We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Sani Lodge Backpackers

    Sani Pass Road, Sani Pass 3257, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sani PassSee available hotels in Sani Pass
    Traveller (87)
    Room & Suite (23)
    Dining (8)
    Overview
    • Excellent49%
    • Very good35%
    • Average13%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “sani lodge” (44 reviews)
    “day tour” (8 reviews)
    “the kitchen” (11 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Laundry Service
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Sani Lodge Backpackers
    Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
    146 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Himeville
     
    Premier Resort Sani Pass
    85 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Himeville
     
    Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
    264 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Underberg
     
    Moorcroft Manor
    104 reviews
    #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Himeville
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (187)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 150 reviews

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    It's clean, affordable and the cottage offered a stunning view of the mountains! Drop your bags here and drive up Sani Pass to have lunch at the Highest Pub in Africa. Unfortunately, there was no snow, but still freezing! Pack warmly because the temperature drops...More

    Thank Saamiya A
    Response from TOFF1111, Owner at Sani Lodge BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you for your feedback from your stay in our Honeyguide cottage. We hope you will return when there is snow on the mountain tops!

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    We booked a 3 days hiking trip in Lesotho through Sani lodge. It was a way to se the culture in Lesotho and it was also a good hike. We did it in the winter so one of the nights it was minus 12 degrees....More

    Thank hjalte v
    Response from TOFF1111, Owner at Sani Lodge BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

    Mid winter is the coldest time to hike at over 3000 metres altitude. Glad you enjoyed the cultural aspect and reaching the highest point in Africa south of Kilimanjaro with our guide. We are however wondering why you only rated us three ?

    Reviewed 14 July 2017

    This place has very nice rooms at a very good value. I stayed in a single room and a dorm. The surrounding area is beautiful and I did a hike into the foothills of Ndlovini...I was the only person out there (make sure you bring...More

    Thank Christopher S
    Response from TOFF1111, Owner at Sani Lodge BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you for taking the time to review Sani Lodge Backpackers. Yes we really are as we advertise ,based in a pristine rural location bordering onto a World Heritage Site called uKhahlamba Drakensberg Park . In fact the only Backpackers to border onto a World...More

    Reviewed 20 June 2017

    We booked at Sani Backpackers because of the accommodation rates and were so happy with the accommodation when we arrived. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Will recommend for hikers and self catering stays alike. Great stay

    Thank Claire S
    Response from TOFF1111, Owner at Sani Lodge BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

    Many thanks for your review and feedback. We do appreciate it and it will be passed on to all of our staff team at the next staff meeting.

    Reviewed 16 June 2017

    - Nice staff. They´re very helpful and warm. - Room and bath are clean. - Towels and soap. - Nice Kitchen. - Wi-fi only near the restaurant. Should have in the commom area. - Hikes - Nice view of moutains and nature. - No Grocery...More

    Thank renatokwok
    Response from TOFF1111, Owner at Sani Lodge BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

    Many thanks for your comprehensive review. We have specifically chosen not to have the WIFI in the common room as it spoils the atmosphere with everyone staring at their cellphones, iPads, laptops, instead of communicating at leisure. One of the strongest appeals of our Lodge...More

    Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
    146 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Himeville
     
    Premier Resort Sani Pass
    85 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Himeville
     
    Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
    264 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Underberg
     
    Moorcroft Manor
    104 reviews
    #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Himeville
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free Internet
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$13 - US$28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Suites ,
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 18
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • KwaZulu-Natal >
    • Sani Pass
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (87)
    Room & Suite (23)
    Dining (8)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (130)
    Bathroom (2)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
    146 reviews
    1.26 km away
     
    Premier Resort Sani Pass
    85 reviews
    7.19 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Moorcroft Manor Restaurant
    92 reviews
    11.55 km away
    Lemon Tree Bistro
    421 reviews
    14.96 km away
    Nip Inn
    5 reviews
    33.74 km away
    Picklepot Cafe
    33 reviews
    55.50 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    The Himeville Museum
    58 reviews
    10.99 km away
    Sani Pass
    458 reviews
    17.92 km away
    Marutswa Forest Trail and Boardwalk
    15 reviews
    33.86 km away
    Stormy Hill Trails & Tails
    29 reviews
    47.95 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Anna-Marie P
    10 June 2017|
    Answer
    Response from TOFF1111 | Property representative |
    Sorry no pets allowed here due to duiker and other wildlife on the property.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Book early, only a limited amount of double beds available."
    Read review
    "Rondavels are quiet, cool, clean and peaceful"
    Read review
    "Honeyguide Cottage has the best view and sleeps 6 people."
    Read review
    "There are various options. We chose the rooms sharing a bathroom. You can choose chalets or rooms with your..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing