We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Plume Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
49A Sharp Road, Matakana 0982, New Zealand
+64 9-422 7915
Website
Today
11:00 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 15:30
Thu - Sat 18:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 374: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Came here last week using a Grabone voucher which got us two of the six course menus for the price of one. Service was fine, not outstanding by any means but nothing to complain about. Food was similar with a couple of standouts (the beef carpaccio in particular) and some less outstanding plates. The meal was a bargain with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank wooki481
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi wooki481 - thank you for taking the time to put down the above review. Yes, unfortunate that you did not particularly like the food or the (very nice) outdoor area you were seated in. We have guests who 'fight' to be seated outside and I am sure if you had asked we would have given you a seat inside.... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were unable to dine at Brick Bay which proved to be a blessing as we ended up at Plume. All 4 of us were impressed with our meal choices; chicken supreme, 2 x salmon and I choose chicken curry. Normally I'd not choose chicken curry at a non Indian restaurant but the curry was great. The wine, service and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike66NZ
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you, Mike for taking the time to put down this review for us. Yes, some times when we make unscheduled changes life can give us greater pleasures. Fully understand your comment re the chicken curry - in fact I would say that I would never eat a chicken curry in a Indian restaurant in New Zealand - but that... More 

Long Riston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Last minute booking for the 6 course taster meal and we arrived late due to heavy traffic. No problems to the staff whatsoever as we were warmly welcomed. The meals was exceptional and well worth the NZD $100pp price tag. The service throughout was attentive and friendly throughout and although we were one of the last couples in the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Welsh-Dragon328
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you, Welsh-Dragon (love the name btw!) - we are so pleased to read this review and to know that you enjoyed yourself thoroughly at Plume! Look forward to seeing you again - we are just a 45 minutes drive away from Auckland! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We dined here recently during our trip out to Matakana. We have heard a lot of positive reviews about this restaurant before we booked. We had lunch here and the weather was perfect. Pros 1. There was ample indoor and outdoor seating options overlooking the vineyard 2. Lots of space for children to run around. Restaurant was child friendly 3.... More 

Helpful?
Thank -Gary-T-L
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Gary - we appreciate the time taken by you to put down this lengthy review and to make sure you talk of both the good and the not so good, from your perspective. The Crispy Duck Leg dish is described very clearly on the menu as "Crispy Duck Leg, Mandarin pancake, spring onion, cucumber, hoisin and plum sauce, Asian... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a special dinner. Booked in at 7:30 Within 10 minutes of sitting the waiter had visited the table 4 times asking for the order Entrees out 5 minutes later. main out just as quick 50 minutes later all over You would have been given five stars if you could get the service right

Helpful?
Thank nostrebor_family
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you, nostrebor_family for taking the time to put down this review. I must say this is a very unique review for us as usually it is guests complaining about service being too slow and requiring more attention at the tables. We shall definitely look into this and correct all staff in their approach - a pity we missed out... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent salads, curry and desserts, attentive but not obsequious service, surprisingly good house wines and a great country site.

Helpful?
Thank SFranks2
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you SFranks2 for taking the time to put down this review for us - especially during the holidays! We are glad you had a good time - yes our vineyard Runner Duck Estate is very proud to make fine wines and especially our Silky Reds of Matakana! We look forward to seeing you again at Plume! More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Summer degustation menu. A great birthday treat. Gardens looking good. Staff are friendly and informative.. Well worth the drive

Helpful?
Thank NewZealandGypsy
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you, NewZealandGypsy - we love the word "again" and look forward to seeing you again at Plume, soon! Glad you had a Great Birthday treat! More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the situation of this place. Great views, good ambience and great service. We sat under a veranda and very much enjoyed our lunch. I had the daily fish dish which was excellent. The rose wine outstanding. All in all just superb.

Helpful?
Thank Alex S
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Alex S - we are thrilled to read your review and so pleased you had a good time at Plume! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to plume for a Saturday lunch, we shared the platter and both thoroughly enjoyed it! Loads of food, prawns meats cheese salads and nice bread. Great service and nice wines by the glass or bottle and reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank Jan E
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Jan E - we appreciate the time taken by you to put down this review, especially in this busy "silly season" - we are glad you liked our Platter and our wines - everything on the Platter is made in our kitchens and the salads from our potager and the breads from our bakery - not to forget... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a fantastic spot for our Sunday lunch! Great food, great staff and amazing setting. We will be back for more. Thank you for a great afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank jamebain
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Jamebain - thank you for taking the time to put down this review. Yes our Sunday Lunches have now become very popular and it is so good to see our guests sit back and relax over a Long Lazy Lunch with a glass of our wine! Look forward to seeing you back at Plume! More 

Travellers who viewed Plume Restaurant also viewed

Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 
Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Been to Plume Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$32
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 15:30
Monday
11:00 - 15:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 15:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 15:30
Thursday
11:00 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
11:00 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
11:00 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 49A Sharp Road, Matakana 0982, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Matakana
  • Phone Number: +64 9-422 7915
Description
Situated just an hour's drive from Auckland or Whangarei, Plume, the vineyard restaurant, Matakana is a must visit destination on any Matakana wine or food journey - we believe we are all about fabulous local New Zealand wine and produce which together can celebrate "culinary diversity." Plume is a small town, rural, rustic restaurant with friendly service from locally employed staff. It is a great change from the starchy fine dining service of a big city like Auckland yet is in a class of its own.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Plume Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Christchurch, New Zealand
6 months ago
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Plume Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?