We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malealea Lodge

Malealea 0922, Lesotho
Lowest prices for your stay
5/11/2017 6/11/2017
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in MalealeaSee available hotels in Malealea
Traveller (191)
Room & Suite (113)
Dining (8)
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good33%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pony trekking” (30 reviews)
“local community” (18 reviews)
“coffee shop” (14 reviews)
Free Parking
Family Rooms
Pets Allowed
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Malealea Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 15 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

The number one thing the Malealea Lodge has going for it is the people. Every single person I interacted with here was kind, friendly and helpful. The food was great and in abundant supply, and sitting on the porch with a beer by the fire...More

Thank Matt S
Response from Malealea L, Guest Relations Manager at Malealea LodgeResponded 8 July 2017

Hello Matt Thank you for the great description of Malealea. We are glad you had such a good stay. Your description is incredibly accurate and the experience you have described is exactly what we wish for - community interaction, comfortable stay, good wholesome food. At...More

Reviewed 27 June 2017

I spent longer weekend at the lodge and it was great experience. The accommodation is basic but delivered according to the what is promised. Electricity and hot water are available at certain parts of the day (they too accept card payments), the dinner was very...More

Thank gotardus
Response from Malealea L, Guest Relations Manager at Malealea LodgeResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you for your visit to Malealea and for the positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Malealea offers a unique opportunity to immerse yourself in the Basotho culture whilst providing the basic luxuries for a comfortable stay.

Reviewed 20 June 2017

This is a really fun place to stay at. My husband & I stayed for 2 nights. The manager, Michael, made us feel very welcomed & helped us with everything. We went on a fabulous hike, high into the mountains & through lovely villages, with...More

Thank ntantiques
Response from Malealea L, Guest Relations Manager at Malealea LodgeResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for visiting Malealea and we are overjoyed to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Malealea is indeed a very special place and offers "Lesotho in a nutshell"

Reviewed 18 May 2017

The rooms are very good . They use all the Eco friendly forms of energy ( solar power and natural water resources) and lights are switched off at 10 pm . The food is wholesome and served fresh . Very good place to go for...More

Thank neelamsyal
Response from Malealea L, Guest Relations Manager at Malealea LodgeResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We try to stay as ecological as is possible and share the benefits of solar energy with guests and the community alike. The access road is a challenge at present and we do try to repair as much as possible.

Reviewed 7 May 2017

Situated in a village on a terrace high above the Makhaleng river. The lodge consists of a large single-storey building, looking like previous storage area, but now used as lounge, bar and dining room. My son and I stayed in a spacious and clean rondavel...More

Thank ber w
Response from Malealea L, Guest Relations Manager at Malealea LodgeResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you for visiting Malealea and for your review. Malealea started as a trading station in 1905 and the large building was the original trading store which has been converted into the reception, bar, dining room and recreation room. Thank you for the good tips...More

Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
  • Top amenities
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hotel Amenities
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Price range
  • US$24 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
  • Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Number of rooms
  • 50
  • Location
  • Lesotho >
  • Mafeteng District >
  • Malealea
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (191)
Room & Suite (113)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (3)
Hotel & Grounds (267)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Bathroom (1)
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
8 October 2016|
Response from Malealea L | Property representative |
Hi Julie. Apologies for the very delayed message. I know you've already been in touch with Jackie. Best wishes Michael
8 October 2016|
Response from 234beatrice | Reviewed this property |
Reservations - Bloemfontein - Jackie 0825524215
Room Tips
"Local roundevilles are amazing and should be experienced."
Read review
"Go for a round house, ensuite - the hell with the expense !"
Read review
"Rooms far from the stage are quite and reachable by car"
Read review
"Ask for a traditional round hut with ensuite bath."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing