We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lodge in the Vale

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lodge in the Vale
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 269: English reviews
Start your review of The Lodge in the Vale
 Click to rate
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in March. The room(15) was large containing 3 beds, clean and comfortable. The perfect location means that you can walk directly from the hotel to the nearby Helvellyn range and pleasant walks around Thirlmere . I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone seeking a perfect base for an activity based break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrydonnelly2002
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this lovely review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, our location is certainly perfect for a wide range of walks and it's great to hear you made most of it. We hope the rest of your stay in the area was just as good and we look forward to seeing...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lodge is in a lovely location. Powerful shower but the room was small, it Can be squashed for couple, unless you both like to sit on the bed or sit separately. I stayed there on my own, and I found there wasn't enough space. This lodge is good for budget only, not suitable for Luxury Couples

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny T
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Kenny, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am assuming you have booked our Single Room, or one of the Small Double rooms - our Standard Double rooms have plenty of space for two adults, a dog and walking gear :) We certainly are not a luxury accommodation and do not advertise as such, so I hope...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've purchased a stay here for a weekend (through 'Groupon) in March and just tried to reschedule it (or cancel it) due to job loss. The female voice on the telephone was so rude, unprofessional and unhelpful. That's exactly what you need after you realise you've just lost £100 for nothing. Ridiculous!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace11111
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Grace, You were trying to reschedule your stay for May - your Groupon Voucher is valid until the end of March and we have no way of redeeming it after 31st of March, as we are tied in with a contract with Groupon. We repeatedly tried to explain this and offered you different dates for your stay. We also...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This b&b was a perfect bed for the night for my boyfriend and I. He booked the room as a birthday present so we could spend a night away from home somewhere peaceful - and I don't think he could find anywhere more peaceful! The accommodation was basic, but more than adequate. The bed was clean and comfortable, there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you very much Daniel, So happy to hear you enjoyed your birthday treat! Peace and quiet is what we are all about :) We hope the rest of your stay in the Lakes was just as enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely perfect location for walks, views and commuting to near by towns. The lodge was a perfect stay, very clean, and the breakfast was just fabulous, a great choice from a continental breakfast bar which you could help yourself too. The room was very clean, flat screen TV, tea/coffee/hot chocolate, heating control, great shower room, we have already recommend to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michym1975
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, thank you for your kind comments. We hope the rest of your stay in the area was just as good and we look forward to seeing you again :)

glasgow
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay as staff very friendly especially the staff working during the breakfast period.Couldn't do enough for us, plenty of choice from continental breakfast which was a nice change from cooked breakfast. Rooms comfortable but perhaps a bit small but not really a big issue. Nice and quiet with beautiful surroundings. Only 10 mins from Keswick, 10 pounds in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan y
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you Susan, It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments on our team, breakfast and location. We hope the rest of your stay in the area was just as enjoyable.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were really friendly and accommodating and breakfast was great- a variety of options and fabulous coffee. We were shocked by how small the room was... with a pooch and walking gear it really felt quite claustrophobic. Rooms don't appear to get cleaned? When we returned after a day out tea and coffee in the room had been replenished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMitchell2012
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm glad to hear you found our team to be friendly and that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and splendid location! I'm very sorry to hear you didn't think the room was big enough, I'm not sure whether you have booked a standard double or a small double, our standard double rooms...

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

The reception area was clean and smelt it, and the staff were very helpful. Depsite being advertised as a 4 star hotel, I found the accommodation extremely basic and a bit wanting. The beds were pretty much unsleepable as they were so hard, the shower had mould in and we could hear the people above us using the toilet!! Which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris W
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Chris, Please note that we are not a 4* hotel and we do not advertise as such - we are a 4*B&B with continental breakfast, a rating that is awarded to us independently by Visit England. Our mattresses are supplied by Sealy, a company which is renowned for their comfortable mattresses, so I can only assume it's down to...

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This hotel is basically quite average. The room was fine, quite small but had everything we needed. That said the bed was unbelievably noisy you basically couldn't move an inch without making a noise. I was surprised by how close to the road the hotel was as it was right outside the window and our room was so warm we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara G
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Lara, Tank you for sharing your feedback with us. It's good to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and powerful showers! I'm sorry if the room was too hot for you, we don't normally get complains about the heat in winter, especially if you've turned the heating off, but I appreciate it's down to personal preference! We are right next...

cumbria
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Enjoyed our stay here. The Lodge is in a peaceful location, is very clean and the rooms are well equipped. The continental breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice. Thomas on the reception desk is very friendly and helpful. Good base for walking with a bus stop only two minutes walk giving good access to Keswick and the surrounding area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EllieMae93
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us! Thomas was very happy to see your comments and it's lovely to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the rest of your time in the Lakes was just as good and we look forward to seeing you again in the future :)

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirlmere
1.7 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
167 reviews
10.0 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
570 reviews
6.6 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
549 reviews
6.8 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
423 reviews
5.4 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Lodge in the Vale

Address: | St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Thirlmere
Price Range: €69 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge in the Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge in the Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge In The Vale Hotel Thirlmere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lodge in the Vale staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Greater London, United Kingdom
Padiham, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge in the Vale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Road noise was not an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles terrydonnelly2002, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not Room 12 ( Right by the main entrance for rooms 12-15, and the door is noisy )”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try for a room on the upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are probably best if you have a dog staying with you”
 of 5 bubbles EllieMae93, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is a family room with a wet-room bathroom. Very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5