We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Head

€€ - €€€, British,
Southend Road, Billericay CM11 2PS, England
+44 1277 637135
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“apple pie” (5 reviews)
“pate” (10 reviews)
“pies” (7 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Southend Road, Billericay CM11 2PS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 465 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Place was rammed ie. very popular. Good service, fine ale, good food and a very nice time with friends.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 253kimf
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Prawn Cocktail was bland as they used plain mayonnaise instead of the advertised bloody Marie sauce and the lobster was not detectable. One had to be careful as the potatoes were in little pieces that had an crisp outer skin that was dangerously sharp in...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Anthony R
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello Anthony, it is extremely disappointing to read your review as this is most certainly not the standard of service and food we strive to provide. All of your comments will be taken on board and discussed with our Kitchen Manager and the rest of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Met friends for a Christmas meal last night. Table was not ready and we had to wait over 15 minutes which was a shame, especially as two of us were standing up. Loved the Christmas decorations (we came last year and we admired them too)...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank IanJulie2013
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello IanJulie2013. Thank you for your feedback regarding your time with us. With regard to menu choice for vegetarian I will feed this back. I meal in question was to be made without the red peppers and I believe the guest was aked if they...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just got back from having a meal at kings head. We have been there several time's in the past and it's always been ok, but tonight l was descusted with the meal and service. I booked online had to wait for table for 15 Mins...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jackie T
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jackie T, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit and will be looking into the issues you and your husband had to ensure this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Outstanding! We had such a lovely evening at The Kings Head, it was very busy however, the staff were attentive and happy. Our waitress 'Mands' was brilliant, we were so happy with the service provided. The food was delicious, I never normally finish a whole...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank AmyFerris84
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow!! Thank you for such a fantastic review Amy! We are so pleased you had such a great time, I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team. Don’t leave it too long before you visit again!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table online for us to arrive and still have to wait 30 minutes to be seated. It’s was cold in their as they had no heating and we was told they where unable to light fires as they had just been swept. Service...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Global57755152438
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit here with us. Please know that this is not our usual standard of practice; guest satisfaction is very important to us and we apologise that you were left disappointed. If you would like...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Christmas vegetarian meal very disappointing, not a patch on last year's lovely roast dinnner - this year its a medetarian vegetable tart with boiled new potatoes and grey brussels, not very festive at all and who has ever heard of red peppers and brussel sprouts!!...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jacqui S
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so sorry to hear that you feel that way about the Festive Vegetarian option this year Jacqui. As a business and as part of a brand we do our very best to accomodate all of our guests dietary needs and it is upsetting...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked table for 8 pm kept us waiting 35 min for a table . Then 30 min till starters came . Main course was a 45 min wait . Food was very poor and size of the white bait was a joke . . At...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank santry1963
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

vFirstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We as a team take great provide into our feedback to improve and make the guest experience even better each time. It was unfortuante to that you did not...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

booked a table for tonight just left, chaos! We had an offer for 50% off mains.Starters were fine my waiter told us before we ordered what they had run out of or didn't have, it didn't affect us anyway, my wife ordered pork belly I...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank foodcriticbasildon
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. After eating with so many times you will understand this is not standard practice for us here at The Kings Haed. It was unfortunate to read that you did not feel that the food...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was an extremely busy Saturday night, obviously short staffed. However the manager went over and above to be sure we were well looked after. Food very good, drinks perfect. Well worth the drive! Excellent customer service. It does go a long way.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank nicolojo
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Morning! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us so it is very pleasing to hear you had such a fantastic experience. We cannot wait to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Campanile Hotel Basildon East London
397 reviews
2.89 km away
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
445 reviews
2.96 km away
Travelodge Basildon
265 reviews
3.29 km away
Holiday Inn Basildon
589 reviews
3.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Magic Mushroom
808 reviews
1.09 km away
The Duke Of York
766 reviews
.43 km away
The Happy Haddock
63 reviews
1.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Imperial Bird of Prey Academy
296 reviews
1.23 km away
Barleylands Farm and Craft Village
538 reviews
1.14 km away
Snakes Alive Ltd
39 reviews
1.12 km away
Hazle's Pottery Barn
7 reviews
1.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kmanv
6 January 2018|
Answer
Response from betty_1946 | Reviewed this property |
Do not know sorry
0
Votes
Chloe D
28 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bernie B | Reviewed this property |
I don’t think so, but White Elms Garden Centre in Bicknacre do. It’s amazing.
0
Votes
patriciaT7783DS
10 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from gary s | Reviewed this property |
Hi im not 100% that you can book a table, you could always phone them,you will have a great time,even if you just turn up
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Southend Road, Billericay CM11 2PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Billericay
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 637135
Description
The King's Head in Billericay is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing