We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse

€€ - €€€, British,
Sheepy Magna, Atherstone CV9 3QR, England
+44 1827 880555
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“apple crumble” (2 reviews)
“beef” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
€€ - €€€
Sheepy Magna, Atherstone CV9 3QR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 126 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Had a lovely meal today at the Black Horse. Excellent service and lovely food and great atmosphere. Front of house service from gentleman who served us was brilliant. Thanks for a lovely afternoon, we will be back.

Thank happiholidays2017
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Arrived -As usual. No booking. Into a VERY busy bar with the intention of eating. I was cheerfully greeted by the bartender and received a delicious pint of ale. Upon asking, I was given a menu and escorted to a dining table. The exciting menu...More

1  Thank Chris A
Reviewed 5 days ago

The first time we ate the the food was awful. However, as the welcome was excellent and the service very good we decided to try again. The second time the service was adequate and the food at best bland. We won't be going again.

Thank allanjhowden
dean p, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your comments. Can we ask when you came and what was ordered so we can make any improvements to our service and food we provide to our customers.

Reviewed 6 days ago

A well appointed establishment, clean and tidy with good natured and helpful staff.However a strange thing between night and day prices, insomuch as the same thing cost £1 more evening time than lunch time. Also things like mushrooms available at night not during the day,...More

Thank fourkingjohn
dean p, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you John from the crows nest. We have reviewed our menu and mushrooms' are available on all our menu day and night. Garnish is a side and not a full side salad. If this was mentioned at the time we could have clarified this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this friendly country pub for an evening meal with friends. We had a warm welcome from Paul and Scotty who were on duty. The food was your typical pub grub menu, (and I don't mean that in a negative way at all) quality and...More

Thank Elizabeth M
Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in for a late Sunday lunch, pub was busy but we were found a table, the landlord was extremely friendly and the lunch was very good value for money. Really nice atmosphere.

Thank munrothomp
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly pub with excellent food . Fresh. can't add much more than previous peeps .. will defiantly be back. Would love to see a pie or two !

Thank paul_uk123
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for 4pm and our table was waiting for us. My partner enjoyed the real ale as I was driving - he said it was the best he'd tasted! Veg roulade and all the trimmings came - a massive plateful! All cooked nicely...More

Thank Julia B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where can you pay £11.95 for two courses of pure heaven. The starter of creamy garlic mushrooms with toasted ciabatta was so tasty and full of flavour and then the main meal, traditional Sunday roast arrived. Our plates were full so cauliflower cheese and the...More

Thank Debbie T
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very disappointed. Beef was tough and tasteless, broccoli tasted strange and looked very old, rest of veg over cooked, Yorkshire puddings and roast potatoes obviously frozen. Was expecting homemade but certainly didn't get it. Service ok.

Thank Kate17108
Nearby Restaurants
The Unicorn Inn
132 reviews
.64 km away
San Giovanni
808 reviews
2.61 km away
Turpin's Bar and Grill
771 reviews
2.90 km away
The Bird in Hand
123 reviews
3.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Twycross Zoo
2,668 reviews
2.88 km away
Pooley Country Park
45 reviews
5.56 km away
The Sir John Moore Foundation
6 reviews
5.97 km away
The Battlefield Line
188 reviews
7.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Snuggles E
23 September 2016|
Response from JANE C | Property representative |
Hi we offer a lunch time menu on Friday & Saturday also on a Sunday - hope to see you soon
Malcolm S
27 February 2016|
Response from JANE C | Property representative |
Hi - which menu would you like to see? yes we have options for vegetarians - Linda McCartney sausages or Frank parker veggie pies both are delicious and available for vegetarians. Contact me on 01827 880555 for further... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sheepy Magna, Atherstone CV9 3QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Atherstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1827 880555
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing