We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The New Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The New Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 339: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

we arrived late so couldn't sample dinner but were greeted by a very friendly host who took her time to explain the range of beer on tap at the bar. And very nice ale too.... Our room was clean and tidy and although not that modern had a nice charm to it. The bathroom could have done with a refurb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wallyofthesouth
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Wallyofthesouth Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you have seen we also love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We take on board your comments, we are due to embark on a major renovation this year which...

Worcester
Reviewed 18 October 2016

As we were on holiday, we called ahead to The New Inn to check that they were happy to heat up baby food before the six of us visited for an evening meal. We were told that they could provide this service and so we booked a table. When we turned up at 6, half an hour before we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazseptember
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi kazseptember We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your short time with us. We pride ourselves on providing a traditional warm Yorkshire welcome. We are sorry that on this occasion we haven't matched your expectations. We have taken on board your comments and will discuss internally.

Lincs
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This is the 2nd year that I have visited this pub for the Adventure Bike Riders motorcycle rally.Ample camping with very basic facilities in the field next to the pub.They serve decent food although a little bit expensive. Plenty of choice of beers. The Yorkshire Classic bitter is very good.Pickering is about 4.5 miles away and well worth a visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Nick B Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

garden of england
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights whilst attending the Pickering War Weekend. The pub is ok, needs a lick of paint to tidy things up in places but on the whole it's a quaint country pub. The staff are very friendly although they did seem a bit stressed over the weekend saying they were slightly short staffed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susieanna07
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi susieanna07 Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the War Weekend, it is always a busy and enjoyable weekend. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back, the brewery tour is well worth doing.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Huge array of beers all brewed just behind the Inn. Brewery visit OK. Food good honest, taste, traditional British pub grub. Pity I was driving, but sampled some of the bottled beer later which was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmwardle
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi davidmwardle Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed the brewery tour and food. We hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 13 October 2016

We had a great time at the New Inn Brewery tour it was very informative followed by some free tasting of different beers brewed there, then a very nice lunch and even samples to take home Also plenty of car parking space

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
Phil L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Alan W Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your tour of the brewery. We hope to see you back again soon.

Nottingham
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Lovely old pub. We had an interesting tour of the brewery and enjoyed sampling the beer afterwards. The evening meal and breakfast the following day were both excellent. The accommodation is a bit dated and our bed definitely needed a new mattress! Having said that we'd certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pat D
Phil L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Pat D Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in the brewery so we're pleased you enjoyed it too. We hope to see you back again soon.

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We can not rate this Inn highly enough, everything from the staff - food - drink - brewery tour was such an enjoyable experience with such lovely friendly people and also good weather even in October. Rooms are a bit dated but that was all part of the weekend fun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19ratbag58
Phil L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi 19ratbag58 Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

I visited this pub yesterday.i have visited many times we always enjoy the Yorkshire lager .the young man was polishing the brass around the bar with brass of unfortunately he didn't wash his hands so it spoilt my drink.the lager is always crisp and refreshing staff and locals are friendly and good car parking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
Phil L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Julia H Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your drink with us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Under the circumstances the staff managed to supply a great meal for 6 of us, despite being the busiest night of the year. We had hoped that our party of 6 and two dogs would be able to find a quiet corner of the bar, but thankfully the landlord had reserved us a table in the conservatory - unbeknown to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Will_Of_The_North
Phil L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Will_Of_The_North Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cropton
6.4 km away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
638 reviews
15.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,422 reviews
38.0 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
71 reviews
2.3 km away
The Moors Inn
The Moors Inn
#1 of 1 in Appleton le Moors
189 reviews
10.0 km away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Inn is a traditional, relaxed, family run pub based in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors. We pride ourselves on offering quality food, drink and accommodation, with an atmosphere you can escape to and thoroughly enjoy. We offer a delicious, varied menu, which is made with mouth-wateringly good, home-cooked food from the best local ingredients. You can be sure of good pub grub whether you fancy a bite to eat at lunch or an evening meal in our bar or restaurant. If you would like to extend your stay and enjoy our relaxing atmosphere for longer we offer both B&B and self-catering accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: The New Inn Main Street, Cropton YO18 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Cropton
Price Range: €94 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Pickering
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The New Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The New Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We shared a twin room - it was nice, clean and tidy but problems with mobile”
 of 5 bubbles Best-of-Tel, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor less noise from creaking floor boards”
 of 5 bubbles U2053SKalanm, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay. Probably OK though.”
 of 5 bubbles D7385SCjohnn, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 over looks the road but the double-glazing keeps it quiet and there are lovely views of the pub garden and beyond.”
  • Views from Cropton Banks
  • View from our room (6)
 of 5 bubbles Landolas, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“consider hiring the cottage or requesting a room at ground level”
 of 5 bubbles amc19652015, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5