We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 864: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I loved our three nights at the intimate Monteverde Lodge. We had a beautiful airy balcony room with two comfy beds. They have a butterfly garden right in the lobby where our son got to hold a butterfly. The grounds are a stunning place to wonder, we saw a sloth on our first day There is a nice, warm pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxinesmom
New Jersey
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived at the lodge on the day that Hurricane Otto was due to hit Costa Rica., and arriving earlier than planned in the morning we were welcomed by the reception, and enjoyed coffee and fresh cakes. As most activities were cancelled, the lodge put on cooking classes so we signed up for the 11am one. The chef Frederico was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Emma_Rolfe
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Tom_Emma_Rolfe, I realize that your plans for Monteverde didn't originally include cooking classes, but we're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed learning how to make tortillas, gallo pinto, ceviche and patacones. With the country in a state of emergency, all parks, reserves and attractions were closed. Given that all of our guests had to stay at the lodge,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a beautiful lodge with wonderful gardens, well designed, furnished and comfortable rooms and a restaurant serves great food. There is a butterfly house where we watched beautiful butterflies hatch and fly, the hummingbirds were in the garden in all weathers and the barman at the pool was very tolerant about the monkey we were photographing who looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judy9814
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear judy9814, It's so good to hear that our efforts to keep guests comfortable and entertained during Hurricane Otto helped ensure that you had a wonderful time despite the fact that all parks, reserves and attractions were closed. We decided that we would make the best of the times when the rain stopped and have Donald available to walk in...

Duxbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is wonderful!! Friendly, calm, lovelypeople working here. The gardens and pool are gorgeous. We swam in the rain because the pool is heated. Had a wonderful massage with the relaxing sound of rain hitting the roof of the massage bungalow. The food at the restaurant is superb. Best we had in Costa Rica. Free cakes and coffee/tea in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Debra M, Viviana and the rest of the staff at the lodge raved about how much they enjoyed you and your family. They said that the kids were extremely sweet and curious and they really enjoyed showing you the sloth and what good sports you all were about having a good time in spite of hitting a patch of...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I have just returned from a delightful stay at the Lodge. The lodge is clean and comfortable, nice views, has wifi, and no TV. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. This is a good location for visits to the Don Juan Coffee tour; Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve; and and a tour of the Sky Walk park....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Matthew F, We thank you again for your wonderful reviews! Thank you so much for helping people that are considering us decide if we are a good fit. We've heard that you may be considering a return visit and promise to go above and beyond to insure that you have an even better experience the second time around. Vacation...

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had heard the food was excellent from reading reviews but the night we arrived it was my husband's 40th birthday and I had informed Luz in the San Jose office through email ahead of time that I wanted to reserve a special table in the garden. But we were completey surprised and delighted to find our table was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sparrow M
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Sparrow M, We are delighted to hear that your husband's 40th birthday celebration at Monteverde Lodge was extra special. For people that are interested in having a special dinner in the Butterfly Garden, it's best to make a reservation in advance. If you didn't reserve in advance, we normally have a waiting list for dinners in the Butterfly Garden,...

Wigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well. Where should I start? If the smell of an old people's homes doesn't put you off, then the lack of TV might. Yes I am that type of person. The bugs that find they're way in the room would make for better dinner than the pile of salt we paid through the nose for. Oh and didn't ring the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RichieGraham89
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

We are very confused by this review because we can't figure out who this person is. Usually when we have a guest that is this unhappy with their stay, we know who it is and have done everything possible to make it right while they are still at the lodge. It really would have helped if this person had let...

Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I Visited Monteverde with my husband last weekend,and we really enjoyed staying at the Monteverde Lodege and Gradens.It's located in a large lush and beautiful property,that's relatively close to downtown Monteverde but its away from the main street and very quiet.We stayed in the second floor rooms,and we had a beautiful view of the forest in the morning.We loved our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fernandamacarena67
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel itself was nice and a short walk from the town. The hotel lobby was nice and the restaurant looked good (we didn't eat there) and the breakfast was ok. The problem was that there is no minibar or air conditioning, I can live without a tv, but the air conditioning was hard. The gardens and walks were also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K4RLDJ
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear K4RLDJ, I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't read about the lodge before you booked your reservation. We know that many people MUST have air conditioning and are careful to put include this information in our room descriptions which clearly state: All rooms don't have: TV AC mini-bar We really encourage people that are considering us for a...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first impression in reception was charming. The staff are welcoming and the lodge feels cosy. Unfortunately the wing our room was in smelt a bit musty and damp. The room was certainly clean and the windows were open so it wasn't too bad. However, the room did not have any obvious heat source so it was quite cool at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MamaBearHelen
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear MamaBearHelen, I hope you found the extra blankets in your closet and if you didn't, that you asked for more in the reception. It's rarely so cold in Monteverde that you need heat, but we have had a tropical storm off the coast these last couple of days and it's been uncharacteristically rainy and cold in the whole country....

907 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (560)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (170)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (199)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (221)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Forest View Balcony Room (27)
Viewed
Forest View Downstairs Room (26)
Viewed
Garden Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.9 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.4 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
1,160 reviews
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#6 of 22 in Monteverde
170 reviews
1.4 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
2.8 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#8 of 22 in Monteverde
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 forest view downstairs rooms. 12 forest view balcony rooms (a little more expensive, but worth it. See what reviewers have said by clicking on "room tips"). 1 downstairs room is wheelchair accessible. • Beds: 2 downstairs rooms and 2 upstairs rooms have 1 king bed. 10 downstairs rooms and 10 upstairs rooms have 2 double beds. • All rooms have: in-room safe, hot water, coffee maker, ceiling fan, reading lamps, hair dryer and free wireless internet. • All rooms don't have: TV, AC, or mini-bar. • Service Style: personalized, informal, caring. • Restaurant: cuisine: What a Costa Rican grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. •Atmosphere: quiet, laid back and tranquil. No background music. Open fireplace. • Suggested activities at Lodge: Butterfly and Hummingbird Garden. Plan 1-2 hours. Main Bromeliad and Fern Gardens and La Posa de Yolanda Solar heated Pool. Plan on spending a morning or afternoon. • 3 Computers with internet for guest use at no charge. Spend as little time as possible. You're on vacation. • Suggested stay: 2-4 nights. • Owned and Operated by Costa Rica Expeditions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Address: | 400 mtrs east (uphill) from the Frog Pond, entrance on the right hand side of the road, 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: €134 - €294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monteverde Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monteverde Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Monteverde Lodge And Gardens
Monteverde Hotel Gardens
Gardens Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Lodge & Gardens staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Lodge & Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“splurge on the upstairs balcony for a view of the forest”
 of 5 bubbles sserrano_7, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the second floor balcony rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles fernandamacarena67, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room with a balcony and view to the forest”
 of 5 bubbles jessicagilboa1, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms with balconies”
 of 5 bubbles laraBton, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed rooms with a direct view of the cloud forrest...”
 of 5 bubbles johnaa32, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay