We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Katse Lodge

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Katse Lodge
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Katse Lodge
 Click to rate
Castleford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had requested a 3 bedroom bungalow, but did not expect it to be a drive away from main lodge. The bungalow was clean and comfortable, with plenty of utensils in large kitchen. very dated place but had all we needed for our 2 night stay over New Year. Dissapointed there was no special entertainment or fireworks planned for New...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You can't beat the view of Katse Dam. The Lodge is fine. Rooms are basic but quite large. Needs some work done but it's clean and pleasant. The meals in the restaurant were great. Bar prices were okay but the soft drinks are quite expensive. Probably the only place to stay at if you visit Katse Dam.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZS6RSW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On Saturday the 29 th of May me and my wife sat down for lunch in the restaurant. In the first place , the staff isn't to attentive as one would expect , that being said , we placed our order for two hamburger en chips , one hawaiian and one cheese. Waiting for our order one becomes aware of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pieter d
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Apparently the lodge recently changed management. As such, they've lost quite a few reservations, including ours and that of another couple that checked in the same day. We had pre-payed the entire stay, mind you. We were basically told we didn't have a booking and we could leave. After 3.5 hours with management and 2 hours on international calls to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeremy M
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The view is magnificent for sure! But the camping area looks very improvised: there are no marked areas for campers, so everybody can just put themselves wherever they want. Toilet, shower, water taps and places for dish washing are located in "abandoned" block of the hotel close to the lawn area where people camp. It's a bit weird to see...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bruno I
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 April 2017

The drive through to the Katse Lodge from the Northern Lesotho border is exceptionally beautiful, once you are out of the towns. The roads are of good quality although very winding and steep in parts, so low gears need to be selected. The scenery is glorious, similar to Switzerland on the way to the dam and there are plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandy r
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The Katse Lodge, situated approximately 5 kilometres from the Katse Dam has the most magnificent lookout of the Katse Dam. Waking up in the morning and being greeted by shimmering water with a boat on the water was a sight to behold. The hotel is a little tired and in need of some TLC but this did not detract from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen B
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We stayed over at Katse Lodge for a night whilst travelling through Lesotho. The accommodation was adequate, though pretty steep when compared to other destinations in SA. There was a problem in finding the booking that we had made, but thankfully there was another room available to sleep in. Our accommodation was in the main building, which used to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waldo M
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Waldo , thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We apologise for the poor maintenance at our property and will definitely address this with our management in charge.We value your support and look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Warm Regards Management & Team Katse Lodge.

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

A very worthwhile place to stop over at in the deep mountainous part of Lesotho. A good but challenging tarred road leading from Hlotse (Leribe) over numerous bends and passes but more than worth the while. At the lodge, friendly service, excellent food, kleen and spacious rooms. Quiet and peaceful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulHWessels
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Paul , thank you for taking the time to give us feedback , we value your support and look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Warm regards Management & Team Katse Lodge

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

After a long journey on rough gravel roads the Lodge was a welcome sight. Although we arrived at dusk & they were hosting a conference we were offered a room in the dormatory block. Basic with shared toilets & showers but as we were the only people in the block it did not cause us problems. The bed was comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vivienne w
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vivienne , thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We value your support and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warm regards Management & Team Katse Lodge

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bokong
0.0 km away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
0.0 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
40 reviews
0.0 km away
Phomolo Guest House & Self Catering
0.0 km away
Boikhethelo Guest House
Boikhethelo Guest House
#1 of 1 in Mokhotlong
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Katse Lodge is perfectly positioned atop a saddle, offering incredible panoramic views of the famous Katse Dam, with its surrounding mountains, rocky crags, sparse vegetation and landlocked lakes. The Lodge is an ideal starting point for travelers wishing to explore Lesotho’s mountain kingdom. For the adventurous, drive the robustly constructed alpine roads to Mohale Lodge, and experience the stark desolate landscape with traditional villages, untouched by time. Return to the lodge after a day of exploration and adventure dine in comfort, with unobstructed views of the glimmering waterscape, and then relax in front of the inviting fireplace. Katse Lodge offers genuine warmth and old-fashioned hospitality, making it one of Lesotho’s best-kept secrets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Katse Lodge

Address: Katse Village, Bokong 333, Lesotho (Formerly Orion Katse Lodge)
Region: Lesotho > Thaba-Tseka District > Bokong
Price Range: €56 - €56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Katse Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Katse Hotel Bokong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Katse Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Katse Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the dam”
ZS6RSW, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Do not make use of restaurant”
, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Low number rooms are dam facing; make sure you get one!”
sandyr324, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main hotel with a view of the dam - magnificent views”
MaureenB413, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appeared to have a view. Choose a room separate from conference centre but really not a problem.”
sharonsP3472NJ, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Hotels.com
CheapTickets
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates