We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Mill Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Old Mill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 144: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Mill Hotel
 Click to rate
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Avoid room 11, above door to the pub. Hinge to door needs oiling. No mattress protective covers on beds and some cobwebs under shelving. Small shower cubicle, hot water took a while to come through. Wifi poor in room. Nice to have tea and coffee in room. Food in pub very good, staff pleasant and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stellafranklin
AssistantManage... O, Assistant manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have spoken with our housekeeper and passed along your comments about cobwebs. I am glad that you found us all friendly and enjoyed your food, it would be lovely to welcome you again

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I saw a deal on Groupon for two courses and a glass of wine for two that looked like great value so we booked. After having been to the Old Mill a few years ago, we were looking forward to revisiting. The building itself is in a lovely spot and it's quaint interior is inviting. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew L
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your review. Apologies that some items were missing from your meal, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your food with us here at The Old Mill. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

stoke on trent
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We attended here with my fiancée, 9 year old and friends via the Groupon offer. I had never been here before and on arrival was happy with the place. On arrival we were greeted by a nice lady behind the bar and taken to our seats. Meals were a delight. I had rump steak which was perfectly cooked. The onion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayley w
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. Thank you again for your kind words.

Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Four of us visited using a Groupon for 2 courses and a glass of wine. Steaks were fabulous, we all had rib eye but cooked differently they were all spot on as we had asked for them. Dessert was a bit of a let down, my husband was very disappointed as the only dessert he liked wasn't available, I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gilly1959
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are happy that you enjoyed your meal with us and I have made note of your disappointment with the desserts, I can pass this onto our chefs. We are very pleased that you would recommend us and we will hopefully see you again in the near future.

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We went with a Groupon Voucher, free 2 course meal with wine. Wow this was fantastic, gorgeous Steak, done exactly like we asked. Big Chucky chips and salad too. We had the biggest onion rings I've ever seen and couldn't eat them all. For our pudding, I had Eton Mess, my husband had the biggest Apple Pie with custard. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pauline O
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of us here at the Old Mill, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your evening with us. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 18 December 2016

I did not stay at the hotel so cannot comment on the room facilities. I Went for a family meal in what I thought was a family pub! However I felt as though my kids were not welcome! The lady on the bar could barley ask our order let alone have a conversation and the lady taking out food order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We are very sorry that you didn't feel you had a pleasant experience with us during your family meal. We do welcome families however we accept that you felt failed by us on this instance. We would love to welcome you again in the future

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed over at The Old Mill as we were attending a party in the area and needed a base for the night. Nice pub down a small lane just off the main road with a large car park at the reae. Check in was easy in the bar area which was very cozy. We decided to eat before we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travellero1
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Old Mill.

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Been working in Talke for the last 3 weeks, tried travelodge, bed n breakfast's (garbage) stumbled across this total hidden perfect gem!! Checked in about 6pm got the room keys and myself and my colleague decided to try a pint of one of the ales, wow best pint I'd had in ages!! Nice price an nice friendly barmaid, got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bebb54321
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do pride ourselves on our fresh Ales and Great food and We are happy to see you sampled both during your trip. We hope to welcome you again.

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

I liked this pub/hotel as soon as i saw it, a quiet old world pub off the main drag with a nice feel. I was fully aware that room 12 had a noise issue and I had booked it anyway as this was the only room available. The noise wasn't too bad but a delivery of barrels at 07.55 did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LKJE
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and Thank you for leaving us some feedback for your stay with us, We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, with the exception of the Beer Delivery interrupting your sleep. Apologies for that we hope that it didn't inconvenience you too much. We would love to welcome you back in the future.

County Durham
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the old mill for a family wedding. Helpful and friendly staff. Rooms lovely and clean. Food very nice! My room was freezing but there was a little heater that warmed it through, only put it on once. Defiantly recommend. Function room was lovely too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mini_Tinker
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for your lovely review, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsager
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
2.6 km away
Travelodge Crewe Barthomley
Travelodge Crewe Barthomley
#1 of 1 in Barthomley
53 reviews
11.9 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,028 reviews
5.4 km away
Travelodge Stoke Talke
7.0 km away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, The Old Mill is a magnificent 17th Century building set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views of the original mill pond, complete with resident geese, large shoals of friendly carp and abundant other wildlife. The Mill retains many of its original features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. This hidden gem of Cheshire is a real must if you want to enjoy a warm welcome, good food & drink and a good night's sleep. For private, corporate, or wedding events the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor results in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. The property is approached by its own private lane off the main Crewe Road and although only 2 minutes from the main road, 5 minutes from junction 16 of the M6 and a short distance from the bustling towns of Crewe and Alsager you will feel as though you are right in the middle of the Cheshire countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Mill Hotel

Address: Crewe Road, Alsager ST7 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Price Range: €58 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Mill Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Mill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 11, as noise from people coming and going to and from bar, plus smokers below window.”
 of 5 bubbles stellafranklin, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Gorgeous pub food, highly recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles paulineo457, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The large extractor fan system from the kitchen is just outside Room 12 and could be noisy with the windows open.”
 of 5 bubbles LashyDavid, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“room 12 and either side don,t bother”
 of 5 bubbles EmmaJStaffordshire, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“I did not stay the night, just had a meal.”
 of 5 bubbles Princessemma1982, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5