We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Fantastic fish & chips plus many more delicious seafood offerings served in what is possibly the most beautiful & unique location on Ireland’s Wild Atlantic Way. Take a stroll on the long strand beach which runs right up to the front door of our funky restaurant before enjoying some great food, coffees or in-house baking.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch
CUISINES
Irish, Seafood, Fast food
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Accepts Credit Cards, Parking Available, Digital Payments, Waterfront, Beach, Playgrounds, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
127
15
7
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
127
15
7
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish basket scampi and chips open crab sandwich lemon sole burger pancakes west cork sharing platter wild atlantic way well worth a visit take away one word order food fantastic fish overlooking the beach worth a stop fantastic location
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So I'm on a quest to find top class fish and chips at good value. Travelled over 40 miles to check this place out today. Myself and 3 kids. After a nice stroll on the beach we headed in. Greeted warmly by a nice girl...who took our order outside and organised a table for us. I ordered the fish and chips myself and was told there was lemon sole and haddock today. She told me I could have both, also ordered two kids fish and chips and the burger for the non fish eater. Seated promptly and when food came it was amazing. Lemon sole and haddock perfectly fresh and batter light and crispy. Kids meals really good too, they were delightful . Burger very tasty too. All for 37 euro. For me, this place is no. 1 for what it does. Followed by saltee in Kilmore Quay and monks Lane Timoleague. Keep up the good work guys and never leave the standards drop. We need these options along our coasts.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 April 2022 via mobile

Fabulous location, and outdoor seating to have a view of the beach. Perfrct for a summer day. Got the fish and chips and was fab. They have those cool buzzer things too, so when you order you wait outside, and when the buzzer vibrants, the...food is ready to collect. Fish and chips was very tasty and highly recommend a visit for the view and the food.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 March 2022

We went there on Mother's day and it was fairly packed. I had to queue for an hour but it was well worth it. Probably the nicest (and freshest) fish and chips I have had in years. The fish sharing box is huge and even...the kids fish and chips is quite large and was devoured by my 10 year old. Staff were very friendly and I have to give a special mention to the coffee. Very tasty! We will definitely be back again.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 20 March 2022

Horrendous, unorganised service. The guy "policing" the service is arrogant, rude and obnoxious. Improvements needed

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 3 January 2022 via mobile

Great 2 hours on dunes with kids. Cold day Jan 2nd 2022 and I joined the queue (well signed social distancing). 35 minutes from queue start to receiving food. Met the ‘usherer’ at the side of the Fish Basket. He was rude, sarcastic and bad...mannered when he ‘pulled me up’ for not understanding the undocumented/unsigned ‘ orocedures for placing an order at the take away. I decided to not order food for myself (& bought take away elsewhere later) but couldn’t disappoint my kids. I did buy a cappucino. Euros 3.00 for the smallest paper cup of coffee I have ever purchased in Ireland. My kids enjoyed the tasty fish & chips but the whole experience was ruined for me, particularly, with the man’s sarcastic ‘thank you’ as I walked away from the take away. I won’t part with my money again at that establishnent.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?3  
The Fish Basket, Owner at The Fish Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2022

Oh plain as day I was expecting to hear from you. One of the rudest customers ever to grace our restaurant over the Christmas holidays. No Christmas cheer here. Even the guy in the line behind you commented on how rude you were. You refused...More

Reviewed 5 November 2021 via mobile

Late Friday afternoon whilst visiting g the sea we came upon the Fish Basket. It was drizzling and we were hungry. The fish on offer is what’s been called geht, we had plaice and hake pieces. The batter was light, chips were fluffy centred with...a crisp outer. All the sides came with it, so tartare snd mushy peas. The containers were plant based so they would compost easily. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 October 2021

The fish basket. Is well worth the visit & drive. I’ve just driven 3 1/2 hrs and my first thought for food , was the fish basket. ,,, amazing staff. Cater for all my dietary requirements .,,, the food is amazing , the weather was...atrocious,, but sat in my car. Gale force winds pouring with rain , With my takeaway supper just simply scrumptious amazing food. ,, make sure you visit ,,, this place is not to be missed. ..thanks again as always food just simply delightful. &the service impeccable,, nothing is to much trouble ,More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 September 2021

To start with the helpful girl taking orders outside offered to hold my little pup. She loves dogs too. So I went inside to wait for and collect my order of the BEST EVER fish and chips. Of course, far too much for my and...the pup to eat, so I brought the rest home for dinner. Dog's drinking bowls are placed around the eating area, and drinking water for customers comes in a tin - better for the environment than plastic. I'll definitely stop here again if I'm ever close by. Thanks, guys, for a memorable visit.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 September 2021

Great chips, unreal scampi, just perfect and in the fresh air too! The queue for service & all day popularity says it all. A must stop on your West Cork adventure. 10/10.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 August 2021 via mobile

We had the most amazing fish and chips overlooking the beach here this evening. The portions were very generous. The staff were fabulous. The setting is amazing. We felt very safe as covid guidelines were adhered to. The service was very quick and friendly. It...was such a rare treat for us to eat outside overlooking the sea as its usually too cold or raining but on this occasion it was beautiful.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Celtic Ross Hotel
1,164 reviews
3.96 km away
Dunmore House Hotel
632 reviews
8.29 km away
Fernhill House Hotel
571 reviews
8.81 km away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
2,929 reviews
8.97 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pilgrim's
275 reviews
4.27 km away
Mountain House Steak & Seafood Bar
167 reviews
4.71 km away
Market House Restaurant
163 reviews
4.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Lagoon Activity Centre
200 reviews
3.95 km away
Smuggler’s Cove Adventure Centre
98 reviews
4.95 km away
Owenahincha Beach
97 reviews
1.69 km away
Drombeg Stone Circle
453 reviews
7.50 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
NeadyN
18 June 2019|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Thefishbasket | Property representative |
Hi. We have lots of gluten free options Fish pie Pan fried hake Chowder Homemade veggie burger Soup Chips Hope this helps. Regards Peter.
4
Votes
mauriceos
18 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BrendanO | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure but they can be contacted on +353 23 886 9612
0
Votes
Dunless
22 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BrendanO | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Sorry I do not know if gluten free options are available here.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Fish Basket

Yes, The Fish Basket offers takeaway services.

The Fish Basket is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5