We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Saijantie 8, Taivalkoski 93400 Finland
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Lol.travel
FindHotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (116)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Taivalkoski
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A cozy and peaceful choice, a Lodge by the lake! Saija is situated in the northeast of Finland, in the middle of the beautiful and original Finnish nature. The lodge is by the Lake Jokijärvi and offers accommodation, restaurant services and guided activities available upon pre-order all year round. We have 20 apartments with sauna, shower and WC as also 2 holiday cabins and 2 Sky Cabins with a perfect view to the Northern Sky.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Sauna
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Indoor play area for children
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Boating
Canoeing
Hiking
Ski rentals
Skiing
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Ski In / Ski Out
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Separate living room
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, German

Location

Full view
Contact
Saijantie 8, Taivalkoski 93400 Finland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Kuusamo Airport62 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
53Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 8
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Laura H wrote a review Apr 2020
7 contributions
What a wonderful week at Saija lodge enjoying the peace and beauty of this winter wonderland. The atmosphere is incredible and the team are so welcoming. I travelled on my own but the whole place has a real family atmosphere and the restaurant was a great place to get to know other guests or have your own space if you prefer. I was there to enjoy 'Husky Week' and had the most wonderful time with the dogs. Heading out on the sledge with a team of dogs is a truly wonderful experience and our guide Ossi made it really fun. Thank you to all at Saija. I was the only Brit but as all of the instructions are given in English it was just right and great to meet lots of others from across Europe. If you are looking for somewhere to enjoy the full winder experience (Huskys, snow shoes, snowmobiles, igloo etc etc) in a place that is authentically Finnish treasuring traditions you will love it here. Hope to return in future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Saija_L0dge, Marketing & Client Service at Saija Oy
Responded 5 Apr 2020
Dear Laura, thanks for your positive feedback about our lodge Saija, its service and programs. We would be very happy to have more English guests in future :-). All our client service staff and tour guides speak English. We are looking forward to welcoming you somewhen again here in the North of Finland. Take care! Saija Lodge, Marketing & Client Service - Jacqueline
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter F wrote a review Feb 2019
Zurich, Switzerland229 contributions144 helpful votes
Okay, if the sky is clear and polar lights do happen, then the (very expensive) sky cabin is super. Large windows for you to see the lights without going outside in the cold. If the sky is overcast or there are no northern lights, you overpay. The cabin is smaller than the ordinary room, it is overheated and you cannot let fresh air come in unless you leave the door open. Plus, not really important but: No TV. And the lights are terrible. No reading light near the (small) sofa, no light in the kitchen. The lodge is very nicely situated, in the forest at a lake. Lots to do, walking, skiing, snowshoeing and mushing. Unfortunately, we felt quite sorry for the 150 dogs. Kept in small kennels (winter and summer) they hardly get out except to pull sledges. It might look like they love to do this but I think, they would prefer just running instead of being held back by sledges and mushers standing on the break. Besides, none of the dogs is older than maybe 13 years. WHAT DO THEY DO WITH THE OLD DOGS? Dont even think about it! The food is, well, okay. Rather boring (soup for lunch and no choice for dinner). Ok, last but not least, if you are German, you will LOVE the place. Of about 50 tourists, we were the only non-germans. So you're in Finland and in the morning people greet you with Moinmoin... Halloooo? Even the staff speaks better german than english!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book an normal room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Saija_L0dge, Guest Relations Manager at Saija Oy
Responded 28 Feb 2019
Hello Peter, thank you for your feedback! We are sorry that you have experienced it that way. Unfortunately we are not able to book the overnights in Sky Cabins according to the weather conditions since they will usually be booked long before the arrival date. The Sky Cabins are offering more luxury than our rooms and therefore the price is also more expensive. The heating system can be adjusted. We can always help the guests how to do it. There is no TV for reason, with a thought that the sky will be offering enough show elements. Thanks also for the comment of lights. We will improve that. We appreciate you caring about our dogs. We do that too. The health of our dogs is very important to us and the kennel will be regularly checked by an external authority. When dogs are not working any more, they will naturally stay in our kennel with the other dogs. Our oldest dog is at the moment 15 years old. We warmly welcome you to visit us and our dogs soon again! We are pleased to serve both in English and in German.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SJG444 wrote a review Mar 2018
London, United Kingdom94 contributions51 helpful votes
I spent a week at Saija with a friend and overall we both really enjoyed it but that was more to do with the scenery and the activities on offer than the inn itself. We both loved the various dog sledding adventures and skidoo safari and the scenery was stunning. The accommodation is clean but pretty basic given how expensive it is to stay there and the food, while plentiful, was repetitive. Breakfast in particular was pretty much the same every day and given the temperature outside, a hot dish or two would have been nice. Also all inclusive does not include snack and soft drinks like coke and lemonade, which are so rip-off expensive it makes your eyes water.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Saija_L0dge, Guest Relations Manager at Saija Oy
Responded 4 Apr 2018
Hello, thank You for your message. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We'll take notice of your feedback. Many warm Greetings to your friend too!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leon E wrote a review Feb 2018
2 contributions
Brilliant in every way. 4 day husky trail with temperatures dropping to -25/30 so we skipped the iglo. Great staff, great food, great dogs, perfect gear supplied so tou only need to bring thermo underwear and normal clothes.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Saija_L0dge, Guest Relations Manager at Saija Oy
Responded 4 Feb 2018
Thank you! Welcome again :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan W wrote a review Jan 2018
Germany7 contributions5 helpful votes
We had a fantastic 1week (winter) holiday at Saija. Excellent accomodation, delicious food, warm and friendly atmosphere, great outdoor activities with fabulous staff (husky dog sledge tours, snowshow trip, cross-country skiing, ski-doo ride, smoke sauna). Everybody who needs a get-away should visit Saija!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Saija_L0dge, Guest Relations Manager at Saija Oy
Responded 31 Jan 2018
Also we are glad that you enjoyed. Hope to see you soon again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
niinan2 wrote a review Jun 2017
Nurmijarvi, Finland1570 contributions108 helpful votes
We camped in Saija the other day. The area is beautiful. Staff was friendly and dinner and breakfast was really good. Especially the dinner was heavenly. I was really surprised that there were no showers available; you could only wash in a smoke sauna(outdoors). WHAT?!?!? I was told that there were showers in the apartments but it really doesn't help when you staying in a tent.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vivienne h wrote a review Mar 2017
16 contributions9 helpful votes
I must firstly say that all the staff here were great. The facilities for guests are absolutely fabulous. What the staff call a room is actually a small apartment with lounge, kitchenette, bedroom and shower room with private sauna. All beautifully clean if a bit too hot!!! All diets are catered for by the kitchen and as a vegan I really appreciated this. Everyone enjoyed their food and were very complementary. The location is also beautiful so if you want a great winter location for snow activities this is one that is hard to beat. However the dogs do not do so well. The kennels are under staffed and while those that work with the dogs really seem to care for them, there are simply not enough staff to keep the kennels and cages clean. I saw many frozen yellow dishes (draw your own conclusion as to why they might be yellow), and waste matter was not removed frequently enough. The wire forming the dogs cage had been damaged in many cases and not replaced, and there was no wire roof so the dogs could climb up and hang dangerously over the top opening themselves up to possible injury from the wire. Some of the dogs were very thin, and while I was told the food was perfectly adequate it did not seem so to me. I know huskies prefer to be outside, but the kennels inside the cages should be on legs and insulated against sometimes very extreme conditions. All the time I am keeping in my mind that these are working dogs and not pets but I would not keep my dog in these conditions and after all at the end of the day working or pet, a dog is a dog. There are no EU or Finish legal standards for husky farms to attain to and this farm is similar to two others I have seen but that does not mean it is acceptable. I find it really hard to rate this lodge as I see two extremes so I will give it poor as for humans everything is fabulous but I don't think this is the case for the dogs.and they can not speak out. Because of this reason I would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: All rooms are great as far as I know.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TtravellerUk wrote a review Jan 2016
UK23 contributions40 helpful votes
The lodge is amazing. The rooms are very spacious with a private sauna. The complex is small which adds to the special feeling. There were 15 people staying at the lodge. We were the only British people but it added to the experience. Meal times are a very 'family' affair. The food was all home made and was an excellent opportunity to sample local dishes. The activities were well organised. The guides are very friendly and experienced. We travelled with Aristan Travel who I would highly recommend. The planning and organising was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
davidecanepa wrote a review Aug 2014
Genoa, Italy6 contributions7 helpful votes
Me and my partner have been here five days. It was one of our best experience of all our travels! The rooms of the Lodge are very comfortable and having the chance to have a sauna in your room is fabulous. The food (home cooking) was very good, and the staff and support exceptional! The hiking/canoeing trips into the wild were absolutely extraordinary, our guide was young and very funny and showed us a lot of tips on moving around swamps and on the local flora. The dogs are really really cute! There was a new born puppy and three little cubs so funny! and fluffy :) We were unlucky for the moose watching, but the staff organized a bear watching trip near the Russian board, that turned out to be an incredible face-to-face experience with two huge bears! We experienced the smoke sauna and we also gone for a swim in the lake after it! You have to do it!!! Should you ever go to Finland, Saija is the right place were you must go!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bunnylicious wrote a review Feb 2014
Hucknall, United Kingdom107 contributions43 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here for a week with my husband. It is one of he best experiences we have had. We booked with the company 'The White Circle' - who were very helpful throughout. They do a number of different packages there but we booked the 6 night Husky Safari and paid for an extra night at the lodge. The staff there were really friendly and helpful and The Lodge, accommodation & surroundings just picture perfect! I personally love the sun & heat but had a fabulous time there....even at minus 31 degrees celsius! All meals are included and are delicious - I'm sure we all returned home a little fatter. You have the option to try a number of things at an extra cost (even if not included in your package), and they are very accomodating with this. Our accommodation was virtually a little flat. The rooms were really comfortable and warm and the bathroom was superb with underfloor heating & your own personal sauna. You get winter gear for all the excursions and you are really well looked after by the guides. The best part of the trip for me has to be the dogs. There are about a 100 dogs there - all really well looked after, loved, happy to be there, and happy to work. It is amazing spending time with them and the sledging and overnight safari really were a once in a lifetime experience. We met some truly amazing, like-minded people out there too. What a great trip!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$120 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandNorthern OstrobothniaTaivalkoski
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Saija Oy
Which popular attractions are close to Saija Oy?
Nearby attractions include Kallioniemi (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Saija Oy?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Saija Oy?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Saija Oy?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Saija Oy?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Saija Oy?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Does Saija Oy have airport transportation?
Yes, Saija Oy offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Saija Oy?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Saija Oy?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Finnish.
Is Saija Oy accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.