We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Solscape

Hostelworld.comUS$42*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Solscape
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Solscape
See the most recent reviews
Showing 183: English reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stayed within the camping grounds and pitched a tent. The resort is very eco-minded and rustic, showers were mostly cold and the outdoor cooking facilities were fairly average. The main building was very nice and comfortable and could accommodate large groups. Fantastic views and chill

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. When we get several consecutive days of grey weather the solar heated showers in the Camping area struggle to get up to temperature. The solar heated showers in the caboose area facilities would have been hot as that system has electric backup. Unfortunately summer is a bit late to arrive this year.

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Myself and my partner have spent the Christmas and New Year period at solscape in an unpowered van site. On first impressions Solscape seems quirky and relaxing with amazing views from reception. The view was definitely the highlight with a nice deck to sit on. As for the rest of this site, very crowded and over rated. The van and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmblagg
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

A chilled out 'eco' lodge with decent showers, large kitchen and nice terrace overlooking the beautiful setting. Rooms are in old train carriages, fun experience but pretty crowded in our 6-bed dorm to fit bags etc in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The room we stayed in was a train carriage which was great until we came back to our room after dark and it was crawling with bugs - cockroaches and such. It also had no plugs to charge phones/cameras and no heating or aircon. You also had to pay $10 for 24 hours of wifi, bit of a rip off....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trelawnyhand
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your time at Solscape. Some points that you make are fair enough but some are simply inaccurate. Wifi - There is free Wifi in our cafe/reception area with any purchase from the cafe and the Wifi that is available in the rooms is provided by a third...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Huge thumbs up for the management at Solscape. Rated the coldest and wettest weekend of the NZ winter, we had a power cut in our unit. In the Cold, wet and dark, we contacted the night manager Phil. He was there within 10 min and even though the power cut was out of their control, due to the stormy weather,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisaboi
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. That was a wild night indeed! Hope to see you again soon!

Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Well, it's minimalist, has eco-aims and quirky places to stay in. The downside is that it was damn freezing overnight in the old rail truck with a broken heater, the eco-sewage system reed beds outside the door created the sort of smell I'd rather flush away, and it's a damn long walk to the toilet in the middle of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viragored
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Sorry that your heater was out of order. Did you mention that or the smell issue to a staff member as they would have moved you to a warmer spot.

Campbell, California
Reviewed 3 July 2016

This was the 2nd time I stayed here and sadly, probably the last. Great location and a quick drive down to the wave which is the real attraction, but I forgot about the volunteers until I arrived again. There are a lot of volunteer around the place who clean kitchens and scrub toilets for free accommodations. Free labor for the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank coffeeandpeace
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and I'm sorry to hear that you had a negative time with Volunteers. You'll be pleased to know that we have all but stopped hosting volunteers primarily for this reason. While most are lovely and respectful people we would get some that fit the description you lay out in your review. Hope you'll give us another...

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Quirky. Toilets wasted a lot of water for a "eco" friendly place, and guests did not follow recycling rules. Filled with happy, international 20-somethings. Staff not all that knowledgeable about earthbag buildings on property. Uncomfortable bed in cute rail car.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thanks for your review.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 June 2016

My experience at Solscape was therapeutic! I am a Washington DC Native living in Hamilton, and I needed to get away to clear my mind and work on a paper for my studies. The views are beautiful, and accommodation was lovely. When I talked with the receptionist on the phone, I expressed that I would like to have a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinemcroner
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Yes ... the diversity of peoples that come through Solscape are a big part of the experience. Thanks for sharing.

Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

I was recommended to stay at Solscape by a Kiwi friend - the spectacular view and friendly reception staff all lived up to my high expectations. Unfortunately, everything else at Solscape fell flat during my stay. The cafe is closed in off season, so come prepared with your own food. The kitchen was large and well stocked, but was overrun...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blair E
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that our staff treated you well but sorry to hear that the volunteers did not. Due to this type of experience we have recently all but stopped the volunteer program. Again I am sorry that you didn't have a great experience but I am confident that with the changes we have made...

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raglan hotels
4.7 km away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
5.2 km away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
134 reviews
4.5 km away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
1.8 km away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
231 reviews
14.3 km away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Diverse eco accommodations from beautifully simplistic to luxurious with options to suit all budgets - each lightening our ecological footprint. Our self-contained options offer a comfortable stay with private facilities for couples, families or small groups. For those happy to share facilities take your pick from recycled railway cabooses and earth domes or experience glamping in our Tipi Forest Retreat set in native bush. The Te Ao Whanga Eco Camp provides a limited number of tent and van sites with solar heated showers and an indoor-outdoor kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Solscape

Address: 611 Wainui Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Price Range: €35 - €49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Solscape 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Solscape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solscape Hotel Raglan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Solscape staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Solscape staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check out their web site.”
HaljoHal, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lots of hippie types”
stephentK7644BH, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are camping just go to a camp ground.”
lmblagg, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else, unless you want a cold ex-railway wagon or bunk house”
Viragored, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Free wifi and other amenities at main area, 5 minutes walk away. Closed over winter.”
RobinEsme, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$42* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates