We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Langenhof Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Langenhof Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Langenhof Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

Really not value for money. Overpriced and mediocre service. Room was small and cramped. I thus dont recommend de langenhof at all. What a disapointment, considering what we were expecting for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michal B
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Michal I am sorry that you thought we were overpriced.. Kind regards Gail & Mike

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Mike and Gail, thank you for a wonderful stay. You are truly blessed to stay in such a beautiful and peaceful place. Thank you for sharing it with us. I can really recommend this guest house. It has a beautiful garden and our room was stunning. Breakfast is served on the veranda overlooking the garden, both the view and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleLC1
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks, Michelle We look forward to hosting you again All the best Gail & Mike

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Friendly, comfortable, beautiful gardens and ideally suited in the Riebeck valley. Had the pleasure of staying at De Langenhof while doing business in the surrounding areas however I will definitely return for a weekend get away. Excellent selection of wine and olive farms nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marxio2015
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks, Marxio We look forward to hosting you again All the best Gail & Mike

East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We recently had the pleasure to spend time at De Langenhof Guest House. Very peaceful. Hospitality superb. Good nights sleep and wonderful breakfast. Noticed all the finer details that go to give this establishment 4 stars. Will return and certainly recommend. Thank you so much Gail and Mike.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glyn_5B
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Glyn & Vince Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. We look forward to hosting you again in our lovely valley. All the best Gail & Mike

Franschhoek, South Africa
Reviewed 15 September 2015

My wife and I stayed for two nights recently and found the whole experience thoroughly enjoyable. After a warm and hospitable welcome we had a lovely, spacious and comfortable room, and excellent breakfasts. It was very relaxing and just what we needed, thank you Mike and Gail.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank errolcunnama2015
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Errol & Margie Thank you so much for the lovely review; we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to host you again at some future date. All the best Gail & Mike

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We stayed for one evening, as we were attending the Swartland Skou in Moorressburg. Very clean and neat with a warm and hospitable atmosphere.The breakfast was absolutely amazing; perfectly cooked eggs with just the correct amount of crisp on the bacon. Delicious Pomegranate juice was served and at my request a full pot of Earl Grey tea was made for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarlaFleischmann
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Karla Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. We look forward to hosting you again in our lovely valley. All the best Gail & Mike

cape town
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

I had a very good stay. Mike and Gail treated me with so much respect. Thank you for your amazing hospitality and taking such good care of me. Coming to my room after a long uncomfortable day working, felt like I was simply coming home. Gail thank you for the amazing referrals to the amazing restaurants in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 13going
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Charmaine Thank you very much for you lovely comments. You were a pleasure to host and we hope to see you again next year when you go to the Moorreesburg show. All the best Gail & Mike

Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed overnight attending a wedding nearby, receiving a warm welcome on arrival. Nice comfortable room. Well appointed, neat and clean. Breakfast was great, better than most 5⭐️hotels. Perfect poached eggs. Good supporters of the green initiative and supporting local business. Owners were helpful and informed of what happens in the area. What a great and relaxing experience. Like home...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EugeneFrancois
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review

Apologies for my very belated response; thank you for the lovely review. All the best Gail

Reviewed 21 May 2015

We spent a night at the accommodation in May 2015 to celebrate our anniversary. The accommodation was a real disappointment and certainly is not deserving of 4 stars. The gardens were very run down and not well kept. Our room over looked an untidy garden and we had views of a old boxes and the guest house storage. Further the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jane H
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jane As mentioned in an email, I am sorry you had a disappointing experience at our guest house. I apologised verbally when we gave Paul soaps, and apologised by email in response to your email about the boxes. In this email I explained the reason for the boxes; these have now been removed. I do not appreciate your attempt...

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 21 April 2015

We stayed the weekend at the guesthouse for a friend's wedding. We received a warm welcome at candle light, amid load shedding. The room was clean, tidy and had all the necessary amenities, including a special chocolate treat. Special care is taken to make each guest feel at home and the breakfast was delicious! The surrounding area is quite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marietha10

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek-West
4.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
278 reviews
0.1 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
279 reviews
0.1 km away
Dennehof House
Dennehof House
#3 of 5 in Riebeek-West
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Church Hills Boutique Guest Accommodation
5.2 km away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#2 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
105 reviews
5.2 km away
The Victorian Cow
The Victorian Cow
#4 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the picturesque Riebeek Valley, approximately an hour's drive from Cape Town. This elegant country accommodation is set in a mature garden with restful water features and ample space for quiet reflection. Beautifully decorated en-suite rooms are fitted with quality linen, air-conditioning, Satellite TV & DVD players. Enjoy breakfast on the veranda. Relax at the large pool and quaint pool house in summer, and in the comfortable lounge by the fireplace in winter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Langenhof Guest House

Address: 18 Lang St | Western Cape, Riebeek-West 7306, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek-West
Price Range: €60 - €67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Langenhof Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Langenhof Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from De Langenhof Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Terrace rooms give more freedom for those who like openness, but if you're only sleeping there, it doesn't matter much.”
PhillipKit, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms are lovely and have beautiful view of the garden”
, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 had a standard 1.5m/4'6" bed and plenty of room for two”
840mervync, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were in a garden suite”
Henristrand, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Luxury Garden Room”
snuggles032016, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5