We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Memories Holguin Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Memories Holguin Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,063: English reviews
Whitby, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had read the reviews both positive and negative and so went to Memories Holguin Beach with some reservations. Well I'll tell you, please don't listen to any of the negative stuff. This resort was everything that we could have asked for. The staff is awesome, rooms are nice (standard for what you would expect in Cuba), very clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank likeditalot
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pros : - Nice beach and nice pools - Nice employees - The room was kept clean Cons : - Food is a real problem….no choice, not good or not available - No toilet flushing water for 24 hours and then, no hot water for another 24 hours - Out of 2 twin beds, 1 was ok and the second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MfCanada
General M, Director General at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, After reading your review, we would like to transmit you that we are sorry to know that we did not fulfill your expectations, we had an issue with the machine that provides water which is already solved, I am sorry that you didn't know that using USD in Cuba has an extra cost when you exchange it. Regarding...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a great Hotel with wonderful views. It is has a series of 3 story buildings throughout the property. The pool area has been built into a hill and done so very creatively. As the buildings are spread over the property there is a fair bit of walking. We loved it as we enjoyed the exercise. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank jimmyrocket2017
General M, Director General at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, On behalf of the management and the staff from Memories Holguin we would like to thank you for your positive comments about our Hotel. We hope that Memories Holguin will be your hotel in your next time to Cuba. We will do our best to make you have a wonderful stay. Best regards, Rodrigo López, Resident Manager

Scott, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

There was some concern ,after reading a few reviews, about this hotel because of it being built on a hill.I have severe arthrosus in my right ankle.I decided to go anyway.we arrived at night and the clerk gave us a room at the top of the hill. He also sai to contact Ricardo the next morning if I wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank bardsloh
General M, Director General at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear appreciated guest, On behalf of the Memories Holguin Beach Resort team we would like to thank you for your nice comments about your stay with us. Our staff has received your compliments and appreciates your effort, one more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience with us and other travelers. We will be...

London, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I must start with my experience but will comment on others we encounters issues. To start if you have mobility issues don't stay here. I was surprised to see so many with canes, walkers, wheelchairs waiting for knee surgeries unaware of the fact it has many stairs slopes. They apparently have had a golf cart service in the past that...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank crishj
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My family enjoyed the Memories resort outside of Holguin from January 31st to February 7th this year. My mother was a returning guest and a diamond club member so we got two, two bedroom suites in the center of the resort. The rooms were huge and comfortable. The mini bar was stocked at random times, but it was done daily....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sunshinejaye
General M, Director General at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is pleasant to receive such nice comments of your stay with us, the Memories Holguin team would like to thank you for your high punctuation and your recommendation to other travelers. We are glad to hear that you had a during your stay in our hotel, our main goal is to satisfy our guests and it is...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hello Just returned yesterday afternoon. Stay away , the reviews on here about the poor hotel are real. I normally do not do reviews but have been reading about other people saying relax your on vacation but when you have a family of five people the price gets a little pricey. Not to have the basics as water and then...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Corrie S
General M, Director General at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, After reading your review, we would like to transmit you that we are sorry to know that we did not fulfill your expectations. Regarding the water issue, we are really sorry but this is not common in our hotel it was an inconvenient we had with the machine that provides hot water. We are very surprised to read...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a Vacation.....RELAX You have to take problems with a grain of salt. Especially in CUBA. Main water supply broke, no water across resort for entire day. It's not the Hotels fault, relax. Don't plug the toilets!!!!. No hot water on most days starting in the afternoon to late evening. Take a cold one, it won't kill you, it's quite...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank -Mikester-A-
General M, Director General at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, After reading your review, we would like to transmit you that we are sorry to know that we did not fulfill all your expectations and for the water inconveniences, although you enjoyed our service and staff. We work every day in order to improve our service and your suggestions are always welcome, thank you for your valuable time...

Whitby, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Travelled to Memories Holguin from Feb 1-Feb8. All went well except we had problems getting hot water. Eventually we found out that you had to leave the hot water tap(s) running for a long time....up to half an hour...to get hot water. Presumably it was some distance away. Staff were excellent on all counts. The Cuban restaurant near the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Steve K
General M, Director General at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you having chosen our hotel as your holidays destination, we are very sorry for the inconveniences you may had to get hot water, we had some issues with the machine that provide it. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you will come back. Kind regards, Rodrigo López, Resident Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here Jan 31 to Feb 7 2017. I was impressed by all of the staff within the hotel. Rooms are nice size with balcony. The maids ensured our room was immaculate on a daily basis and the fridge refiled with water everyday. The food was very good, every night had something different to choose from. Roasted turkey one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wilderness R
General M, Director General at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear appreciated guest, On behalf of the management and the staff from Memories Holguin we would like to thank you for your positive comments about our Hotel. We hope that Memories Holguin will be your hotel in your next time to Cuba. We will do our best to make you have a wonderful stay. Best regards, Rodrigo López, Resident Manager

2,208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2179)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (607)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (461)
Viewed
Dining (217)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (725)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rafael Freyre
3.9 km away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,290 reviews
2.4 km away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,417 reviews
3.1 km away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
#2 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4,137 reviews
588.8 km away
Grand Memories Varadero
Grand Memories Varadero
#33 of 63 in Varadero
1,721 reviews
368.7 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
5,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to the lush paradise of Holguin, Cuba and enjoy a wonderful stay at the Memories Holguin. Resting on beautiful Yuraguanal Beach, this impressive and charming all inclusive resort is the perfect place for families, couples, and singles alike. Memories Holguin features affordable accommodations with great amenities. Enveloped by lush foliage and tropical vegetation, Memories Holguin harmonizes perfectly with the natural environment. The hotel's main guestrooms are decorated with vibrant, tropical colours, and feature signature Memories amenities to ensure the height of comfort and style. Guests of all ages will delight in the abundance of activities and entertainment that run day and night along with several spectacular pools. Holguin beaches of white sand are among the most beautiful in the Atlantic ocean described by Christopher Columbus himself as "the eyes of the most beautiful country that man has ever seen." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Memories Holguin Beach Resort

Address: Carretera a Guardalavaca S/N | Playa Yuraguanal, Rafael Freyre 82200, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Price Range: €104 - €218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Memories Holguin Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Memories Holguin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Playa Turquesa Hotel Holguin
Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa Hotel
Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa Cuba
Grand Playa Turquesa Cuba
Memories Holguin Beach Resort Cuba/Holguin Province
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Memories Holguin Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
760 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (760)

Questions? Get answers from Memories Holguin Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Diamond club”
 of 5 bubbles weiler2016, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in the 700 block section which initially seems far away but there are short cuts that actually make it a very good location.”
 of 5 bubbles bharrell269, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As close to lobby as possible!!!”
 of 5 bubbles mrsniksimon, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“choose a room near pools and lobby near 700”
 of 5 bubbles lilyb4ever, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“500 and 400 are close to Beach 100 -300 close to noisey pools Diamond Club not worth it . You don,t get anything more .”
 of 5 bubbles joannemC5973MQ, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5