We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Villa Vecchia Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Villa Vecchia Hotel
Villa Vecchia Hotel
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
chester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As soon as we arrived and were given our keys, no help with cases! Went to our room and the carpets were FILTHY, I told the reception but they didn't care! I could not stay in the room for long. You could never find a barman, the food was dire, no choice for us as we were on a coach... More 

Helpful?
Thank agaig_partdeux
villavecchiahotel, Front Office at Villa Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, We are sorry to read about your dissatisfaction. We are always inspired by reviews like yours to improve our services. We can ensure the carpet is not “filthy” but just worn-out. We are doing our best to remove and renew the floor. The staff is always nice and friendly, as other reviews can confirm, we are sorry you... More 

Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

The beds were probably the most uncomfortable and hardest I have ever slept on. Better mattresses or a pad would help a lot. Pillows are awful also. Do not fall for the free breakfast, it is 8 euro. Coffee is a machine, kind of like a vending machine. How hard would it to have fresh pots of coffee? The food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
villavecchiahotel, Front Office at Villa Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Kathleen, We are sorry to read your stay was not completely comfortable. Our buffet breakfast has such a variety of products, which guests usually like. One aisle is totally reserved to the buffet long table, rich of hot and cold, sweet and savory dishes. We regret you didn’t like the coffee at the machine. In this case the... More 

Travellers are raving about these Monte Porzio Catone hotels

Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016

First of all I want to say that the staff was very nice to us. They were very accomodating when we asked questions or directions and never acted like we were bothering them.Villa Vecchia is an older hotel that could use some updating but the room was clean. The shower did have some mildew around the bottom though which some... More 

Helpful?
Thank mactechsuze
villavecchiahotel, Front Office at Villa Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to read your stay was not bad after all and we thank you for having appreciated the job of our staff. We always do our best to satisfy all the guests’ requests in the best way possible. We will wait for your next stay to enjoy the other facilities the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is outdated and the staff left us stranded in Frascatti at the train station at 8:00 in the evening. A local shop owner was much more helpful. He was closing and saw we were very concerned. The kind gentleman called a taxi for us. We had tried calling for a taxi, they told us they were sending a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
villavecchiahotel, Front Office at Villa Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Elaine, We are very sorry to read about your bad experience. We kindly ask our guests to ask for the taxi service with as much advance notice as possible, just because this is not a big central city like Rome, it's a small area where taxi companies are limited in number. However the hotel usually calls all the... More 

Effingham, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The restaurant was a definite 4 star but the hotel rooms maybe a 2. The bathroom was beautifully re-model even with a very,very small shower. The bed was NOT comfortable. Bleach stains on an old carpet. The A/C made so much noise. A/C is controlled by computer downstairs that kept saying our windows were open and they were NOT!! So... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
villavecchiahotel, Front Office at Villa Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Mary, We are sorry to read you were not completely satisfied during your stay. The room assigned to you was a nice room on the first floor with an open view on Rome. We are sorry for the noise caused by the air conditioning system. Sometimes computers may fail, but I'm sure our staff was able to give... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This is an inexpensive hotel near an absolutely charming town, Frascati. I was very worried after reading the reviews here but it was much better than expected. It is an older hotel but clean and had comfortable beds. We asked for 2 extra pillows but they only gave us one (not enough they said). The front desk staff was friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
villavecchiahotel, Front Office at Villa Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Julie, Thank you for your opinion. Sometimes satisfaction depends on expectations. We are glad you were quite satisfied. As for the pillow, we are very sorry for not having had the possibility to give you more pillows. Those days the hotel was fully booked and we couldn’t consider how many extra pillows would have been requested from the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We checked in here for our honeymoon. The shuttle driver picked us up from the train station with no problem and the check in process was easy. Upon entering our room we were incredibly disappointed. The carpet in the room was absolutely disgusting, the bed was hard, and the wall paper was peeling and torn up. Everything in the hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angel P
villavecchiahotel, Front Office at Villa Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angel P., We are very sorry to read you had a bad experience. From our records you have requested an upgrade during check-in procedure, before entering the room! Unfortunately all superior rooms were already reserved. For this reason an upgrade was not possible. The restaurant is open from 7.30 until 10.00 for breakfast, from 12.30 to 2.00 p.m. for... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I'm in one their rooms right now as I write this review. It is almost 10:30pm on Monday night. However I am not sleeping because my room is right above their dance floor. Party going on and I can sing along with the music if I wanted to. Called the front desk and asked for a quieter room. They said... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason Y
villavecchiahotel, Front Office at Villa Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing your review on our hotel, which has been published only after your check-out, since reviews need some days to be checked by the website operators first. We are sorry to read you didn’t sleep well for one night before midnight. According to Italian laws, music can be played for private parties until 12 pm... More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

One bar of soap for three night, two people, shower and sink. Coffee machine didn't work one morning, pepper mill (very large one) empty and had to track down almost nonexistent server. No view, no coffee maker in room. No refill on shampoo. Front desk often deserted. Breakfast had no tomatoes. This is Italy. Really, only beautiful location and grounds... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susie N
villavecchiahotel, Front Office at Villa Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending time to provide your opinion on our hotel, which can be useful to improve our service. We are very sorry to read that we were not able to live up to your expectations. The equipment in the room includes 1 towels, 1 bar of soap and 1 shower gel for each person in the... More 

Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This hotel is not a great fit for your trip to Italy unless you want to save money and have to ask for a good room. I recommend you stay elsewhere, unless price is your major consideration for your trip.

Helpful?
Thank Kate C
villavecchiahotel, Front Office at Villa Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate, Thank you for spending time to provide your opinion on our hotel, which can be useful to improve our service. We are very sorry to read that we were not able to live up to your expectations. We hope you could come back to our hotel. I’m sure you will change your mind next time. Best regards More 

599 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (397)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Classic Room (40)
Viewed
Other (40)
Viewed
Family Room (56)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Porzio Catone
1.8 km away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
429 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Tuscolana
1.6 km away
Green Hotel Poggio Regillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
#2 of 5 in Grottaferrata
461 reviews
8.4 km away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
278 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#8 of 14 in Frascati
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Villa Vecchia, a 4 star historical monastery/hotel based in the outskirts of Frascati town. Offers 96 rooms, a big extensive park with 500 olive groves and outdoor swimming pool, conference facilities and restaurant Il Vignola which serves traditional cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Villa Vecchia Hotel

Address: Via Frascati, 49, 00040 Monte Porzio Catone, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Monte Porzio Catone
Price Range: €44 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Vecchia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Vecchia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Villa Vecchia Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Mineola, New York
Glastonbury, Connecticut
over a year ago
Simi Valley, California
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Villa Vecchia Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View from room we had on the 3rd floor sucked .View was top of a white tent. In the hallway at 2 of the windows WAS a Awesome view.”
 of 5 bubbles 762maryd, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“be prepared to drive 40-60min into Rome if you stay here”
 of 5 bubbles KristinSensei76, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with a wooden floor”
 of 5 bubbles hhball, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“If you need wifi, a room above, or as close to the front desk as possible....”
 of 5 bubbles 397robertn, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side have a view towards Rome.”
 of 5 bubbles PhilipColumbus, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay