We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kandyan Manor

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Kandyan Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of The Kandyan Manor
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you are looking for a cozy Home stay experience in historical City of Kandy, This is the place to be. In addition to yummiest home made dishes, the hospitality of the this family is out of this world. Let me be honest, If you want 5 start luxury, don't go here, but for me, who seek non 'Hotel' environment,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gamika D
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have spent 2 nights in this beautiful and peaceful place and it was hard to leave it. The Manor is amazing, very vibrant and authentic, and the owners are incredibly nice and helpful, they made us feel home. The entire place calls for calm and harmony. It is not easy to find, like every piece of Paradise :), but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karelle B
essex
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Quite difficult to find as no sign from the main road, but when we did find it after our driver went passed it four times we found a nice old house with a pleasant garden.Very welcoming on arrival and whilst we were very early the host made our room available quickly. Big family room with plenty of space to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul087
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We have been staying at the Kandyan manor last December. First we had a warm and lovely welcome by Suzy, Bhatiya and all the family who made sure we had a pleasant time throughout our stay. The manor itself is extremely charming. There is a breathtaking garden where a beautiful chalet is located. The room we had was not only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taziana C
rambukwella, Owner at The Kandyan Manor, responded to this review

Thank you Taziana, its was indeed a pleasure to have hosted you and Maziyah, we enjoyed every moment spent with you two. Thank you again for visiting us. We wish you all a very happy New year and a wonderful 2017. God bless. See you all soon hopefully.

Reviewed 5 January 2017

The kandyan manor is placed in an idyllyic location - it's a homestay and there are outside chalets for rent. The staff and owners all seemed very nice and accomodating. On our final day, however, I checked my luggage (locked in the room) and I found that £130 had been stolen. As this property is far away from the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dane S
rambukwella, Owner at The Kandyan Manor, responded to this review

Dear Dane, As I have replied your mom Suzanne for her review. my reply remains the same to you as well. However its very surprising to hear that you noticed your bags were pulled a few days after you had left our home. if you had noticed your bags pulled whilst packing then this could have been investigated. Once you...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights at the manor and had a blast! Suzanne and Bhathiya are both amazing and make sure that you feel at home and share all their good tips. The manor, which sits right outside of the city centre, is a splendid house decorated with taste and allows you to have restful nights away from the city noise....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Geneva
rambukwella, Manager at The Kandyan Manor, responded to this review

Dear Derek, Thank you, And we are very happy to know that the two of you had a great time at the Kandyan Manor. It was indeed a pleasure. Hope to see you soon. Brgds, Suzy

huddersfield
Reviewed 1 January 2017

beautiful place and lovely owners , clean and pretty chalets . very relaxing garden and area. unfortunately my son had £130 stolen from his room i was really hoping he had just misplaced the money but that wasnt the case , it was our first family xmas for 4 years as my son lives in china the money was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suzanne n
rambukwella, Owner at The Kandyan Manor, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne, just read your review and based on what you have written and what happened on the day of your departure, we offered to bring this to the notice of the tourist Police and take immediate action. However, you and your son were not happy to do so, this way this could have cleared this issue. The first and...

Sri Jayawardenepura, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 11 December 2016

A beautiful cozy place in a hideaway little village. Calm and quiet and the most relaxed place. The mornings are so beautiful with the fresh weather, The chalet in the garden is colourful and very cosy with clean linen. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is very tasty and a must try. Simple but worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valerieswaz
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the most comfortable, friendly, homestay in kandy. I booked in the chalet in the garden. It's was beautifully decorated with vibrant colors surrounded with lush green nature. The chalet was cozy very clean and had an open air 'en suit' bathroom. U wake up the next day with a good nights sleep listening to all the birds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ishika R
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

As a resident in Kandy, I heard about the cookery class offered here by Suzanne, who I am told has won a prize for her talents! We started with a tour of the grounds and surrounding paddy fields - very interesting to see plants such as cocoa and pepper in their natural form. We then had a walk round the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ellie J

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katugastota
2.2 km away
Manor House Kandy
Manor House Kandy
#25 of 54 in Kandy
173 reviews
5.3 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
970 reviews
4.3 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.9 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
325 reviews
2.6 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kandyan Manor is a traditional Walauwa, built more than 110 years ago, in the hills of Kandy, a world heritage site. Now managed by the 4th generation, it is a truly peaceful setting complemented by a five and a half acres of shrub jungle,in a typical hill country, rural environment, amidst green woods. The Kandyan Manor has an alluring cozy atmosphere in tranquil surroundings, ideal to unwind and enjoy a relaxed holiday. The area is a paradise for bird watchers to listen to the chirps and songs at sunrise and observer a large variety of rare and colourful birds, a mini nature walk for the hill walker (trekker) and naturalist, village scenery for the artist and a grand view of the Hunasgiriya peak for photographers. Hosts, Bhathiya and Suzy Ratwatte, and their staff assure you of comfort, convenience and hospitality, providing delicious home made meals, cooked in the traditional way on fire wood. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kandyan Manor

Address: Rambukwella Walauwa | Yatiwawala, Katugastota, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Katugastota
Price Range: €28 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kandyan Manor 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kandyan Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Kandyan Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want more privacy you can ask for one of the rooms next to 'the big house', because the family uses the big house also.”
DanielleMarjorie, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The bedrooms in the main house are much larger than the cabins, but not quite as private, so it depends on your priorities.”
melano, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The bottom cabana is very private and has a fridge, you also get the pleasure of hearing all the amazing jungle life while you sleep!”
katew281, 23 Jan 2015 | Read review
“we loved the bungalow next to the garden.”
747brendanm, 6 Sep 2014 | Read review
“I would expect the rooms in the main house to be a better choice. Closer to everything, particularly the hosts etc. I was offered the chance of moving but we were not there long enough to be bothered.”
976stever, 8 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates