We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Snooty Fox

€€ - €€€, European, Vegetarian Friendly
R 103, Howick | Fern Hill Hotel, Howick 3255, South Africa
+27 33 330 5071
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (7 reviews)
“curry” (5 reviews)
Open Now
06:00 - 21:00 Hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
R 103, Howick | Fern Hill Hotel, Howick 3255, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to take all the family out to dinner the evening before Mother's Day. Our experiences are always good at The Snooty Fox, and our expectations were high as usual - we were not disappointed. Meals that were ordered on the night which were...More

Thank Ashley C
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ashley This is such a delightful review to read this morning. We are extremely happy you enjoyed yourselves so much on Saturday night. We so appreciate you mentioning this positive experience to all. Thank you for being such a loyal patron to our little...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had dinner at the Snooty Fix last night and it was a great experience. The service was friendly and the menu interesting with local flavours. We were 5 people and all our meals were tasty and beautifully prepared. The deserts were even more stunning....More

Thank JulietteP_SA
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear JulietteP Thank you for reviewing our restaurant. It always means a lot when guests take the time to write about their positive experience. We are very happy to read that you had such a pleasant time with us. I will ensure all staff involved...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our table of 8 all enjoyed their choice of meal. 3 had the delicious well presented lamb curry, 2 shared the sole. We ordered 6 different desserts to share- we tried to vote which was the best, but all 6 were so amazing that we...More

Thank Jaxw1962
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jaxw1962 I have relayed this wonderful review to our pastry chef and she is over the moon by it. Thank you for especially mentioning your experience of our desserts. It is always so rewarding to hear we have impressed our valued guests. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We decided on the Fern Hill Hotel close to Midmar Dam as we wanted to see the beautiful water overflowing on our approach to the hotel, as we needed a lunch venue not too far off the beaten track. We were welcomed by extremely friendly...More

Thank Dietlyn B
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Dietlyn Apologies for taking so long to reply. We really appreciate you taking the time to review us and thank you for this feedback. We are over the moon you enjoyed your meal with us so much. We have relayed your positive comments to...More

Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

I had a friend from Cape Town staying with me last Saturday and we wanted to have dinner close by. The last time I had a meal at Fernhill was a magnificent Carvery for Mother’s Day a few years ago in the Main large dining...More

Thank LindaH475
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Linda Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. How wonderful you enjoyed your evening with us. I will relay to all involved of your compliments. It means a great deal to us when guests take the time to write...More

Reviewed 21 February 2018

The food was really well prepared and the portions big, the waiters were friendly and the service was good.

Thank Bonita C
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Bonita I am so happy to hear you were well looked after and that you found both service and food pleasant. Thank you for your review. It means a lot that you took the time to write it. Kindest regards Stephanie Szecsei Director

A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

What a lovely restaurant. The steaks were excellent. If you are visiting on the weekend get to the Restaurant a little early before the rush. This was the advice we got from our waiter who bought us our menus while we were sitting in the...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear valued guest Many thanks for this wonderful review. It is incredibly special to hear you enjoyed yourself so much. It means a lot that you took the time to write your compliments. The staff involved will be so happy to hear this! Here's hoping...More

Reviewed 4 February 2018

Coming in, we were asked to sit down and wait for the front desk operator to go see if there was a table free?!?!?! Right, there were about half of all the tables free. Than, why on earth would you serve plates that only a...More

Thank Rene T
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Wait...hang on. So if I read this right (and let me tell you I read it over about 17 times before responding) your unhappiness with us hinges on the fact that we served too much food? Is that right? Then you had the audacity to...More

Reviewed 28 January 2018

This cosy little pub at the start to the Midlands Meander is always a warm welcome and an excellent stop. The food is great and the beers are ice cold.

Thank GusBehn
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear GusBehn Such wonderful feedback on our restaurant. Thank you for this review. We do hope to welcome you back time and time again. Always puts a smile on our faces to hear our food is great! Kind regards Stephanie Szecsei

Reviewed 23 January 2018

We have been visiting the restaurant since it opened (20 plus years ago), initially whilst growing up locally and then for the last 15 years as a definite stop each year whilst returning to the country to visit family. We recently took the family (eleven...More

Thank Richard W
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Richard I would thank you for this review, but I find it utterly debilitating and thus I have taken some time before responding so as not to have a knee jerk reaction. So here goes... How unfortunate you chose to air your grievances here...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Howick Hotels
Fern Hill Hotel
129 reviews
.20 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
254 reviews
12.84 km away
Woodridge Country Hotel
51 reviews
14.89 km away
Town/Bush Backpackers
13 reviews
18.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Farmer's Daughter
131 reviews
4.56 km away
Steampunk Coffee
36 reviews
3.70 km away
Black Olive
84 reviews
4.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Piggly Wiggly
379 reviews
5.85 km away
Nelson Mandela Capture Site
575 reviews
1.00 km away
Zulu Lulu Art House
10 reviews
5.86 km away
Karkloof Farmer's Market
60 reviews
4.68 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mungo P
10 November 2016|
Answer
Response from FernHillHotel | Property representative |
Yes we are open every day of the year. The only time we close is on Christmas night after our massive Christmas luncheon.
0
Votes
Shirley C
22 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Stitcher49 | Reviewed this property |
casual
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$15
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
06:00 - 21:00
Monday
06:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
06:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
06:00 - 21:00
Thursday
06:00 - 21:00
Friday
06:00 - 21:00
Saturday
06:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: R 103, Howick | Fern Hill Hotel, Howick 3255, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Howick
  • Phone Number: +27 33 330 5071
  • E-mail
Description
The Snooty Fox is an award-winning a la carte restaurant in the heart of the Natal Midlands, South Africa. Located at the iconic Fern Hill Hotel, The Snooty Fox caters for both in-house hotel guests, and the general public. Home of the best Sunday Carvery in the Midlands, and delicious, organic, locally sourced and freshly prepared food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;