We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lodge in the Vale

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lodge in the Vale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 262: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The reception area was clean and smelt it, and the staff were very helpful. Depsite being advertised as a 4 star hotel, I found the accommodation extremely basic and a bit wanting. The beds were pretty much unsleepable as they were so hard, the shower had mould in and we could hear the people above us using the toilet!! Which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris W
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is basically quite average. The room was fine, quite small but had everything we needed. That said the bed was unbelievably noisy you basically couldn't move an inch without making a noise. I was surprised by how close to the road the hotel was as it was right outside the window and our room was so warm we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara G
cumbria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay here. The Lodge is in a peaceful location, is very clean and the rooms are well equipped. The continental breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice. Thomas on the reception desk is very friendly and helpful. Good base for walking with a bus stop only two minutes walk giving good access to Keswick and the surrounding area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EllieMae93
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us! Thomas was very happy to see your comments and it's lovely to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the rest of your time in the Lakes was just as good and we look forward to seeing you again in the future :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a very relaxing weekend here at the vale. An amazing total retreat to unwind yet close to keswick. Run by lovley staff and they cant do enough for you. Spotlessly clean and very accomadating jow looking at going back soon. If you want total relaxation then woukd highly recommmend here. Also got a lovely sheep Fog that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank markfegan69
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you very much Mark, It was a real pleasure having you here guys, Paddy the dog was very sad to see you go! Thank you for your lovely review, I hope the rest of your stay in the Lakes was just as good and we look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here! The staff are very friendly and accommodate to your needs. Breakfast is served between 8.15am-9.30am and we found ourselves with plenty to chose from :-). Because we were leaving before breakfast was served one day, the night before the staff made us up a breakfast to go each which was very thoughtful of them. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holidayloverxo
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this fab review! We're really glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us, it sounds like you made most of your time in the area too, which is great :) We are certainly looking forward to seeing you again in the future, remember to book directly for the best rates ;)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Lodge is just as we expected it to be. Clean and modern, but with limited catering facilities. It is an excellent base for walking in the area and a packed-lunch can be provided. The remote location means there is little to walk to, as far as food is concerned.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris B
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Chris, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our location, we're certainly a great base for walking and exploring the Lakes! I hope you were made aware of our sister property 'King's Head Inn' which is just half a mile away from the lodge and offers 10% discount on food for all...

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as a treat after working Christmas and New Year and very keen to go somewhere quiet. The lodge was perfect for us. I have to say I hadn't realised this was a dog friendly guest house, but don't let this deter you as the rooms were spotlessly clean, well appointed and comfortable. Paul liked the larger...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz D
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this great review Liz! We're so happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us, thanks for sharing your tips and comments as well, I'm sure many of our future guests will find your review very helpful :) We hope the rest of your stay in the area was just as enjoyable and we look...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter bought my husband & I a groupon voucher for one night at this hotel at a cost of £59. Unfortunately we failed to read the small print & when we checked in we were told there's a £40 surcharge for Saturdays. There was a power cut literally minutes after we'd checked in which lasted for over 2 hours....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Fiona, I'm very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay as much as we'd love you to. It seems that the issues you have mentioned were a result of you perhaps not being fully aware of what you have booked? I apologise for saying so, but please see my comments below. The voucher you have been given covers...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful stay as a couple with our young puppy. Breakfast was delicious and very filling! The staff were great with our puppy. There was a power cut and although this didn't cause us any immediate problems the manager agreed to discount us anyway. Would definitely stay again and would recommend especially to people with dogs as the nearby walks are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carmel T
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this lovely review Carmel! We're very please to hear you and you puppy enjoyed your stay with us and that the power cut didn't affect it too much! We hope you've enjoyed the rest of your time in the Lakes and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had always wanted to stay here. It looked like it was going to be an upmarket place, but actually it's just a very simple no frills Lake's equivalent of a city hostel or travelodge. The accommodation is perfectly clean and functional, although there is no toilet paper holder. I booked via late rooms where it said breakfast included, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Kate, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It seems that your expectations didn't match your experience. I'm very surprised to see your comments about us not being 'upmarket', lacking character and not serving cooked breakfast. We have a very substantial gallery of photos available on our Laterooms listing (which is where you booked) which shows exactly what...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirlmere
10.0 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
564 reviews
1.7 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
166 reviews
6.8 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
12.4 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.8 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Lodge in the Vale

Address: | St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Thirlmere
Price Range: €70 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge in the Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Lodge in the Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge In The Vale Hotel Thirlmere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lodge in the Vale staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Greater London, United Kingdom
Padiham, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge in the Vale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try for a room on the upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are probably best if you have a dog staying with you”
 of 5 bubbles EllieMae93, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is a family room with a wet-room bathroom. Very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have great views!”
 of 5 bubbles 797SusanB, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Think Bijou and calm and you'll love it!”
  • Wake up to this
 of 5 bubbles karlmusic2016, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5