We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Drift Thelu Veliga Retreat

{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Drift Thelu Veliga Retreat is a boutique island paradise in the Maldives' southern Ari Atoll. With only 10 beach villas and 20 water villas, the intimate resort conjures up an illusion of being cast away on a desert island. Locally inspired menus, natural spa treatments, incredible diving and signature Maldivian hospitality creates an unforgettable stay you will want to repeat year after year. The restaurant serves an array of Continental & Asian delights that would please everyone. Snorkeling on the reef as well as in various snorkeling points around the island is organized on a daily basis. Weekly excursions to the whale shark points are there for the adventurous.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Airport Transportation
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
Getting there
Villa Intl Airport23 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
130
18
4
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
130
18
4
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small island angelfish travel set menu head chef water villa a la carte fish life smallest island exclusive feel stand up paddle eagle rays pure magic water sports equipment octopus the water was crystal clear passion fruit wide range of drinks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is so beautiful just ruined by some people.The receptionist was so rude that when I talked to her about our speed boat transfer she just asked me to stop to answered her phone calls.She doesn't have manners for guest and also the guy...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank michmartin2011
Response from CastawayMaldives, Management at Drift Thelu Veliga RetreatResponded 5 days ago

Dear Mich, We are very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at Drift Retreat. We hold our staff to highest standards of service and we will certainly look into what may have happened at the reception and take corrective measures. We do...More

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Firstly, we would like to thank Aminath Solith, reservations manager for making this reservation a breeze. Excellent job. We were greeted by your excellent staff and we knew what vibe we were going to get. Everyone was friendly, amazing and professional. They were attentive and...More

Date of stay: July 2018
2  Thank AidilYacob
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 5 days at Drift Thelu. I strongly advise this place for the honeymoon. The island was relax and quiet. Personel was good and helpful. A personel named ‘Susan’( i remembered as) was expecially helpful. Room and hole hotel were very clean. Meals as...More

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Asliharput2018
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

While most of resort in Maldives are loaded with luxury things, we enjoyed the way the Drift offer us with the pure beauty of nature. We stayed in the Beach Villa and the Water Villa each for two nights. Both are very impressive, natural and...More

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank ntybpd
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Maldives. Its always been a cliche that Maldives just offers white sandy beaches and pristine water conditions that accompanies the garden reefs ecompassing its vast ocean among a myriad of resorts on offer. My wife and i decided on DRIFT for our honeymoon on the...More

Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank Md Y
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tapikuche
5 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Minnie503982 | Reviewed this property |
No they don't have either just the glorious blue sea at the bottom of your steps!
1
Vote
sismyks
23 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Minnie503982 | Reviewed this property |
We never needed shoes at all from beach villa number 4. Sandy but maybe just few bits of broken coral if tide brought in during night.
1
Vote
maryie23
11 February 2018|
Answer
Response from DanJames62 | Reviewed this property |
Hello, there were no sign of mosquitos at all when we visited in January.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Beach villas 7 or 8 offer the most privacy/quiet, and water villa 22 at the far end of the jetty for an..."
joannec208
2 Sep 2018
Read review
"Sunset Side of the Water Villas for great sunset views."
AidilYacob
18 Jul 2018
Read review
"Room 22 but be aware of the new premium rate of + $100 a night above water villa rates"
garyhB3053TL
24 Apr 2018
Read review
"Beach Villa number 1 and 2"
Philross123
12 Apr 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$403 - US$1,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MaldivesAlifu AtollSouthern Ari AtollThelu Veliga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing