We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George Inn

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub, Soups
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7LH, England
+44 1373 834224
Today
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 18:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
Fri - Sat 18:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 323: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The same menu is served in the bar, the lounge and the dining room. It is simply a matter of choice of ambience. Food is ample and flavoursome, from simple sandwiches to more complex composed dishes. The option for breakfast range from the classic 'Full English', through vegetarian, to eggs Benedict or florentine and on to poached haddock - Hhuge... More 

Helpful?
Thank Woollybear
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is historic and atmospheric. Very clean, good food. No shower curtain so had to have a bath. Overall To be honest we found it rather dark and creepy. This is the second time I have stayed here and haven't had a good nights sleep both times. Feeling a presence in the room. I think it is haunted but make... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gassbags
Ashland, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went out of our way to visit the George due to its terrific history. We stopped in on a Wednesday in December for lunch only to be told that all three of the adorable dinning rooms were completely booked although they only appeared half-full. Who knew you needed to make weekday lunch reservations for a pub in a tiny... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean O
Jenny S, General Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

My apologies for the service that you received. Please could you contact me by email to georgeinn@wadworth.co.uk with a description of your server so that I can retrain and ensure this does not happen again. Please be assured that the dungeon was in fact a dungeon where the prisoners were held during the rebellion in 1685. We are restricted with... More 

st austell
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

This delightful 700 year old building promised much but left us very disappointed. The bar had been festively decorated and the young lady serving there was friendly enough. Friends had been there before, had a good experience, hence the enticement to dine in the restaurant this time. The waitress was slovenly dressed; big jumper with underwear visibly hanging out behind,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jax_jStAustell
Jenny S, General Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Could you please email me with further details so that I can investigate and get back to you. email. georgeinn@wadworth.co.uk More 

Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

Gorgeous pub full of charm and 700 years of history. Remains of the Day was filmed here! Enjoyed a lovely lunch next to the fire! Such a cosy and atmospheric pub!

Helpful?
Thank Laura P
Jenny S, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely remarks. Look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The building is unique and interesting and for that alone it is def worth a visit for a drink, especially in front of the fire. The staff were welcoming and friendly. But don't expect much from the food we were both very disappointed with the fish pie, burger and seasonal vegetables. A shame really.

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire_Toby
Jenny S, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Hello Claire I am sorry that you did not enjoy your food. We prepare and cook everything on site so I am disappointed that you did not like it. Perhaps you could email me at the pub with further details...georgeinn@wadworth.co.uk Thank you More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Such a lovely place with a unique atmosphere and delicious food. The staff are exceptionally welcoming and knowledgeable and we really enjoyed looking around this historic building. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank angiejones100
Jenny S, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Came her last minute for dinner and I couldn't fault it. Amazing people who worked there, very friendly, helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and checked on us regularly. The open fire is such a good feature and made it feel very comfortable. The food was great, I had a small plate and that was more than enough. My partners... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay W
Jenny S, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, come again soon More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016

We ate in the delightful Dining Room on 2 evenings during our stay. Food was delicious, menu was sufficiently varied. Vegetables were cooked as they should be, crisp and fresh. Food was piping hot when it was brought to the table, hate having to rush my food before it gets cold! Staff friendly, attentive and very helpful. Had breakfast here... More 

Helpful?
Thank 319Delta
Jenny S, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, hopefully you will visit us again soon More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016

Stopped over at the George which we have passed for many years on our way to Bristol. Fantastic environment in a middle age inn. Although my wife liked her own lamb dinner, I unfortunately was a bit underwhelmed by my own in-house burger. Prices are a bit expensive but it was worth stopping just for the surroundings. Not sure we... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
Jenny S, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry you did not like all of your food. Please give us another try, we always aim to please. More 

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

Norton St Philip, Bath
 
Hinton Charterhouse, Bath
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Soups
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Private Dining
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7LH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath  >  Norton St Philip
  • Phone Number: +44 1373 834224

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?