We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cocos Castaway

Certificate of Excellence
27/06/2017 28/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Cocos Castaway
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Start your review of Cocos Castaway
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room looked out onto the Ocean, most of the beaches had only our footprints that day. "As luck would have it" Determination day on Home Island was my birthday too. They laid on a feast for all,with a sports day and local dancing after lunch. The trip of a lifetime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petesully2013
Annelies F, Owner at Cocos Castaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hope you will return one day the experience the Cocos hospitality again.

Melbourne
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's quite a journey to fly to Cocos Island, Australia's westernmost territory and on arriving I really felt like I should get a medal or some sort of lei! However it was worth every cent and travel mile to visit such a unique atoll in the middle of the Indian Ocean. Google images don't lie - the beaches, blue gel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fabes74
Annelies F, Owner at Cocos Castaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your informative and positive review. We hope you will visit our little paradise again for an anniversary.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We Booked our accomodation in cocos islands via Virgin Australia package deal. Stayed in Cocos Castaway Vila. The room was very clean with comfortable beds and there were kitchen appliances available for cooking. Make sure you bring your food ingredients to the island as the food quality and options in the islands are very poor. Owner was very kind and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pardiss21
Annelies F, Owner at Cocos Castaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and your helpfulness at check out time. We hope you will be able to visit the islands again.

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed in Cocos for six days, was stranded due to cyclone. However, it was the best thing happened in my life. Not many people know about this place and that's what makes it unique. You have lots of privacy in this tranquil place. Don't expect restaurants and cafes !!!! Not a place for massages & eating luxury.... if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
Annelies F, Owner at Cocos Castaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hopefully you will visit our beautiful islands again in a different season, without the risk of cyclones.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 February 2017

My partner Eva and I travelled to Cocos Keeling to scuba dive and we were absolutely delighted with the scuba diving and equally with our accommodation at Cocos Castaway. The fun started the minute we walked out of the airport. On being greeted by our host Annelies and Dieter from Cocos Dive we then rolled our luggage trollies the 150...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philiptubb
Annelies F, Owner at Cocos Castaway, responded to this review

Thank you both for your kind review. It was a pleasure observing how much you enjoyed our little piece of paradise. Looking forward to your return.

Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

My sister and I stayed with our parents in a two bedroom single story apartment. There aren't many places in the world where accommodation right next to the airport is a good thing, but this is one. Pretty much everything on West Island is next to the airport, which means that you are 15 seconds away from your room when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edmo1066
Annelies F, Owner at Cocos Castaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your informative review. Our beautiful islands are indeed the place to put all your worries behind you and just relax.

Canberra
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Was on Cocos for work. Stayed at Castaway and it was fantastic. Neat and tidy room, comfortable bed, well equiped kitchen (even had picnic stuff), washing machine and view of the beach from the deck. Beautiful beaches all around - a must do the motorised kayak with Kylie and Ash - the snorkelling and beaches will blow u away.i I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ralee21
Annelies F, Owner at Cocos Castaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad to read your toothbrush made it's way back to you.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We had a great stay at Castaways - beautiful little self contained room, a few foot steps to the beach and right in the heart of the small community! It had everything we needed during our stay and no disturbances!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
Annelies F, Owner at Cocos Castaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 23 January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Graham and Anneliese at Cocos Castaway, any more relaxed and I may have been unconscious! The villa was terrific, fantastic view, clean with that nice and new feeling, even better than we hoped. Graham and Anneliese are fantastic hosts, always available to help or answer any questions whilst leaving us to just enjoy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
Annelies F, Owner at Cocos Castaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you all back in our paradise

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I’ve been to the Cocos Islands three times—and that makes three times I haven’t wanted to leave. We’ve stayed at Cocos Castaway each time and think it’s the best accommodation on West Island. It’s the only accommodation that’s situated right on the beach—you can lie in your hammock on your deck watching the sun go down over the ocean, with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AnnieTristan
Annelies F, Owner at Cocos Castaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and lengthy review. It was an absolute pleasure seeing you both again, and seeing in the New Year with you. Hope our beautiful islands will tempt you to return again soon.

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
27/06/2017 28/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Island
0.6 km away
Cocos Seaview
Cocos Seaview
#2 of 2 in West Island
66 reviews
0.3 km away
Ninetysixeast
Ninetysixeast
#1 of 1 in West Island
3 reviews
10.3 km away
Oceania House - Cocos Island
Oceania House - Cocos Island
#1 of 1 in Home Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Self contained beach side accommodation, some with direct ocean views. Centrally located with easy access to all amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cocos Castaway

Address: 81 Sydney Highway, 6799
Region: Indian Ocean > Cocos (Keeling) Islands > West Island
Price Range: €125 - €265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocos Castaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocos Castaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cocos Castaway staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cocos Castaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the ocean view rooms”
petesully2013, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Next time we will choose an Ocean View Room”
Philiptubb, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Chose an end room for more privacy.”
ImpulsivePerth, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book a higher category room than a standard villa if you want a private verandah and a direct ocean view.”
kpc_kpc, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“our room with a view of the ocean was the best”
helenjmiller79, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Agoda.com
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates