We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sable House Country Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Sable House Country Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful view of the Roodeplaat dam, great escape away for a weekend to a fantastic place in the bush. The rooms are very nice. Self catering unit or u can eat at the restaurant. The people are very friendly and welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank Gustav N
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We attended a wedding at the nearby Bel Amour and managed to secure a double room for an overnight stay at Sable House. Beautiful location and very clean and professional service. We were especially delighted with the full English breakfast served before we returned to Johannesburg. Very highly recommended with excellent security too.

Helpful?
Thank wendyandgary2014
Albertton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Where do I start, I think the only word I can use is WOW. What a weekend. We had a fantastic time and still can’t believe how well everything was organised. From the moment we arrived and went straight into the apartment, flowers in full view, champagne on ice and the fire already lit !!! Every little detail was taken... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 584kurtg
Sable H, General Manager at Sable House Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice positive feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Regards Management More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This was a wonderful week breakaway from our busy schedule visiting from America. From the friendly security staff at the gate to the welcoming ladies at the office and let's not forget the helpful helpers unpacking our luggage. We stayed at the self catering units and they were beautifully furnished with everything you might need. We enjoyed the security tremendously,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hester M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

It was a positive experience from the first engagement via email to make our booking. We arrived late on Sunday and was pleasantly surprised by the level of security and even took some pics of the guards praying before their shift. We were greeted by Leonie at Sable House and she briefed us on all the activities etc. Our room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank angeliquej2016
Sable H, General Manager at Sable House Country Retreat, responded to this review

Good day It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback. Yes we had some complaints from the new security system at the gate, but are glad to hear that some guests appreciate the high level of security we have at the estate. After all we are not just looking after guests at the guesthouse but over 250 families... More 

Kwambonambi, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2015

A stunning tranquil venue with large quantities of bird life and wildlife roaming free in the estate was unfortunately marred by poor service. We had booked a room so as to be close to a nearby wedding venue. On arrival we discovered that the Retreat had not communicated with Estate Security and that roughly 10 minutes and a producing of... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndrewatKwambo
Sable H, Manager at Sable House Country Retreat, responded to this review

Good day Thank you very much for your response, we always appreciate feedback from our guests and will definitely have a look at all your comments. We have installed mosquito lights to help minimize that problem, but we are next to the dam and you cannot avoid them completely. We will look into the other matters and address them ASAP.... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2015

We made our booking way in advance because we had a wedding close by, just before the wedding we were asked to resend the quote, and well as the proof of payment, because there was a change of system. Arrived to check in but there was no one around, luckily i stumbled upon a very helpful lady in the office... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rusermi
Sable H, General Manager at Sable House Country Retreat, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review, we always appreciate any feedback. I apologize for the headboard and water damage and we tried to fix the problem as quickly as possible when it came to my attention that morning when we took down the headboard. Our air-cons have a save mode when their is an electricity cut/dip hence the reason... More 

pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2014

We booked for one night to relax and enjoy the surrounding dam and trails. The room was picture perfect on arrival and the dinner served in the suite was delicious. The wild Kudu's that visited us during the night was indeed beautiful and relaxing. We enjoyed the super swimming pool and saw a lot of animals during our self drive... More 

Helpful?
Thank zookPretoria
Cape Town
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014

The two bedroom unit we have stayed in was tastefully furnished and we have had a comfortable overnight stay. The mattress and linen in my bedroom was good quality resulting in a good night's rest. The aircons in the rooms were very welcome since it was a hot weekend. Pity that there is no aircon in the lounge area. Although... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel-CPT
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked with friends for a weekend away and were pleasantly surprised with this resort. Indeed a nice stay as the service from the booking to goodbyes was very precise. The unit was clean and spacious - our stay also included a boat ride on the Roodeplaat dam (fun) and the food served on our patio was an added treat... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karin_O909

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roodeplaat
5.3 km away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#18 of 73 in Pretoria
128 reviews
5.0 km away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#9 of 73 in Pretoria
140 reviews
7.1 km away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#8 of 73 in Pretoria
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gabbata Lodge
Gabbata Lodge
#2 of 3 in Roodeplaat
7 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is the experience you have been looking for. Sable House Country Retreat is a luxurious 4 Star Country Retreat, where game still roams freely is situated in Sable Hills Waterfront Estate, where security is noted as some of the best and always there at your service. Sable House Country Retreat is set in beautiful, serene surroundings on the banks of the Roodeplaat dam. For your dream wedding, we offer it all: Stunning Venue, Delicious Catering, Accommodation for all guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sable House Country Retreat

Address: 7 Elandstreet | Sable Hills Waterfront Estate, Kameelfontein, Roodeplaat 0131, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Roodeplaat
Price Range: €81 - €121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sable House Country Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sable House Country Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the Rooms in the Self-catering wing. The views are to wonderful as these face the Dam/Lake”
  • Hotel Buildings
  • Room with Access to Balcony
  • Main Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles Sanchinho, 1 Apr 2013 | Read review
1 of 1