We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Main Road Portion 1 of Farm 402, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820 South Africa
Vio.com
StayForLong
Agoda.com
Etrip
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#13 of 31 Specialty lodging in Tulbagh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Guinevere Guest Farm luxury self-catering farm house in Tulbagh, is located in the historic Land van Waveren Valley and is the ideal self-catering accommodation for a private group seeking luxury and comfort all under one roof. The farm house boasts spectacular 360-degree views of the surrounding Tulbagh Valley and mountains. Hidden away amongst the Renosterveld and Fynbos the farm house is exceptionally safe, secluded and private. This combination of natural splendour and exclusivity inevitably lends itself to create the perfect environment in which to relax and unwind with a large group of family or friends. The Guinevere Guest Farm luxury self-catering farm house in Tulbagh is only a 1.5 Hours' drive from Cape Town and is the ultimate self-catering farm accommodation and venue for a large private group in the charming Cape Winelands region!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
58Reviews0Q+A19Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 45
  • 11
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rene Brown wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
All the photos on the internet cannot describe this place. Neither can words. You have to go there to experience it. We were 10 people, easily accommodated. Huge kitchen, loads of space in the lounge and dining room as well as outside. Being summer we congregated around the swimming pool and entertainment area. The views are incredible from all corners of the house. Carly was amazing when it came to making the booking and Marko the housekeeping manager floated in and out quietly tidying up the kitchen when we weren't around. Very well equipped kitchen with dishwasher. If you have a family event to celebrate this is the place to do it. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Upstairs where the entertainment area and pool is
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Clare Jacobs wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
Stunning property, perfect for large groups of friends and family of all ages. Well equipped, clean and tidy, spacious rooms with amazing views, huge kitchen! Perfect for short break you really feel renewed can't believe so close to the city only 1.5 hours away. Felt very safe, spent most of the time outside by the braai! Definitely will go back soon. will be super cosy in the winter but amazing in the summer / clear days also with spectacular views and lots of exploring to be done on the grounds and surrounding areas. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. House manager stays close by to help with any niggles that might come up!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: check how many beds in the room, plenty available for couples and kids sharing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anthea C wrote a review Jun 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa364 contributions42 helpful votes
+1
A business team building saw 14 happy worker bees congregate to enjoy two (winter) days at this charming farmhouse. A comfortable setting, though upstairs rooms are super chilly in the evenings. I was lucky enough to have a fire place in my ground floor room which made for a perfectly toasty environment come night time. Gentle linen and plenty blankets supplied. A huge kitchen, entertainment area and central courtyard make it perfect for social engagement. A large yoga studio made for a nice surprise!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jaqui D wrote a review Dec 2017
Cape Town, South Africa233 contributions69 helpful votes
What a gem! I was invited to an all guys birthday bash. I normally do most of the cooking. This is the best kitchen I have worked in in terms of size, equipment and layout. The bedrooms are well appointed, spacious and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuinevereGuestFarm, Manager at Guinevere Guest Farm
Responded 5 Dec 2017
Dear Jaqui, Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad to hear that the kitchen catered to your needs and I hope we can accommodate you in the near future. All the best, Carly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen W wrote a review Oct 2017
1 contribution
I just returned home from the most blissful 4 day Retreat at Guinevere guest house. The Nature Retreat hosted by Carly, the owner of the guest house, was a well curated but relaxed experience. We foraged, we Yogaed, we gonged, we hiked, we were massaged, we ate DELICIOUS food, swam in rock pools and had Vedic astrology readings. Thank you @carly_naturefinds for the best possible start to a week. HIGHLY RECOMMEND:)))) xx
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JDJ wrote a review Oct 2017
3 contributions
From the moment you arrive this relaxed country villa oozes opulence. William is the best host. Lending a helpful hand where needed and making sure everyone is comfortable. So much space to enjoy different activities, be with friends or find a tranquil space to spend with your own thought. We loved it so much that we’re going back in the new year to celebrate our marriage with a very close group of friends. If the remote location is a concern, don’t fret, it’s only a 20min drive from a multitude of cafes, restaurants and all the wonderful wineries in the area. Do yourself a favour, find 10+ friends and book a relaxing weekend at this amazing venue!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuinevereGuestFarm, Manager at Guinevere Guest Farm
Responded 7 Oct 2017
Hi Juandre, Thank you for the lovely review. We appreciate the kind words and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your special day All the best
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaime-lee G wrote a review Sep 2017
Cape Town, South Africa14 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at Guinevere farm as a group of 14 adults from 13 - 15 September. The venue is absolutely lovely, it is very private with fantastic views. Everything was in great condition, and we felt that it catered very adequately for big groups (in terms of seating, chill areas, kitchen equipment). Marko was fantastic and really made our stay even more comfortable. One thing to note, the last 7km is a gravel road. The last 1-2km is a proper farm gravel road, best will be to not drive your sports car for the weekend:)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuinevereGuestFarm, Manager at Guinevere Guest Farm
Responded 19 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. All the best
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
_nicknelburg wrote a review Jul 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa2 contributions
Had a great time with a bunch of mates for my birthday weekend. The house suited us perfectly. We had everything we needed. Booking went smoothly and Marko was very helpful during our stay. We had all the privacy we needed and could keep the music going all hours which was great. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. the best part was the upstairs lounge area with pool table where we braaied, watched tv, played pool and hung out. Would definitely recommend to my friends for large group gatherings.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Leon L wrote a review Jul 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa204 contributions57 helpful votes
We recently ran a Yoga and Healthy Eating Retreat at this venue. My event organiser had previously been to the venue on another retreat more than a year ago and also during the winter months. Unfortunately nothing had changed in terms of how freezing cold the rooms are and yet little has been done to make the guests stay pleasant in terms of heating. There are small panel heaters in the room but we advised all our guests to bring their own heaters which they did. Unfortunately we then had major electricity issues with the plugs short circuiting regularly and this happened with only two plugs being used so the heaters were also pointless. Our national electricity provider (as bad as they are) were blamed by the Managing Director (MD) in her response to us when it was only the plugs not the entire electrical board that wasn't working. In fact the first night we had no hot water and the MD once again blamed the guests ("of your own doing. Someone in your party had left the hot water running in the sink at the upstairs bar for most of the night, which drained the one hot water geyser."). Our guests hadn't even used this room as we had only just arrived so we weren't talking about the next day, we were talking about the night we arrived. This is indeed a lie as one of the staff that work there told us there was an issue with one of the two geysers. Apart from the cold water, no electricity and general bad maintenance at the venue we had a more disturbing experience which was so badly managed that I feel it necessary to advise the public at large. During our last evening there was a break-in and someone had come through the one back door that had unfortunately had been left open by a staff member who openly admitted it and possibly an innocent mistake. We were grateful that we had a little Yorkie dog with us and if it wasn’t for her waking us up by barking and me having to shout out "who is there" and possibly scare them, as this intruder/s passed by our door, things could really have turned out badly. It was only when the intruder(s) opened the glass door that leads to the our bedroom suite and yoga studio that we woke up, thank goodness they hadn't gone upstairs first where all the guests were. This was indeed a rather frightening experience as we were the only two sleeping downstairs and these could have been armed intruders and now after shouting out we were concerned about our guests upstairs (one whose door didn't lock anyway as we found out afterwards). We called the staff member who stays on the premises to see if it was him walking around at 1am in the morning only to be told no it wasn't and he immediately came through with his colleague and found that someone had indeed entered the premises through the back door. This venue is in a very remote area of South Africa and with a very high crime rate griping South Africa currently and specifically on remote farms one would think that security would be a major concern. Obviously one cannot take every possible precaution especially if you haven't had any problems before however once something like this happens and you are informed you would expect the manager to be a little more empathetic to the guests ordeal and open to suggestions however it was once again blamed on us ("there is a certain responsibility that lies with the groups that enjoy the freedom that comes with Guinevere. We live in South Africa - and it is mind boggling that any responsible event manager would retire for the night without locking all the outside doors."). Even though the staff member told us he forgot to lock the door which we accepted we get told by the MD that it is our responsibility to lock the outside doors. There are lots of very old doors and so easy to break in whether locked or not but to blame the guests is another cop out. The police arrived about 15 minutes later and with guns out we searched the premises and thank goodness found nobody in the house. They then left and the staff member slept in the kitchen/lounge area where the open door was and I checked on him regularly as I felt for him. This all happened around 1am and as a result we had a very sleepless night jumping up with every noise and arming ourselves with a kitchen knife. All the guests were also woken by the police presence so it truly was a terrible evening on our last night of a what was supposed to be a relaxing Yoga Retreat. Obviously no-one was expecting this however one would expect a professional emphatic response from management however all we were told was that it was the guests fault and ours and we were responsible for the cold water, the electricity cutting out and what is 'mind blowing' is that we were responsible for someone breaking into the premises too, obviously we were shocked enough by the experience and then to be told that it was our responsibility was unbelievable. Then to top it all, we informed other parties that also hold retreats there of our experience and that they must get the venue to increase their security and that they are aware of this, only to be told "You have caused us further damage by not addressing your issues with us first, and admitting your own shortcomings, before contacting our loyal clients." We are not quiet sure of our 'shortcomings' and also not sure why the MD wouldn't want us to tell others clearly trying to hide things. If this was handled professionally the whole experience would have been different and this would never have transpired, however the response from management has been shocking and has left a very bad taste in our mouths and those of our guests so I will leave it up to you to make up your own mind but please do check with the venue as to what NEW security measures they now have in place for their guests before you visit this venue. Travel safe.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lindy_Jacobs wrote a review Jun 2017
Cape Town, South Africa20 contributions
We were greeted by William, what a wonderful guy, so friendly and professional. We were shown around and even learned a bit about the farms history. We could not believe all the things they do themselves on the farm, their own cheese, eggs, soap and even William's own wine! We had the privilege to experience Will's wine by the lovely indoor fireplace- absolute bliss. It was cold and raining the weekend, which was perfect for the amazing setting. We were even treated to an "earth to table" experience by Will's other half when they surprised us with a dinner- amazing!!! The room was perfect, so beautifully designed and decorated! We loved the view from our balcony! Breakfast the following morning was another incredible "earth to table" experience, absolutely amazing! Wish we could've stayed longer...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$497 - US$820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeWitzenberg MunicipalityTulbagh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GUINEVERE GUEST FARM - Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Tulbagh, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Guinevere Guest Farm
Which popular attractions are close to Guinevere Guest Farm?
Nearby attractions include Horse About Trails (5.5 km), Old Town Tulbagh (7.3 km), and De Oude Kerk (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Guinevere Guest Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Guinevere Guest Farm?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Guinevere Guest Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Guinevere Guest Farm?
Conveniently located restaurants include Readers Restaurant, The Olive Terrace, and Daphne's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Guinevere Guest Farm?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Guinevere Guest Farm?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.