We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Sands Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Island Sands Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Island Sands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Glendale, AZ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent 9 nights at the Island Sands Resort and thought it was great. Very clean with a nice heated pool. Free donuts on Friday mornings! We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool and the ocean. There isn't much of a beach in front of the resort but it is only a short walk away. Just hit Costco... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredFF
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Island Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Island Sands. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the vacation condos our company manages, but I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the heated pool, ocean views, and BBQ grills. We hope to see you again at the Island Sands in the future! Mahalo, Keith Condominium Rentals Hawaii More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was a terrible place to stay. There is construction noise next door and we were not told this was going to happen during our stay March 30th thru April 8th 2013. Construction dust was blowing on the Patio area for three days. Clean up was by me the occupant.The noise from the jackhammer for three days was loud and... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Mary R
CondoRentalsHI, Vacation Rental Agency at Island Sands Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Mary, We manage condo 107 at the Island Sands. I am sorry that the owner of a condo near you decided to do renovations to their private condo that was located near your rental. We were not made aware of this private renovation. I wish you would have let us know about your issues earlier in your stay so... More 

Boulder Creek,CA.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

If you are traveling to Maui, this condo is as perfect as you can get. It's beautifully decorated, spotless and well maintained. The furnishings are high quality, the beds are comfortable, and the view is fantastic The location is very quiet and romantic..It has all the comforts of home and numerous thoughtful details the owner has provided including a delicious... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CA.Travelwide
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is a very quiet part of the island (Maalaea). There was little noise and no traffic to speak of. This is in direct contrast to the area down Kihei road on the other side of the bay, which has a lot of people and cars and traffic (relatively speaking -- this is Maui, after all). I stayed in a... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank LeakyB85
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Maalaea (pronounced Ma-ah-lai-a as I soon learned!) is the perfect place to stay on Maui, central to everywhere you may want to explore, and coming home to those Tradewinds at the end of a hot day was heaven! The Island Sands complex is very nice (love the koi pond!), the pool was small but pretty. With the Tradewinds in the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieMalone707
araikes, Manager at Island Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Island Sands. Our condo management company does not manage the particular condo you stayed in, but we agree the location of Island Sands is convenient for exploring the entire island. Don’t know if you had a chance to visit the Maui Ocean Center (within walking distance), but that is a definite must-do if... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The staff is friendly, the view is beautiful and relaxing, the room itself was very clean and filled with all the comforts of home.....not only the usual things you would expect like towels, pots & pans, & dishes, but they took the extra effort to provide books to read, a binder with directions to favorite restaurants, & even our own... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank rnb81
araikes, Manager at Island Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Island Sands. Our condo management company does not rent out unit 305 specifically, but appreciate the kind words about the property, spectacular views, and peaceful environment. We hope to see you at the Island Sands again in the future! Mahalo, Keith Condominium Rentals Hawaii More 

Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Island Sands is located at Maalaea Harbor and that makes it the best location on the island. It is situated between everything, therefore, a short distance to everything. It is a quiet area that is ocean front. All I require is a book and a view, and boy, does it have a view! The trade winds blow through and it... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine N
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our stay at Island Sands, Unit #605 was fantastic! The unit is beautifully decorated which provides a very rich and homey atmosphere. The view from this unit is exquisite and it's positioning means that you're protected from direct sunlight; so warm and breezy, but extremely comfortable. Also great whale watching here on the 6th floor. Nikta was very helpful and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry R
Beaumont, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was our third time staying in one of Nikta Houston's units and it never ceases to amaze us how accommodating and helpful Nikta always is. We had our 6 month old grandson with us this time and Nikta had the baby furniture waiting for us when we arrived. The condo is beautifully decorated and fully stocked with everything you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
Holt, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Maalaea Bay has a bad reputation because of a certain book. I am so greatful for that review! That makes the whole Maalaea Bay are the best picking. My family has stayed here twice. They have elevators and beautifully landscape gardens. There is no beach per-say. It's right on the reef so you hear the crashing all the time. But... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Goddessmoo

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maalaea
10.1 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,002 reviews
24.1 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
3,577 reviews
11.4 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.3 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
555 reviews
11.8 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#10 of 62 in Kihei
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Island Sands Resort

Address: 150 Hauoli St, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Maalaea
Price Range: €159 - €369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Island Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Sands Hotel Maalaea
Maui Island Sands Resort
Island Sands Maui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Island Sands Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Island Sands Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“605 from talking to people at the pool is the best rental unit”
 of 5 bubbles Jppeterson506, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor. Quiet and great view”
 of 5 bubbles fmarc0n, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“#605 is the best unit. It's on the top floor, has ocean view, no one on the left side, very private”
 of 5 bubbles lynnr217, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ocean front to see the waves and whales. End unit for privacy. No sofa sleeper in the 2 bedroom. No oven/range; only a convection microwave and induction cooktop. Small kitchen. Comfortable for 4 people.”
 of 5 bubbles McTWaid, 2 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Stay on another floor.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryR895, 9 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay