We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lapland Hotel Saaga

Save
Share
Iso-Yllaeksentie 42, Yllasjarvi 95980 Finland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (557)
Room & Suite (134)
Dining (21)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Yllasjarvi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Looking for a place to stay in Yllasjarvi? Then look no further than Lapland Hotel Saaga, a family-friendly spa that brings the best of Yllasjarvi to your doorstep.

Rooms at Yllas Saaga Hotel provide a flat screen TV, and getting online is easy, with free internet access available.

In addition, Lapland Hotel Saaga offers a pool and an on-site restaurant, which will help make your Yllasjarvi trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you’re looking for a cafe, consider a visit to Cafe Pasila, which is not far from Yllas Saaga Hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Lapland Hotel Saaga as you experience everything Yllasjarvi has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Skiing
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Ski In / Ski Out
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
Finnish
622Reviews88Q+A92Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 280
  • 232
  • 76
  • 26
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
FinnishMom wrote a review Apr 2021
Southwest Finland, Finland47 contributions55 helpful votes
First the positives: The location! Beutifully located on the bottom of the mountain, with ski-in access. The size of the family rooms in the top floor seem larger because the roof is high The spa area and saunas - a nice addition after skiing the whole day Great burgers & reindeer stew - food was good. But then, this hotel fails on details: -Walking up the stairs to the restaurant the stairs are full of dust - many places of this hotel are not cleaned with precision, i.e. The windows for the gym are dirty, our room shower wasn’t cleaned and the previous guests shampoos were left in the shower - we rented the ”VIP” sauna and literally NOTHING was V.I.P about it. They forgot to bring in towels, shampoos. The ambience is like a public swimming facility, showers were not warm enough and couldn’t change temperature. We ordered food to 8 people and they asked us if they could bring it in takeaway boxes (fine, but at least bring cutlery and not the wooden cutlery), they didn’t give us a drink list to preorder drinks to us (which would be easier to us and them) instead we had to go to the poolbar to order for 8 people. We ordered champagne for 75 eur and had to drink it from plastic red wine glasses. 🙄 - they brought the desserts at the same time as the main course - the dessert had ice cream in it...they put it in the fridge but a lot of it melted while eating the main. - my son found a plastic or glass sharp(ish) item in his mouth while eating the dessert. The restaurant compensated 1 dessert, 10 EUR for this mistake. I’d expected a much higher compensation and a big apology! My opinion is that this hotel would have so much potential to be a 4-5 star hotel, but settle on a level in their service, their attention to detail and their ability to react on claims that they don’t deserve more than 3*. Nyt rotia tähän hommaan, Saaga! Te osaatte jos vaan tsemppaatte vähän enemmän.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Hakamix wrote a review Feb 2021
Helsinki, Finland81 contributions59 helpful votes
We spent six days at this convenient hotel in Lake Ylläs district. Superior room with balcony was high and spacious, convenient beds, practical bathroom and location on the high floor of the main building. Nice view to Ylläs hill. Friendly, easy going and polite service both at reception and restaurant. We had our dinners at the restaurant. Because of Covid-19 there was only limited menu but it was enough for us. Delicious food! Breakfast was also good, wide variety of cold and warm food. Spa with saunas and jacuzzis was relaxing after skiing. Big space for parking, there was heating outlets for customers for free of charge. Downhill skiing slopes are very near the hotel but there is some 500/600 meters walk to cross country ski tracks. All the staff and also fellow customers had masks all the time. There was also masks and disinfection gel available and everybody took care of safe distances.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
carla-p-hols wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We are a family of 4 (children aged 5 and 7) and have just returned from a wonderful holiday staying at the Saaga Hotel. We booked through Inghams one of the 2 bed chalets in an attached block. Our 4th floor chalet was very well equipped, very clean, modern and spacious for a self catering stay. Skiing was brilliant, wide empty slopes and great to have lifts and ski school a 5 minute walk away and we were able to ski right back to our apartment block! It was great to have the hotel facilities available to us, kids loved the swimming pool (yes, it is a bit chilly) and free use of floats, woggles and sinkers was a right bonus! Good small gym on site too. Also a wellness centre but we never used it. The small grocery store has a rather random and eclectic mix of food and gifts, much better to head to the larger supermarket (50min walk or €17 taxi). Trips and excursions are expensive, as are the local and onsite restaurants, but I think that’s in keeping with most of Finland or the local area at least. But once in a lifetime type trips. Most important to note, there’s no local supermarkets to buy wine so either take with you or it’s only available in bars or restaurants!! I would definitely recommend this apart-hotel for a real get away from it all, fantastic snowy experience skiing on your doorstep type holiday.... if the French don’t beat you to it!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SaagaHotel, Shift manager at Lapland Hotel Saaga
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Carla, Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you had an amazing stay here in Saaga, and that you enjoyed skiing and spending time in our pool area. Hopefully this wasn't a once in a lifetime thing for your family, we would love to have you back! Have a lovely week! With best regards, Lapland Hotels Saaga
Read more
Maria E wrote a review Jan 2020
8 contributions11 helpful votes
Staying here now booked with inghams ski and was totally mislead about accomadation it is not suitable for families with young children. If your an apre skier great if your a family not great. Supermarket is a 15 euro taxi ride one way. We were told we could walk out door to snow..NO we are on 4th floor with no direct access to outside. Everything extremely expensive. Tried booking excursions etc prior to leaving but couldn't and now paying even more. Staff do not appear pleasant and tonight and tomorrow pool is closed kids disappointed. Would not recommend inghams or this hotel for families.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SaagaHotel, Front Office Manager at Lapland Hotel Saaga
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Hi Maria, Thanks for your feedback. Your opinion is important to us so that we can improve our services in future. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay in our hotel and apparently you haven't received enough information about the resort and hotel before arrival or the information you have had has been incorrect. We do have some rooms that has terrace and direct access to outside, but unfortunately all rooms can't have the terrace as we have rooms and apartments in several floors. We do put a lot effort for our customer service and are really sad to hear that you didn't found our staff pleasant. Unfortunately we had some problems with the chlorine in our pools for two days and are sorry that this happened during your stay. Luckily we were able to fix this after two days and didn't need to keep pools closed any longer. Hopefully we'll see you here as our guest one day in future and are able to give you more pleasant experience.
Read more
Gemma C wrote a review Jan 2020
cheshire2 contributions1 helpful vote
This was the first time we stayed at the Saaga Hotel, previous visits we have stayed in a log cabin. This is the first time we have taken the kids 6,8,10 so decided a hotel may have been more straightforward. We were a bit apprehensive as to what the facilities would be like, but can't fault the hotel at all. The reception staff were always smiling, helpful and happy to assist, apart from one but we didn't run into that individual frequently. The lady that checked us out went above and beyond to make the only negative situation we encountered, better. (Our sons teddy went missing following maid service, the hotel are still looking for it and have assured us if it is found they will forward it on, at checkout the lady offered my Son a teddy from the gift shop which made him feel better about leaving his behind.) Small but compassionate gesture made a huge difference. The rooms were clean. A touch basic but well maintained. We stayed Self Catering so were in the third Chalet Block. We lucky to have a corner room so have magnificent views everyday. Definitely a bonus to staying in a hotel set above ground level. The kitchen was well equiped, we had a small sauna and a drying cupboard which was a god send to dry the kids coats and sallopets daily. No washing machine, but I wouldn't have used it had there been one. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on food quality. Use of the pool area was part of our package with Inghams and was a nice alternative to break up sledging and playing in the snow. Never had any problems with Inghams as a provider. We would definitely book the hotel again. We didn't utilise any of the Ski facilities, the children's sledging area was great fun and we did take the Gondola tour to the top of the Fell which was mesmerising. We simply went to play in the snow for a week. Although the area is remote this adds to its charm. We managed a 45 min walk to the supermarket in Yllasjarvi and the bus back and we used the ski bus to Akaslompolo where the big supermarket is. Plenty of excursions to occupy yourself with, we only did the snowmobile family safari, but again, even that was amazing. Just a brilliant holiday. We would all happily have stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SaagaHotel, Front Office Manager at Lapland Hotel Saaga
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Hi, Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your whole stay and even your son was feeling good regardless the missing teddy. Hopefully he has enjoyed his time with the new teddy from our shop. We would love to have you back any time.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
yllas saaga hotel yllasjarvi
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Yllas Saaga
LOCATION
FinlandLaplandYllasjarvi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lapland Hotel Saaga
Which popular attractions are close to Lapland Hotel Saaga?
Nearby attractions include Arctic Secrets (7.9 km), Jemes Sport (0.2 km), and Akaslompolo Sportshop (7.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lapland Hotel Saaga?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lapland Hotel Saaga?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lapland Hotel Saaga?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lapland Hotel Saaga?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ravintola Rouhe, Poro, and Well - kitchen & northern cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lapland Hotel Saaga?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Lapland Hotel Saaga have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Lapland Hotel Saaga offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Lapland Hotel Saaga have airport transportation?
Yes, Lapland Hotel Saaga offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lapland Hotel Saaga?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lapland Hotel Saaga offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Lapland Hotel Saaga have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.