We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Holetown 24017 Barbados
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (341)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (407)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Holetown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Saint James Parish, The Sandpiper is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its luxury environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, The Sandpiper makes it easy to enjoy the best of Saint James Parish.

Guest rooms offer a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and The Sandpiper makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including room service and a concierge. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the Mediterranean restaurants, including The Cliff and Daphne's Barbados, all of which are a short distance from The Sandpiper.

During your visit, be sure to check out St. James Parish Church (0.1 mi), which is a popular attraction within walking distance of the hotel.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, The Sandpiper is sure to make your visit to Saint James Parish one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Beach
Airport transportation
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Charming
429Reviews18Q+A92Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 355
  • 47
  • 16
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Brian T wrote a review Yesterday
Colchester, United Kingdom100 contributions40 helpful votes
Having read lots of reviews on other hotels whist planning our first ever visit to Barbados, several said that if you really want a first class hotel, go to The Sandpiper. So we did. The hotel did not disappoint. In fact, it exceeded our expectations. We are used to high end accommodation: the luxury of the Sandpiper, from the very well laid out gardens and whole set up is up there with the best. The restaurant is so well designed, and a really nice place to dine- the food and service is excellent. But what really sets The Sandpiper apart, and what I didn’t expect, was how lovely and genuinely pleased to help, the people who work there are. They are all really nice. A special shout out to the legendary Harold; Bob from Watersports, and our new friend Patrick, who kept us reminded about what we were meant to be doing that day 😁 Also to Olinda, who managed, at very short notice, to order me the most amazing bunch of flowers for my wife’s birthday, All in all, a magical place to stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to this lovely hotel and have planned our next visit already. Can’t wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PaintingitRed wrote a review Yesterday
Chelmsford, United Kingdom34 contributions25 helpful votes
This was a delayed visit having supposed to stay pre-Covid in 2020. The hotel is beautiful, small enough to have a luxurious boutique feel but big enough to create a lovely atmosphere with the other guests. Great location, ideal beach / water front and handy for a night out in Holetown. Rooms, grounds, pools, breakfast and bars were all excellent. All of the staff were extremely welcoming, too many to mention but special thanks to Kyle & Destiny in the restaurant and Patrick on the beach. We were particularly impressed when the lobby staff who went out of their way to accommodate us for an additional night at the end of our holiday when our flight home was cancelled at short notice - special thanks to David & Anita. Couple of minor points to consider:- Some lighting outside of Harold’s Bar so you can see what you’re eating / drinking and each other would be welcomed. Drop the need for long trousers for gents in the restaurant, think this would lead to more guests using it. Certain guests (believed to be regular visitors to the hotel) seem to have the privilege of having beach beds reserved in water fronted prime spots by the sunbed staff very early each morning - feels unnecessary, particularly when said guests sometimes spend the day around the pool and the beach beds remain unoccupied. Recommendations shouldn’t detract from what was otherwise a brilliant hotel and would t hesitate to recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Zen K wrote a review 21 Nov
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom52 contributions18 helpful votes
Thankyou so much to the team at The Sandpiper it truly has been a magical experience and one that we will definitely repeat. We felt like celebrities from the moment we arrived until the time we left. To single any member of staff out is not right as they are all truly fantastic. Anything we wanted was never a problem from a trip around the island, a catamaran for the day or a speed boat to take us to lunch up the coast. Thankyou and we look forward to seeing again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales And Marketing, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review and five-star star rating! We appreciate you taking the time to say such complimentary things about our team and amenities. We were pleased to learn we made your stay an enjoyable one, and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lu94xoxo wrote a review 21 Nov
12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
The Sandpiper Hotel saved our holiday! We were originally booked to stay in The Sands and upon arrival realised it was not for us. We found the Sandpiper and it was everything we had hoped for and more! Pure luxury and attention to detail was phenomenal! Best bits: • The White Company toiletries and a lovely bath. • The coasters around the bottom of the wineglasses to prevent them dripping were a lovely touch • The whole hotel smelled amazing, candles and diffusers were beautiful and created a lovely atmosphere • Everything was top top quality and the furniture was so comfortable • Nothing was too much trouble, the staff here are so welcoming • The food! Especially the Cesar Salad Thank you so much!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales And Marketing, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your five-star rating and for sharing your kind feedback. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, the tiny details, palatable cuisine, and the service from our team. It was a pleasure to have you at The Sandpiper, and we do hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frearsons wrote a review 18 Nov
Derby, United Kingdom19 contributions33 helpful votes
We first stayed at The Sandpiper in 2017 and had booked to return in 2020 but because of the pandemic we postponed until this November 2022 and it was well worth the wait. Our room was spotlessly clean and the bed was so comfortable. The maids cleaned everyday and turned down every night. Fantastic Breakfast and great beach and pools. All Staff were extremely friendly but I am going to point out 2 superstars, Anita and David on the front desk - our VA homeward flight was cancelled when we were at the departure gate 2230hrs so we quickly rang the hotel to see if they could accommodate us and 2 other couples that had also been staying there (we knew the hotel was virtually full) and Anita and David worked wonders to sort us out and arrange for a people carrier to collect us from the airport . The location of the resort in Holetown is perfect with many fantastic restaurants , shops and supermarket a 5 minute walk.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales And Marketing, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind words and five-star rating. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our team, particularly those you mentioned by name. We were thrilled to learn that our team exceeded your expectations and were able to assist you in navigating a difficult situation. On behalf of the entire team, it was a pleasure to have you, and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ma02aca wrote a review 18 Nov
Bredhurst, United Kingdom50 contributions66 helpful votes
This is special seriously . Previously we have stayed at the Fairmont Royal pavilion on 5 previous Occasions in the last 7 years ... We booked the Sandpiper as its was £5k cheaper for 10 days, so a no brainer really... We had heard mix reports before arriving, but we needn't have worried. From the greeting by Ken , Hendy, and the reception Girls ,the teams in this this place were flawless. The restaurant staff for dinner, lunch and Breakfast were all brilliant i cant name names as there are to many what a bunch xx .. The water sports Catamaran Hobie, and Wake boarding were brilliant and the staff also.. This place is a True gemstone. Please don't go as it will only go up in price... Compared to the Fairmont there is no comparison, apart from the beach rooms at the Fairmont , that is the only positive they have compared to The Sandpiper. The Food and breakfast is excellent and the staff are full of Fun and Friendly in the correct ,Bajun way also. Maybe the rooms close to the road hear a little to much of the Reggie bus exhaust , but that's it . The Night bar Staff are a terrific bunch of lads also, top guys all of them.. We will definitely go back soon in the Beach Suite though with our family .. McGrath and Barnes will return xx Thanks Guys A Brilliant stay . You are a special Bunch, i never go over the top with these reviews, nevertheless its probably my best recommendation to date though for a hotel.... Are you listening The Fairmont
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: British people who put their towels out the night before or at 5am.Sad sad sad People .Brits moan...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales And Marketing, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for choosing The Sandpiper and for leaving us this lovely review. We were thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly staff, cuisine, amenities, and ambience. It was a pleasure to have you, and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lmsharpe24 wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
My first time in Barbados and I have to say it was so fabulous, that heat that hits when you get off the plane - you know you are somewhere exotic (and wish you were not wearing a tracksuit) - anyhow the only complaint about Sandpiper is that my waistline has increased quite a bit!!! The breakfast to die for, you must try the bakes. From the moment you arrive honestly you are treated like a superstar, I didn't quite believe it to start with, but, that is what it' like with everyone all the time, NOTHING is too much trouble, This hotel want to make sure you have a best time you possibly can. The pool areas and the beach areas are all gorgeous, you can enjoy each one each day. I cannot stress enough how fantastic the staff are here, such attention to detail. Sandpiper is ideally placed to visit the island too, we were able to visit some sites with a guide and Barbados is superb. I notice that there is a review here saying it was older, that wasn't my experience, I found the people staying there to be all ages, children too... all really great. Sandpiper has a lot of repeat custom and I can see why..... ENJOY if you decide to go...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales And Marketing, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your five-star rating and for your kind words. We were delighted to read about your time with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and emphasising all of the aspects of The Sandpiper that made your stay truly memorable. On behalf of the entire team, it was a pleasure to have you and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
unikat77 wrote a review Oct 2022
Munich, Germany208 contributions83 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for over a week, late valentine .. at arrival we had to ask for water in the room had the wrong decoration then we have Ordered. The food is over priced The drinks are over priced The island is over priced It’s like going to a 5 star elderly home We felt misplaced. Most guests are English and in their 60ies 70iges In general the bed was comfortable. The room was kinda old style cute and super clean. The property is very Clean and the staff was lovely. The small beach is a bit crowded Yeah .. not much more to say.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales And Marketing, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your four-star rating and for your compliments about your room, the cleanliness and our team. We do apologise that the decoration you ordered was not what you received, and we will review this with the team. Please also note that while most of our room categories do not offer a mini bar, every room is equipped with a mini fridge for convenience. Special requests like bottled water, tea or coffee can also be requested from our team. Room service is also complimentary at The Sandpiper and all meals including beverages may be served to your private balcony or patio at no additional cost. As it relates to our prices, as you mentioned, our menu prices are comparative with most of the island and reflect the cost of goods in Barbados. At The Sandpiper, we welcome guests of all ages, and it is typical to find a mix of young adults, families and older persons staying with us. Overall based on your 4/5 star rating and compliments, we are pleased that did you enjoy the hotel, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil wrote a review Oct 2022
Leek, United Kingdom9 contributions
Fantastic food, service, location and a wonderful relaxed atmosphere. All staff were keen and enthusiastic and the overall attention to detail was great My only negatives would be lack of keyless access to rooms and poor internet connectivity.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales And Marketing, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your five-star rating. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your compliments about our food, service, team and location. We do, however, apologise for your internet troubles and will notify our IT team. Your suggestion about keyless entry was also received and will be reviewed. It was indeed a pleasure to have you and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mazarooney68 wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom59 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
We wanted somewhere special to spend my husband's 60th Birthday and we were not disappointed with our choice. Our family of 4 spent 10 nights in this fabulous hotel. On arrival Ken showed us round the lush hotel grounds and took us to our 2 bedroom suite. There we had a cocktail and cold towel brought to us - the level of service is faultless. The beach is beautiful and I enjoyed using the lap pool too. We made use of the watersport facilities through Bob ,who always greeted us with a smile. When I wanted to book a catamaran trip, Natalie on reception was so helpful and Olinda and David always had a smile and a chat with us. In the restaurant Shaunette made our eggs each morning and we shared so much laughter with her. Great service too from Jamal and David. I had made a reservation for my husband's Birthday at The Tides restaurant back in February and was devastated a few days beforehand when I got an email to say the reservation had been cancelled. I spoke to Harold and he sorted it all out for me and we had a wonderful night there. Harold and Ken made my husband's 60th Birthday so special. Two gentlemen who are kind and patient and seem to genuinely care about the people they interact with They are an asset to the hotel. The daily sorbet at 1100 is a lovely touch and ensured my teenage son came out the bedroom to join us too! Those are the positive comments - now for the negative comment - we only had 10 nights!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales And Marketing, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Thank you for your five-star rating. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a glowing review! We were pleased to read your complimentary remarks regarding the team and the hotel. We were delighted to learn that the service you received was exceptional. On behalf of Mr. Flockhart and the entire team, it was indeed a pleasure to make your stay a memorable one, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$548 - US$1,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the sandpiper hotel saint james, sandpiper saint james, sandpiper hotel saint james, sandpiper barbados
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosSaint James ParishHoletown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SANDPIPER - UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Holetown, Barbados) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Sandpiper
Which popular attractions are close to The Sandpiper?
Nearby attractions include Best of Barbados Gift Shop (0.5 km), St. James Parish Church (0.2 km), and Holetown Beach (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sandpiper?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Sandpiper?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Sandpiper?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Sandpiper?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sandpiper?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nishi Restaurant, Fusion Rooftop, and The Mews.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Sandpiper?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Sandpiper have airport transportation?
Yes, The Sandpiper offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Sandpiper?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Sandpiper?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Andromeda Botanic Gardens (12.5 km), George Washington House (12.4 km), and Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club (12.6 km).
Does The Sandpiper have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.