We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

| 400 mtrs east (uphill) from the Frog Pond, entrance on the right hand side of the road, 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Special Offer
Free Butterfly Garden
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Monteverde Orchid Garden
    0.4 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 5 days ago
Nice Place
The lodge is tranquil...... it was lovely to sit on the patio... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

984 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 906: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The lodge is tranquil...... it was lovely to sit on the patio and see all the different animals and birds. There is a small river/creek behind the lodge which made it seem very relaxing when sitting outside.... the lodge is located only 10 minutes via walking to the center of town.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aneeta P
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Aneeta P, You're right, the sound of the stream below the lodge is very soothing. The stream can be heard from the Balcony and Downstairs Rooms and also while siting the many of the benches, hammocks and tables that are spread throughout the garden. Vacation Time is Precious! Natalie Ewing Director Marketing & Guest Satisfacation

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The lodge is a wonderful place. It is fitting neatly into its forest environment and the interior is consistent with it. Lot's of woodwork, nicely and spacious guest rooms with view of the forest and a large, open yet cozy dining room. Food is not great but ok for the location. Service is top and staff is very friendly. Generally,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Advents
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Advents, Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed the lodge. We were sorry to hear that you thought the food was just OK, especially after having a couple of reviews just before yours saying that they thought the food was the best they had in Costa Rica. I hope you let the wait staff know. We will do...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights and i was really impressed with the staff at this hotel. They have a beautiful butterfly garden which you can book for a private dinner, which I did as a surprise for my husband as we were on our honeymoon. Unfortunately a storm in monteverde meant that the butterfly garden was damaged and my meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca S, It's not often that we have guests where so many things happen! We are very sorry about this. But as you say, things can and do go wrong. When this happens we do everything we can to go above and beyond to make it right. I can't tell you how much they appreciated your calm and easy...

Reviewed 1 week ago

It was overall very disappointing. Here are the facts: They never contacted us about the storm happening. Trees were falling, so much wind and rain; you couldn't go outside for a walk in the garden or anywhere. It was very unsafe. You couldn't use the facilities like the butterfly garden cause the roof was breaking out. You couldn't enjoy the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natacha W
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

As with everything, there are two versions to the story, here is ours: 1- When the reservation was made, we advised them that the only way we could accommodate them was if they agreed to change rooms. The would spend the first night in a Superior Garden Room and the next two nights in a Forest View Downstairs Room. She...

Brooklyn
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent 2 delightful nights at Monteverde Lodge and Gardens. We had a balcony forest view room and could have spent many more hours on the small balcony drinking coffee or wine and looking at the forest. The angle of the rooms gave the balcony a measure of privacy, a nice touch. Beds were comfortable (we appreciate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica G
Natalie E, General Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Erica G, I'm so glad you mentioned driving to Monteverde. Your description is very accurate and yes, we agree that it's far better to drive in daylight. If you visit our site and go to "How to Get Here" you can download driving instructions and get accurate time estimates. Google Maps often give shorter than realistic driving times. Since...

Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Most comfortable place to stay. The meals provided were well above expectations for a remote area. Staff was courteous and helpful in every way. The butterfly garden just off the lobby was full of many butterflies. A great photo opportunity.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeKathyFL
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear JoeKathyFL, The butterfly garden is a great place to work on getting a great photo of a Blue Morpho Butterfly or of the Owl Butterfly, or one of the many other species. They are most active on sunny mornings, so plan on having a couple of hours to dedicate to it. Another great photo opportunity is to spend some...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent three nights at the Monteverde Lodge and easily could've stayed for a week. I selected the forest-view room with a balcony, and it was absolutely lovely (bonus points for the comfy mattress; I'm usually miserable on hotel beds). The meals were wonderful and the staff really made the trip exceptional. We saw the same waiter, Milton, several times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Kristin L, Milton was so excited about your dinner in the Buttefly Garden and then your birthday cake. One of their favorite things it to orchestrate celebrations. It doesn't even have to be a birthday or an anniversary or a college graduation, it can just be a celebration of life and the vacation that you are on with your...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our stay at the Monteverde Lodge & Gardens on 1/5//2017 to 1/6/2017. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. At reception and in the restaurant. Our primary server in the restaurant waited on us three times and she was very efficient and very friendly each time. Quality of the food was excellent. We had a second floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffgV6814WC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear jeffgV6814WC, Thank you for your overview of your stay at the lodge. We are delighted that you took full advantage of all the activities on the grounds and that you enjoyed the staff. Your right about the walk into the town of Santa Elena. This is a very worthwhile thing to plan on doing! We hope you had a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm a bit torn with this hotel. There are so many great things about it but then a couple of downers. The hotel is really attractive, the room was lovely and really clean. The restaurant was great. I think one of the best we went to while in Costa Rica. Breakfast was brilliant. The gardens are very pretty. Downers -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FayeBentos
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear FayeBentos, Thank you for mentioning the things that you really liked about the lodge and especially for giving our restaurant, El Jardin, such a great review here on Trip Advisor. You may have felt that the lodge lacked atmosphere because we don't have any background music in the public areas or the restaurant. You didn't say what it was...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is excellent, the food was good, and the property feels like you are two steps up from glamping in the Monte Verde rainforest. We stayed on the second floor and our room felt a bit like a luxurious treehouse, oculus window included.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reid B
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Reid B, Thank you for mentioning our staff, they get very excited when guest mention them here on Trip Advisor. And yes, you are literally two steps from the Cloud Forest that you traveled to Monteverde to see. When we first built the lodge it was surrounded by pasture. It's taken years of selective gardening to bring the forest...

944 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (598)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (177)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (222)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (221)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Forest View Balcony Room (27)
Viewed
Forest View Downstairs Room (26)
Viewed
Garden Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.9 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.4 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
1,196 reviews
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
188 reviews
1.4 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
2.5 km away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 23 in Monteverde
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 forest view downstairs rooms. 12 forest view balcony rooms (a little more expensive, but worth it. See what reviewers have said by clicking on "room tips"). 1 downstairs room is wheelchair accessible. • Beds: 2 downstairs rooms and 2 upstairs rooms have 1 king bed. 10 downstairs rooms and 10 upstairs rooms have 2 double beds. • All rooms have: in-room safe, hot water, coffee maker, ceiling fan, reading lamps, hair dryer and free wireless internet. • All rooms don't have: TV, AC, or mini-bar. • Service Style: personalized, informal, caring. • Restaurant: cuisine: What a Costa Rican grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. •Atmosphere: quiet, laid back and tranquil. No background music. Open fireplace. • Suggested activities at Lodge: Butterfly and Hummingbird Garden. Plan 1-2 hours. Main Bromeliad and Fern Gardens and La Posa de Yolanda Solar heated Pool. Plan on spending a morning or afternoon. • 3 Computers with internet for guest use at no charge. Spend as little time as possible. You're on vacation. • Suggested stay: 2-4 nights. • Owned and Operated by Costa Rica Expeditions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Address: | 400 mtrs east (uphill) from the Frog Pond, entrance on the right hand side of the road, 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: €134 - €271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monteverde Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Monteverde Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Monteverde Lodge And Gardens
Monteverde Hotel Gardens
Gardens Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Lodge & Gardens staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Lodge & Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked our balcony room.”
 of 5 bubbles 670NancyK, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a balcony room for sure!”
 of 5 bubbles melissahZ424PS, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The garden view rooms are an absolute delight to wake up to!”
 of 5 bubbles ntbown, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The more expensive rooms are larger and quieter”
 of 5 bubbles mnowick, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a garden room so you can sit outside, even in the rain.”
 of 5 bubbles Marsha12, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5