We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Great Barrier Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Great Barrier Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Great Barrier lodge is a fantastic place to stay! The location is just beautiful. Romote enough that it feels like it is its own little world and still close enough to everything! Its nice and quiet and the view from the porch is stunning. The staff is wonderful, and the very sporty manager (came in second in the marathon!) is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beate V
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Beate V, Thanks for taking the time to review us, and your lovely comments about our location, view and the peace and quiet, the perfect place to relax after three days walking the Aotea Track. Was my pleasure to give you a ride to the airport glad you were able to make your flight. See you back on the...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We loved our stay here for the lodge itself - nice room, nice view (studio unit) The manager Archie is friendly enough but after a couple of times of needing to ask for something we were then scared to - seemed to pee him off at bit. Sorry to say almost like a fawlty towers experience. We felt our requests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joc6447
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review

Hi joc 6447, Thanks for the feedback and thanks for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear that my service was not up to standard whilst you were with us, I simply, as you say must have been having a John Cleese day ! Apologies for that. I do spend most of my day tending to the...

Stratford
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We stayed in the little self-contained cottage. It is comfortable and clean inside etc. Because of been on an island there is no TV, no hairdryer, no cellphone coverage and limited lights can be used. All cooking and heating is by gas - to us this wasn't a problem. We would recommend you take books etc to help fill in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StratfordHeritage
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review

Gidday Carol & Dave, Thanks heaps for choosing to stay with us, and very much appreciate the feedback. Thanks much mentioning our secluded location,, it really helps our guests relax and wind down from a busy mainland life. Mobile phone coverage out here is slowly getting better, Vodafone is Ok in some parts of our bay, but Spark is nowhere...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Fantastic location and a perfect base from which to explore GBI. Wharf proved a good spot for fishing with the kids. The lodge has an excellent deck that captures the afternoon sun. Perfect !! Excellent wine selection and while the menu is limited to 4 mains ( function of being on an island) we can recommend the lamb shanks -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank furl141
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review

Gidday Furl141, Thanks very much for the feedback and review, thanks for mentioning my wine list and Erica's lamb Shank's, we're glad you enjoyed your time on Great Barrier Island. Cheers Archie

Mysore, Karnataka, India
Reviewed 22 April 2016

this time i wanted to avoid cities and from AKL airport arrived from bengaluru checked in to jet park airport hotel highly recommended nzd 160 + free drop pick up + spacious rooms + free luggage storage relax for a day to overcome jetlag, take cloths for 3 days not more than 10 kgs with trekking pole and shoes go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suresh s
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review

Hi drsureshsb, Thanks for taking the time to write a review about Great Barrier Island, we appreciate the feedback and the time taken. You have added some helpful info for other travelers. Whangaparapara is a little bit off the track compared to other places on the Island, we like this, as it gives us a real NZ away from it...

Reviewed 11 March 2016

Unless you are a church group or similar i would stay well clear of this place. The owners seemed completely disinterested in helping you and just complained about every little noise one made and were more interested in their own needs than trying to make your stay enjoyable. Suggest they should find an alternative profession as being hospitable is definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kenspoon
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Ken spoon, Wow what an interesting review ! Church groups are more than welcome, however drunken fishermen that stay up all hours disturbing the whole bay are not. We received many calls from locals complaining about the noise your group was making. I would like to point out that we are not a private party venue, we respect the...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Had dinner at the restaurant. It was excellent, and we're food snobs. We shared bread with oil and balsamic and squid that was delicate and not overcooked, and I had a lamb shank while my wife had snapper with cumin, and each came with a wonderful rooty side salad. This was the best meal we had had in a week....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review

Gidday Randy B, Thanks for the feedback and review of the Restaurant, we really appreciate the feedback. Erica and her team in the kitchen work real hard to try and produce nice fresh, flavoured food. Sorry about the noise from the other rooms(had a family with little ones in there), we did add extra insulation/soundproofing to those rooms last winter,...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Stopped in to this lodge for a quick lunch bite as we were touring the island. Beautiful position overlooking Whangaparapara Harbour - perfect for day trippers in cars and even better for those on the water. Lunch was served on the deck overloking the lawn and harbour. We had fresh, toasted sandwiches - a limited menu due to season I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flicks
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Flicks, Thanks for the feedback and review. Thanks for pointing out our great location for both boaties and for those with a car. Our deck has a great outlook over the bay, we enjoy our nice relaxed, quiet surrounds. Cheers Archie

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We recently stayed at this lodge and were completely satisfied with everything. Archie and Erika are fantastic hosts, welcoming, friendly, and extremely helpful, giving us advice about lots of Barrier activities and customs. Rooms were great with exceptional views of Whangaparapara harbour, food was really great (although we did cook some of our own on the barbecues provided), and costs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KCiscasey
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review

Gidday KC, Thanks very much for the feedback, it is much appreciated. Thanks for mentioning our reasonable prices, we are very mindful of that because of our semi Isolation and extra costs to get supplies here. The Barrier definitely is a place to come too and slow down and relax. Cheers Archie

Xiamen, China
Reviewed 29 December 2015

My partner and I enjoyed a great vacation to the Great Barrier Lodge. The location of the lodge meant, without a car, we were in position to go on numerous hikes, kayaking, hot springs, and swimming. We also loved the food served at their restaurant, and were so impressed that for such reasonable prices we could eat so well! The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mmdollin
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and a huge thanks for the feedback and compliments. Your certainly are right in saying that even if you don't have a car, there are plenty of things to do out here at Whangaparapara. Thanks for mentioning our food, Erica and her team work very hard to look after...

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangapara
7.2 km away
Mount St. Paul Estate
Mount St. Paul Estate
#3 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
76 reviews
8.6 km away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#1 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
20 reviews
10.4 km away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
24 reviews
11.8 km away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#4 of 7 in Great Barrier Island
34 reviews
10.1 km away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#6 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great Barrier Lodge sits amongst the trees on the waters edge of Whangaparapara Harbour - Great Barrier Island, just 30 minutes flight away from Auckland. Surrounded by natural beauty, the lodge caters to travelers seeking rest and relaxation on the pristine beaches or thrill seekers looking to traverse the islands many walking/mountain bike treks. Whatever your preference, our friendly staff will ensure you enjoy your stay in this natural paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Barrier Lodge

Address: 735 Whangaparapara Road | RD 1, Whangapara, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island > Whangapara
Price Range: €71 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Barrier Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Great Barrier Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any with a harbor view”
 of 5 bubbles joc6447, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“We didn't see the other rooms but not all rooms have harbor views”
  • The cottage location on the property
 of 5 bubbles StratfordHeritage, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 - large double bed - two singles next door. A bit of a tight fit but after all you are on the barrier”
 of 5 bubbles furl141, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“book lake front view with kitchen attached”
  • view from our room
  • our room GB lodge- very nice
  • view on the way back to AKL
 of 5 bubbles 525sureshs, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with Harbour views are great. There are types of troops available, including cottages.”
 of 5 bubbles KCiscasey, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5