 18 Bar in Ormskirk
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Mediterranean, European, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
31
8
5
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
31
8
5
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas pizza love this place baby shower staff were lovely desert
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

Went here for lunch for the first time since re-opening. Lovely food and nice service. Great to go for drinks too. Worth a visit

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 September 2020

Arrived at the cork bar all tables were full but the top table was free and no reserved sign for a specific time displayed. As a couple we sat had our first drink and was enjoying our afternoon.We asked could we order another drink and...this was fine until just after we received them, were asked if we had been told the table was needed for 5pm this should of been the upmost duty of the waitress who served us.I asked was there another table that we could be moved to but yet again bad service from staff did not even come back with an answer.We literally had taken a few sips of our drink and was approached by the owner who said he needed the table!!! Overall what a bad experience to be made to feel we had to leave.The owner said when we next visit he would give us a drink......but to be honest we will not be returning.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

Went for breakfast last week, waitress didn’t write our order down- resulting in food arriving at our table incorrectly.. not once but twice! Poached eggs were like bullets, so presuming they’d be resurrected off one of the incorrect orders Also ordered more drinks- which never...arrivedMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 30 August 2020 via mobile

We had an enjoyable lunch at The Cork today. Pizzas were good quality and the platters are nice though the indication that they serve 2 must be as a snack as they’re definitely not big enough for a meal for two. Having said that the...food prices are very keen and the platters therefore remain good value. Service was very pleasant but a bit chaotic. They took a long time to take our order and to clear the table after we’d eaten. When they eventually did clear the table they left some of the plates behind until our deserts arrived. Desert was lovely especially the almond tart. I would give it another go. Just tighten up the service guys.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 August 2020

We have been here several times and never disappointed. Great food, drink, service and clean. Good Covid compliance. The inside of Cork is really nice, with a good ambience. All the food is home made and fresh. Worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 August 2020

My son and friends went for a drink here Friday 8 Aug. As there were a few of them, understandably they were asked to split up and he sat on a separate table with 2 friends. Their order was taken after a few minutes. When...about 15 mins later they politely later asked where their drinks were, they were told there was a 20 min delay. A few minutes later someone came to take their money. They explained that they still hadn't received their drinks but, again as they are polite, they paid anyway. They stopped another waitress a little later to say they still did not have their drinks. She said she would look into it. Eventually, and as their friends on the other table were now on their second drink, they pointed out to a waitress that they had been waiting for over an hour. The waitress replied - they felt quite rudely - "its not been an hour babe". They were able to show the receipt for their money was timed at over half an hour ago, and remember, by the time they had paid, they had been waiting over half an hour. They carried on waiting. Eventually they asked again and a manager said they could have their drinks or their money back. He did not give them the impression he was apologetic for the situation. By this stage they had been in the Cork for around an hour and a half and their friends on the next table had finished 2 drinks. At no point did anyone they spoke to actually put themselves out to make their drinks straight away. My son and his friends, despite being cross, just left without registering a complaint. An hour and half waiting to be served in a bar spoils an evening. As someone who likes to eat and drink out in Ormskirk I am really shocked to hear this account of this poor service in the Cork, and I will certainly bear this in mind when I next choose where to go out in Ormskirk. I will also be telling all my friends about how my son and his friends were treated.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?6  
Reviewed 8 August 2020

took over an hour for drinks. the waitress and manager didn’t care and were so rude. if you want a terrible night with no drinks and snotty staff this is the place

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?4  
120ricardop, Owner at The Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2020

I don’t you come to our bar and complain with the owner!!! That’s not a nice attitude from you ! Specially when you were the one who was rude!!!

Reviewed 26 July 2020

Have to say I love this place. The breakfast is to die for and the coffee is great. If you fancy a nibble later on in the day you have to try the Pizza so yummy. love coming here and the owner is fantastic. Cannot...fault the place.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

I held my Baby Shower here in November and can only say what a perfect venue it was. The staff were lovely and couldn’t do enough to help. The food and drink were really nice. Couldn’t recommend the place enough.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 25 January 2020

Don't normally leave reviews but come here regularly in the summer. Today came inside, really nice. Cheese platter better than you would get anywhere

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Southport (Ormskirk) hotel
577 reviews
5.80 km away
Rufford Arms Hotel
342 reviews
9.61 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool North hotel
752 reviews
9.98 km away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
575 reviews
10.24 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bagel Deli
161 reviews
.14 km away
Piri Piri
656 reviews
.04 km away
Left Bank Brasserie
786 reviews
.13 km away
Two Cents Pizza
44 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ormskirk Market
50 reviews
.18 km away
Ormskirk Civic Hall
10 reviews
.40 km away
The Railway, Ormskirk
13 reviews
.09 km away
The Green Room
12 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Cork staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Cork

The Cork is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4