We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Makunudu Island

Agoda.comUS$687*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$949*
US$687*
Great Deal
US$781*
US$949*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Makunudu Island
Makunudu Island
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 284: English reviews
Start your review of Makunudu Island
 Click to rate
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

First of all, I would like to say that the resort is not perfect, but it's the small details that make it a winner for us. We arrived late at night on a Friday and we're hoping that there wouldn't be any dramas upon check in. True enough, our transfer was swift (boat men consistently asked us if we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hello_clowee
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear hello_cloe, We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your kind review. It is fantastic to discover that your expectations were exceeded during your time in Makunudu Island. We are thrilled knowing each aspect of your stay was so exceptional, from our incomparable island setting to the impeccable service of our friendly staff. It would be an...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We chose this island because of the lack of water bungalows, big spas, & swimming pool, so a much more low key relaxed atmosphere. The island is small with a lot of green jungley planting through the interior along the walkways which provide good shade. The house reef is good - some bleaching, but still a good number of fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JM1519
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear JM1519, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Makunudu Island. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your experience. We are so glad to know that our house reef, food and accommodation have been according to your expectations We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Makunudu, and offer you much...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 4th trip to the Maldives, which we love for its marine life, reefs and diving opportunities and quiet beach life. Makanudu was meant to be a 4 star resort with a good house reef (according to Tropic Breeze, who we booked with). In fact it is barely a 3 star and the coral in the house reef...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen864
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. We highly value your observations regarding our services, as we believe that they are key to the continuing process of improvement, which is why we have shared your review with...

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love this small but caring and thoughtful island resort. Nature has been reserved well here and is shared with visitors. The moment we board their pick up speed jet, we feel been looked after. Love to walk on the jungle path to our intimate beach bungalow. Kids have fun playing in water and on the sand with many many energetic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amykung0507
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thoroughly enjoyed reading your very detailed and descriptive comment of your guest experience with us. It's nice to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that you enjoyed the beauty of Maldives. It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We definitely hope you will...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Peaceful dessert island feeling with good house reef & food. Lots of different fish remain despite last year's coral whitening that affected the Maldives. Who wants a pool with the Indian Ocean! All staff are so helpful. I hope they keep their island retreat & don't go pool with extra restaurants option.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike D
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Mike Thank you for taking the time to post this review! Our Team Members aim to provide exceptional service. We are glad to see we accomplished this with your stay. We will happily pass along your kind words to the departments. It’s wonderful to hear that you like our reef and our "no swimming pool". We look forward to...

Goppingen, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful time with wonderful people. It was our 23th trip to Makunudu. All the time we can see changes. In the meantime we meet friends which like the island also to see again. It is a paradise for long snorkeling trips.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wdrhorn
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Mr. &Mrs. Horn, There is nothing better than reading your comment and learn that you had a lovely experience again in our remarkable Makunudu Island. We hope to have the great opportunity to welcome you again in your 24th time soon to offer you again our service. Warmest regards from your Home away in the Maldives! Makunudu Island

Leicester, UK
Reviewed 26 March 2017

The island has a lot of positives, so I'll start with those. It is one of the most unspoiled islands we have visited in the Maldives with just the rooms spread round the beach , with a central restaurant/bar and a tiny spa - no flash dining options, no disco, no golf club and no water bungalows - the Maldives...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robini
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Robini, On behalf the hotel staff of Makunudu Island we thank you for choosing us as your holidays destination. We appreciate you have taken part of your time to sharing with us your happiness with the food choices and snorkeling, however, we are so sorry to know that we haven't met completely your expectations due to the lack in...

Kent
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 10 nights from 6th March. This was our 7th visit to The Maldives, but first to Makunudu. Overall we had a great time and plan to return in the future. We could not fault the bar, waiting and reception staff. We did not use dive centre or spa so cannot comment on those. As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zicobow
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Zicobow, On behalf of the team of Makunudu Island, we thank you for the time and effort that you have spent on your review at TripAdvisor community. It is very pleased to read all the positive comments due to our goal is to fulfill your expectations. We regret to read the little details did not pleased you in full...

Doha
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This was a visit to celebrate a special birthday for my Wife. From the point of booking I was in contact with the Island. I am glad to say that all my requests were met. We arrived in Male in bad weather so if you are on a planned boat trip make sure you have sea sick pills. Fortunately we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul S
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Amazing house reef. Amazing food. Great variety on the buffet. The room has a nice sunny back yard. No swimming pool (means no kids, just peace and quiet) The only big minus is the toilet. It was broken every now and then. And because it is a half open bathroom, little uninvited creatures came in to creep us. I wish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raisussu

1,403 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1095)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (113)
Viewed
Dining (236)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (152)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (455)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Beach (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (Pre-Renovation) (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Villa (Pre-Renovation) (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makunudu Island
12.7 km away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,046 reviews
31.8 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
1,942 reviews
32.8 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Angsana Ihuru
Angsana Ihuru
#1 of 1 in Ihuru Island
1,290 reviews
37.3 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,392 reviews
31.3 km away
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi
#1 of 1 in Lhohifushi Island
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Makunudu Island is one of the original and much loved Maldivian island resorts. With only 36 simple and traditionally designed bungalows set amidst lush tropical vegetation each with direct beach access. Superb house reef. Guest rooms are available with queen or twin bedding,sitting area, private garden bathroom with shower,hair dryer, mini-bar, personal safe, IDD Telephone, Writing Desk, tea and coffee making facilities. Restaurant, Bar, PADI diving school, snorkeling, Non-motorised water sports, volleyball, badminton and table tennis and a library with TV are available for our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makunudu Island

Address:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Makunudu Island
Price Range: €300 - €1,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makunudu Island 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Makunudu Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Makunudu Island staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Makunudu Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not near the generator at the end of the island (Villa 20 )”
Karen864, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 and 12-16 have good mix of permanent beach and afternoon shade.”
robini, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in 23 and 22 which was great for us and had great snorkelling outside”
PaulS399, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Villas differ only in location. The south side has sun all day, less shallow lagoon at low tide and softer sand than we found on the north.”
ssxguy, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“4,5,6 or 7. Leftward side and more private.”
AnnieG5, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$687* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$781
Expedia.comUS$949
TripAdvisorUS$687
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates