We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

G&G B&B NEC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balsall Common
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
G&G B&B NEC
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of G&G B&B NEC
 Click to rate
West Sussex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gilly and Grant always make us feel very welcome, tea and homemade cake on arrival is always a great start to any visit. We have been staying here twice a year for over 8 years. The bedroom is a good size, the en-suite is modern with a walk in shower. You can help yourself to as much tea and coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mccallough
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review

We always look forward to seeing you and Max, and we love having the chance to catch up with all your exciting family news! Thank-you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on TripAdvisor - so glad you enjoyed your stay once again and I thoroughly agree, the Gastro Card deal at The White Horse is a...

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Gilly and Grant were very welcoming when I arrived. A lovely room and a fantastic breakfast the next morning. It is about 15-20 minutes walk from Berkswell station but well worth it when you arrive. Very handy for the NEC with the station being only a couple of stops from Birmingham International. Thank you Gilly and Grant. I wouldn't hesitate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _suehurst58
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - it was lovely to meet you and good to hear about Neal's Yard once more - that has certainly given me inspiration for Christmas presents! Thank you for writing a review about us and maybe see you again when you're visiting the NEC

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

What better recommendation than a return visit - in fact our third! We make a point of ensuring our booking is in early enough to secure a room at G&G B&B when we have a stand at the NEC. As always Gilly and Grant were very welcoming, and Gilly had been very accommodating with changes to our bookings at short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review

It was great fun to see you again and so good to hear business is booming - I am always envious of that Great Machine! The show was very hard work and I'm glad we could provide a bit of a restful place for you to recover each day. It's always a pleasure to have you to stay and thank...

Reviewed 29 November 2016

With only 10-15 minutes away from the NEC I can only recommend staying with Gilly and Grant when you're visiting the NEC. A spacious room with a comfy bed, a hot shower and a lovely breakfast made a good start to my day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonja G
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review

We were very lucky that you joined in with the team at the Good Food Show this year, so we had the chance of meeting you and I hope that last day proved successful for you. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review...

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We were recommended to stay at G&G. We was not disappointed at all with our 3 day stay. Great breakfast was short of nothing. The B&B was very well presented and very clean indeed. Comfortable and a welcomed stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review

We were so glad to be able to offer you a room to join your colleagues, and very nice to meet you both. Good to know you enjoyed your stay and thanks once again for your kind review. Hope to see you both again sometime

West Sussex
Reviewed 2 November 2016

As usual we received a friendly welcome from Gilly and Grant. The homemade cake went down very well. We stayed in the double room at the front, it was very peaceful. Our bedroom and bathroom were very warm, we turned the bedroom radiator down low as it was a tad too warm. Breakfast was up to the usual high standard,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mccallough
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review

We always look forward to your visits and to catch up with family news. This visit was no exception and we were so pleased to have an available room for your friends - it made a party of it! Thank you for the kind words in your review and see you in January. Safe travels for Christmas.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We were looking for somewhere not too far from Solihull where we could have an overnight stop on our way to the South West. Trip Advisor’s listing of “G & G B & B NEC” with an excellent rating by over 90% from previous visitors seemed to be very encouraging. We were not disappointed in any way! Communications about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank entofnot
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review

Lovely to meet you both and so pleased you enjoyed your visit to G&G B&B. Thank you for all your wonderfully kind words, Colin, and for taking the time and trouble to write a review. I was very glad to hear how interesting your day in Solihull turned out to be - and that your holiday in Herefordshire was just...

Chesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night while on a walking holiday.. Quiet location about 10 minutes walk from the village centre. Friendly welcome and comfortable big room. Gilly even drove us to the pub as we had no car.. Lovely breakfast. Everything a b&b should be..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard-at-team54
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words As you left in the rain with all your waterproofs on, I must say, I was concerned. So glad to hear the rain didn't persist and that the sun came out. Good luck with the completion of your challenge and hope to see you again sometime.

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I booked this B&B for 4 nights, as part of a family group, having been impressed by the good reviews. Unfortunately, I was to be exceedingly disappointed. We booked all of the available rooms. After paying our deposit, I was informed by email that full payment was due immediately upon arrival. Having previously been unaware of this stipulation, I advised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGB27
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review

I was very surprised to read your review and I'm sorry you felt that way. However, the other family members seemed to have rather a different opinion. As regards your point about payment, our terms and conditions of booking ask for balance payment on arrival because we do not have facilities to accept card payments and I apologise for the...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We stayed with G & G for one night as we were in the area for a family celebration. Grant and Gilly are excellent hosts; warm and welcoming and very friendly. The accomodation was superb and we both had a really good night's sleep. Breakfast was a delight with homemade marmalade and homemade bread. We left feeling refreshed and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen-m-haynes
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review

Lovely to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for writing such kind words about us. Do come and see us again when you're down in this part of the world.

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsall Common
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
7.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.8 km away
Haigs Hotel
Haigs Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balsall Common
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
4.9 km away
Hampton Manor
Hampton Manor
#1 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
364 reviews
3.3 km away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern, quiet, clean and extremely comfortable b&b with wi-fi near the NEC Birmingham giving you the privacy and independance that you need and all the help that you want.Perfect for small groups looking to stay together while visiting the area or the Nec.G&G B&B is in the village of Balsall Common with a choice of banks, a post office, a late opening Co-op, small Tescos and Sainburys, a Shell Garage and an excellent variety of eating places - good pubs and Indian restaurants - all within walking distance.Plenty of driveway parking. The village railway station - called Berkswell Station - has it's own free car park and is just 2 stops from the NEC ... more   less 

Additional Information about G&G B&B NEC

Address: 68 Needlers End Lane, Balsall Common, Solihull CV7 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Balsall Common
Price Range: €37 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from G&G B&B NEC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The three bedrooms are on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles _suehurst58, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The best room is the twin overlooking the rear garden”
 of 5 bubbles AGB27, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The 'Blue Room' has superb views over the rear garden which is a delight”
 of 5 bubbles helen-m-haynes, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles Mccallough, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We have only sampled one room, so cannot compare.”
 of 5 bubbles A8221PKjs, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5