We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howards Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howards Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howards Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 385: English reviews
NZ
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Clean, basic, warm room. Amenities clean, showers ggod, expensive wifi, location great for skiing and close to a few cafes and bars. Nice warm lounge with fire going. 200 charcters is too long as a min

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helenhpf
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. Good news is that wi fi is now FREE, National Park finally leaps into the 21st century. It's a load of our plates as well I assure you !

Thailand
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

worst motel throughout my life, rude and disgusting staff, please don't come, i am going to lodge a complain to the authority or police for the rudeness, disgusting and threatening service. i come in with a group of friends, so i am not sure wht had been converse between staff and my friend, and i came in early to check...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Wong Li Y
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

It's never pleasant to hear comments like yours but your own behaviour is the root of the problem. Being a paying guest is not a lciense for you to behave however you like. Far from arriving'early' as you say you were in fact here at 11.20 pm. At that point you began banging on our door (annoying but OK) as...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Great place to stay, best staff that made us feel welcomed! Highly recommend this place, apart from Grant & Rita, the other lady working there was super helpful, feel bad we forgot her name! We definetly looking forward to visit again soon! Williams family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne_Williams_Snow
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking then time to post a review. Always good to hear people had a good time with us and in the area. You'll be happy to know it's been nothing but more snow since you left and it goes on (and on) even as I type. That said, we hope to see you ehre again soon.

Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Lodge is located in an ok spot and it was very clean. That's all the positive things about the lodge. The owner isn't that friendly and terrible to deal with. The room was so dim that in the evening we had to use our phone flashlight. The lodge is so badly built that we could hear noises from all the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Aini Matilda A
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We accept that we didn't show you around when you arrived but please accept this was due to a "child crisis" behind the scenes and that normally you would have been given a tour. You should be a bit more honest though. You left after one night becasue (A)...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 June 2015

I think this place is fine to stay for one night, but I had to stay an extra night and do the crossing the next day because of bad weather. I wouldn't stay here longer than a day. Here are the cons I found: - very cold rooms. Only a bed warmer is provided to keep guests warm (no central...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah L
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I'm sorry you didn't like your stay with us but I must put you right about a few of your comments. It is unfair to say our charging for wifi is 'greedy'. Believe me that we are not sitting around here rolling in our wads of wi-fi cash. This is not...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 May 2015

Cute and cosy place to have a get-away-weekend. It is easy to do the walks when you can rent everything from the lodge. The staff is really friendly and helpful and flexible with breakfast hours :) Thank you! /Ann-Marie

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annmarie464
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 May 2015

I enjoyed my time at Howard´s Lodge. We arrived late at night to a heated room. We took the Xing package, which included two nights, transport to and from the Crossing, two breakfasts and a packed lunch. It was really great value. The lodge has a spa and the rooms were comfortable. My only issue was that the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeteVWellington
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Great place to stay. Simple, clean and friendly staff. We did the Tongariro crossing package which was well organised. Good central location in National Park, would stay there again. Food provided for trek was simple, tasty and healthy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fay A
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We stayed here when we did the Tongariro Crossing and found it excellent. It is a lodge so obviously it is quite basic accomodation but it was extremely clean. We purchased a deal with the breakfasts, packed lunch and transport to and from the Crossing all included. These were all excellent and surpassed our expectations. It also made things very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart-Cathie
Ritulya72, Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Stuart and Cathie, Thank you very much for your review of HML! Happy to know that you enjoyed your Tongariro Crossing Packages and had a comfortable stay at our lodge. We appreciate you giving us such a high rating - it means a lot to us. See you again in winter, perhaps?

Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

Great facilities and add-ons like easy transport to the crossing and huge big lunch to go. Really clean and quiet. Loved the personal touch and information about local cycle trails. Thanks! We'll be back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
Ritulya72, Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay at our lodge and we will be glad to see you again.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.7 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,487 reviews
13.1 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
413 reviews
25.7 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
484 reviews
0.3 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
235 reviews
0.4 km away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howards Mountain Lodge

Address: 43-45 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: €48 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howards Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Howards Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howards Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get the ensuite rooms , great value”
, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“book direct and ring with questions- there are more options than the website suggest.”
stuarto556, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loft rooms are great for bigger groups own a budget”
PhiliJSoul, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor in main building, mountain view!”
marcusJ965, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed over a quiet period, I would bring ear plugs during busy season as the outside doors were hard to shut quietly :)”
mrskask, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5