We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Seafood, Fast food, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (185)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
144
18
7
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
144
18
7
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish basket scampi pancakes lemon sole burger cobb salad west cork take away worth the wait fantastic fish and chips she loves scenic setting order food huge portions beautiful beach sit outside first rate
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great fish & chips spot! The fish tacos were delicious, so fresh with a light batter. Ideal for families. Casual, laid back atmosphere. Great lunch option in Rosscarbery. Thank you!!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2023

Very nice soo cute osm wonderful cool osm pic I like you very nice Goa gret binds ssttamm very good h

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2023 via mobile

Fantastic fish and chips with a beautiful view to enjoy and a great walk to follow Maybe a lack of tables and people grabbing tables before ordering food, but will be back

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2023 via mobile

Great place, great view, great food. Lovely experience with the family on our holidays. Service was fast even tho there was a queue.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2023 via mobile

One of my favourite places for a quick lunch. Visited on bank holiday weekend and had to queue, the staff were friendly and helpful and despite the wait the order and buzzer collect service was slick and effective. As someone who works in the industry...this was very clever and professional. Food was great, the share box was delicious and good value and the open crab sandwich was fantastic and presented in a way you would not expect at a picnic bench beside the beach!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2023 via mobile

We had Lovely fresh crab sandwich on gluten free bread and salad & generous amount of chips. My complaint is the lack of water except for plastic bottles and use of polystyrene type boxes to serve food - please switch to cardboard boxes and have...brown bin for waste. Such a perfect outdoor beach location it makes sense to be as green as possible.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elaine Shanahan, Owner at The Fish Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2023

Hi Jeanne. Thank you for your visit and we are glad you enjoyed your lunch with us. The crab sandwich is quite popular. We sell bottles of water at cost price (€1) as either way we have to pay for water be it in bottles...More

Reviewed 22 July 2023

For a much improved experience table service, or delivery of what you ordered to your table inside or outside would make it a much better experience. I ordered at the counter, paid, took my seat and then the staff came over to me to tell...me my coffee was ready and to be collected at the counter. Would have made much more sense if they would have brought it directly. Saw this happening a few times in the 25min I was there, and each customer had the same reaction as me. I intend this to be constructive for the management.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elaine Shanahan, Owner at The Fish Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2023

Hi Thank you for you visit and glad you enjoyed your meal. All feedback is greatly appreciated. At the fish basket unfortunately as a business similar to many others we do not offer table service. We ask that the customer do a little bit of...More

Reviewed 20 July 2023

Stopped here for a handy dinner on a scenic drive home from clonakilty to Rosscarbery. Really busy... a good sign I think and really well organised. A short wait and our food was delicious. Fish and chips and scampi and chips. Tartar sauce etc and...cutlery for takeaway supplied and staff so friendly and helpful. Sadly our stay in West Cork is coming to an end but there will be a next time at the fish basket.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2023

Great fish and chips Lovely clean premises And very pleasant friendly staff Good value and good portions

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2023

The best fish and chips I have ever eaten- repeatedly. Whenever we visit family in West Cork, we make a point of going here. Amazing fish, the best scampi you'll ever eat, and piles of delicious chips. Best of all, you can call ahead so...the food is ready when you arrive, and bring a bottle of something good to enjoy with it. Fantastic.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2023

The fish basket is perfect for familys, friends and anyone. It is located right next to a beautiful beach ( long strand ) and offers outside and inside dining but is more of a take out restaurant. The food is delicious, my mum doesn’t like...fish but she loves their fish, but it’s not just fish, they have the most delicious cakes, my personal favourite being the chocolate Guinness cake. They also do breakfast and let me tell you their pancakes are out of this world! They don’t offer table service but they give you a buzzer to collect your food. ( I didn’t have pictures of the fish or pancakes )More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2023

After a cold walk on Long strand beach it was straight into The Fish Basket. We were lucky to get a seat inside where we enjoyed our fish & chips. Lovely friendly staff, nice atmosphere too. Yummy!

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2022

Took a wrong turn heading back to get lunch and passed by this spot. Saw the lots of people sitting outside to figured it must be popular. Situated at the end of a very typical picturesque Wild Atlantic West Cork beach. With the Castlefreke forest...area nearby as well as the ruins of Rathbury Church. So an ideal place for a well deserved reward after some outdoor activities. Lovely setting with outdoor picnic tables as well as indoor seating. Really friendly and helpful staff. The queuing/table beeper system was very efficient and the food was excellent. Some of the nicest battered fish and chips we've had in a long while. A very pleasant and unexpected surprise.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

There is always a que , wich speaks volumes , as the food is worth the wait , on a lovely day you can sit outside watching the ocean & tuck into some lovely fish & chips, I always make a point of visiting, on...my holidays. Beautiful, staff are lovely & helpful & assist with my dietary needs well done guys. A must for a lovely hearty takeawayMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2022 via mobile

Ooh my... this is the freshest fresh fish and sea food! Huge portions. Very tasty. Nice outdoor seating area. Friendly staff. Highly recommended place to eat! If i live there i would eat their food every day!

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Celtic Ross Hotel
1,482 reviews
3.96 km away
Dunmore House Hotel
677 reviews
8.29 km away
Fernhill House Hotel
604 reviews
8.81 km away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
3,228 reviews
8.97 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Market House Restaurant
180 reviews
4.27 km away
Mountain House Steak & Seafood Bar
178 reviews
4.71 km away
O'Callaghan-Walshe
111 reviews
4.28 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Smuggler’s Cove Adventure Centre
179 reviews
4.95 km away
The Lagoon Activity Centre
243 reviews
3.95 km away
Owenahincha Beach
98 reviews
1.69 km away
Drombeg Stone Circle
466 reviews
7.50 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
NeadyN
18 June 2019|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Thefishbasket | Property representative |
Hi. We have lots of gluten free options Fish pie Pan fried hake Chowder Homemade veggie burger Soup Chips Hope this helps. Regards Peter.
4
Votes
mauriceos
18 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BrendanO | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure but they can be contacted on +353 23 886 9612
0
Votes
Dunless
22 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BrendanO | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Sorry I do not know if gluten free options are available here.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE FISH BASKET, Rosscarbery - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Fish Basket

Yes, The Fish Basket offers takeaway services.

The Fish Basket is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5