We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hethersett Guest House

Booking.comUS$132*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hethersett Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Start your review of Hethersett Guest House
 Click to rate
Lisboa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Shame it's called luxury. Only spacy and well decorated.Stayed in room 6. Dust in all the blinds. Boiler didn't work on 1st day.Not even a cookie, rusks, anything. Only 2 Nescafe coffee and 1 had expiring date on 31st December 2015 as well as the coffee cream also expired on same date i.e. 1 year ago. Had asked her to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malhoa
JaneSkipsey, Owner at Hethersett Guest House, responded to this review

I was horrified to read your comments and apologise most sincerely for all the problems you experienced at Hethersett Guesthouse. I have never had such poor feedback before and will look into everything you mentioned, in order to rectify the situation immediately. I hope you enjoyed your visit to South Africa and if you ever visit again, it would be...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed at Hethersett in July while visiting family in the area. We had the inter-leading room facility which was very handy for me with two children aged 10 and 7 years. The guesthouse itself is fabulous, with modern rooms, crisp white sheets, massive showers and tea / coffee making facilities. The pool is gorgeous, event hough it was too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annettecotterill
JaneSkipsey, Owner at Hethersett Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the most amazing review. I t is always a pleasure to host such lovely guests and the children were an absolute pleasure. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust that it won't be too long before we see you again. Fond regards Jane

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 April 2016

My daughter and I spent 3 nights at Hethersett Guest House. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived til the moment we left. Jane, the owner did everything to make our stay comfortable and went beyond our expectations to meet our needs. Set in a very secure environment with a spacious and comfortable room, we could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura S
JaneSkipsey, Owner at Hethersett Guest House, responded to this review

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is because of wonderful guests such as yourselves that we love the hospitality business so much. We do hope that you visit us again one day and bring the whole family with you. Assuring you of my personal attention at all times....

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Stayed for two nights in a wonderful, spacious, clean, room with a desk and lots of storage. It is in a secure estate where I could walk/jog safely. The internet in my room was poor but I understand it is better in other rooms. Got only 12 basic channels in my TV but maybe I was operating the remote properly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajay D
Jane S, Owner at Hethersett Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments and it was indeed a pleasure to meet you. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust that on your next visit to South Africa we will have the pleasure of hosting you again, where you will see an improvement in the WIFI signal. Yours sincerely Jane

Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

A lovely secure guesthouse with the personal touch and warmth. Although I only stayed one night I was impressed with genuine warmth of my host. The facilities are excellent, room spacious and hospitality faultless. I would love to visit with more time and in warmer weather.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
JaneSkipsey, Owner at Hethersett Guest House, responded to this review

I don't know why I have never responded to your comments, for which I thank you most sincerely. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree, warmer weather is definitely the way to go. We are heading for a cold spell again so maybe we can host you again in the summer months. Best wishes...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Very comfortable accommodation in a secure environment. Our room was spacious and tastefully furnished. The breakfast was excellent. At all times we were made to feel welcome and valued guests and having a very late checkout (to watch the SA NZ cricket match!!) on the day of departure was much appreciated. Conveniently located for access to three shopping centres as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINE V
Jane S, Owner at Hethersett Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. it is always a pleasure to host such lovely guests and know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again on your next trip to South Africa. Best wishes Jane

Luanda, Angola
Reviewed 20 October 2014

I stay here for almost he full week and it's a very nice and quite place with easy access to Eastgate mall. The owner is a very nice person taking care of his guests and also all the staff are very usefull people. Next time will probably stay once again at Hethersett.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Visita02022013
JaneSkipsey, Owner at Hethersett Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust that we will have the honour of welcoming you back again one day. Yours sincerely Jane Skipsey

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Where to start, I have just stayed at Hethersett for 2 weeks, a business trip, and this was the perfect place to be. A great location only 15 minutes from the airport, very central - within walking distance to two very good shopping malls, and a smaller strip mall which was also handy. The staff were great, very attentive &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peejay09
JaneSkipsey, Owner at Hethersett Guest House, responded to this review

We are so fortunate to have such wonderful guests staying with us and it is a treat to host you and look after you. Thank you for your lovely comments and I trust that we will meet up again one day in the near future. Kind Regards Jane

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My partner and I recently spent 3 glorious days at Heathersett. Wonderful! The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The accommodation is spotless with little touches to make ones stay pleasurable. Slippers and gowns to use, a bar area for relaxing, breakfast lovely with the most delicious jams made by Jane's Mum. We cant wait to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pauline S
Jane S, Owner at Hethersett Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments - it was a pleasure meeting you. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a successful and fruitful visit to Johannesburg. Kind Regards Jane

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Loved our 5 night stay - the fresh cooked breakfasts, sitting in the oasis garden near the pool and just being able to relax. Very central and close to many great restaurants and coffee shops. Thanks Jane and the friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne F
JaneSkipsey, Owner at Hethersett Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments - I will certainly pass them onto the team. It is always a pleaure to look after such lovely guests and hope that in the not too didtasnt future, we may have the oppotunity to do so again. Kind Regards Jane

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedfordview
0.9 km away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
2.2 km away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#35 of 68 in Johannesburg
41 reviews
1.5 km away
St. Andrews Signature Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hallbury Estate Private Bed & Breakfast
2.9 km away
Acacia Grove Guest House
Acacia Grove Guest House
#1 of 6 in Bedfordview
8 reviews
1.1 km away
No photo provided
Prospect Luxury Apartments
#1 of 8 in Germiston
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hethersett is a luxury guest house situated in a security controlled, residential area of Bedfordview that provides fine comfortable accommodation and hospitality for the discerning traveller. Our central location ensures you are only minutes away from Eastgate Shopping Centre, Bedford Centre and Bedford Village where you can experience a variety of restaurants offering a superb selection of cuisines as well as a diverse range of stores for shopping and entertainment. We are only 12km away from O R Tambo International Airport, within close proximity to sporting and medical venues and offer easy access to major highways for your convenience. We offer 6 elegantly decorated luxury rooms in tranquil surroundings each with their own separate entrance and en-suite bathroom. You may enjoy your breakfast overlooking our beautiful pool area and exquisite gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hethersett Guest House

Address: 48 Talisman Avenue, Bedfordview 2007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Bedfordview
Price Range: €94 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hethersett Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hethersett Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please don't go. Or be sure the owner would be there.That's what I want to believe in.”
Malhoa, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Inter leading room, looks out onto the pool and garden with sliding door.”
annettecotterill, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“some rooms have better wi-fi than others.”
431ajayd, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The Wi-Fi works very nice.”
Visita02022013, 20 Oct 2014 | Read review
“The rooms are spacious”
EPascoal, 3 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$132* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$132
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates