We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Snooty Fox

€€ - €€€, European
R 103, Howick | Fern Hill Hotel, Howick 3255, South Africa
+27 33 330 5071
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good23%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (6 reviews)
“steak” (6 reviews)
Open Now
06:00 - 21:00 Hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, European
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
R 103, Howick | Fern Hill Hotel, Howick 3255, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

The food is excellent, taste fresh and appealing to the eye (presentation). Though it takes long to migrate from the kitchen to the table, depending on hungry you are, it's worth the wait

Thank Lerato M
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We went to Fern Hill hotel to look at a venue for a special occasion. We decided to have a cup of coffee and we were enticed to try the scones.... Well we were not let down. A huge scone with ample helpings of cream...More

Thank NJC112
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Great, cosy restaurant, big variety of dishes on the menu and brilliant service. What more can you ask for 😀😀

Thank SugarFox
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely venue, great service, best pork belly I have in years, highly recommend the Snooty Fox. There was a wedding on at the time that we were at dinner...it was very noisy at the bar but the service and the food was not compromised in...More

Thank Wga23
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Wonderful venue, great service and "haut cuisine" Chef Alex's food compares with the best in the world. Well worth a visit!More

1  Thank AMBER830
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear AMBER830 Chef Alex will be overjoyed to read this review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. It means a great deal to us. Thank you for your patronage. We are very happy to hear you were so well looked after. Here's...More

Reviewed 4 July 2018

We stopped of lunch at the Snooty fox, after reading a review in one of the Traveling Magazine's. The Restaurant setting in the Natal Midlands at the Fern Hill Hotel is great and lend it self to a relaxed country feeling. The decor enhance the...More

Thank Craffies
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Craffies Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves so much and do hope you'll pop in again when next in the area. Kindest regards to you Stephanie Szecsei

Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We were in Howick for the Comrades Marathon and went for dinner the Friday before the race. Hotel was warm and cozy on a cold midlands evening. Well received and two great soup starters enjoyed. Then came main course, I ordered the curry which was...More

Thank Dave_King2014
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Dave_King2014 Firstly thank you for dining with us on Friday evening. We hope you enjoyed your time down here and at the Comrades marathon! Once again, our sincere apologies for upsetting you with the price of the sole. Sole is an expensive fish to...More

Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

First time at the Snooty Fox and must confess I was tempted in by the website and the menu, seen online. Bit of a disappointment though. The decor in the main restaurant is dated and twee. I could have overlooked this if the food had...More

Thank Notdonaldtrump
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Notdonaldtrump Thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry we were such a disappointment. Our restaurant's decor aside, we have taken your other points mentioned and will look into them. Definitely does not sound like our standard. Have a great day.

Reviewed 13 May 2018

We decided to take all the family out to dinner the evening before Mother's Day. Our experiences are always good at The Snooty Fox, and our expectations were high as usual - we were not disappointed. Meals that were ordered on the night which were...More

Thank Ashley C
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Ashley This is such a delightful review to read this morning. We are extremely happy you enjoyed yourselves so much on Saturday night. We so appreciate you mentioning this positive experience to all. Thank you for being such a loyal patron to our little...More

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We had dinner at the Snooty Fix last night and it was a great experience. The service was friendly and the menu interesting with local flavours. We were 5 people and all our meals were tasty and beautifully prepared. The deserts were even more stunning....More

Thank JulietteP_SA
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear JulietteP Thank you for reviewing our restaurant. It always means a lot when guests take the time to write about their positive experience. We are very happy to read that you had such a pleasant time with us. I will ensure all staff involved...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Fern Hill Hotel
136 reviews
.20 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
268 reviews
12.84 km away
Woodridge Country Hotel
51 reviews
14.89 km away
Town/Bush Backpackers
13 reviews
18.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Steampunk Coffee
44 reviews
3.71 km away
The Farmer's Daughter
151 reviews
4.56 km away
Black Olive
91 reviews
4.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nelson Mandela Capture Site
609 reviews
1.00 km away
Piggly Wiggly
407 reviews
5.83 km away
Zulu Lulu Art House
10 reviews
5.86 km away
Howick Falls
332 reviews
4.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MungoP5
10 November 2016|
Answer
Response from FernHillHotel | Property representative |
Yes we are open every day of the year. The only time we close is on Christmas night after our massive Christmas luncheon.
0
Votes
Shirley C
22 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Stitcher49 | Reviewed this property |
casual
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$3 - US$15
Cuisine
Contemporary, European
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
06:00 - 21:00
Monday
06:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
06:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
06:00 - 21:00
Thursday
06:00 - 21:00
Friday
06:00 - 21:00
Saturday
06:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: R 103, Howick | Fern Hill Hotel, Howick 3255, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Howick
  • Phone Number: +27 33 330 5071
  • E-mail
Description
The Snooty Fox is an award-winning a la carte restaurant in the heart of the Natal Midlands, South Africa. Located at the iconic Fern Hill Hotel, The Snooty Fox caters for both in-house hotel guests, and the general public. Home of the best Sunday Carvery in the Midlands, and delicious, organic, locally sourced and freshly prepared food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing