We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amberley Castle

1.2 km from Amberley centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Church Street, Amberley BN18 9ND, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

745 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amberley Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 737: English reviews
London
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We stayed here the night before my wife's 50th birthday. We found we had been upgraded to a wonderful room although I bet every room is amazing. The quality of the castle, room and grounds is incredible. You really feel like you've been somewhere special. The staff were wonderful. They have a fab 18 hole putting green too which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Shane B Thank you for your lovely feedback and I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do look forward to welcoming you back very soon. All the Best Piers Vowles

Bromley, Kent
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Had a voucher for wine tasting, but as wife doesn't like wine, decided to change it for tea for two. We were greeted at reception, and seated promptly in the library. We were asked for our particular choice of teas. Tea and scones were delivered promptly, and also the wait server let us know, what was in each sandwich and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JBHBromley
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear JBHBromley Thank you for this lovely review, and I was so pleased to see that you had such a wonderful experience with our afternoon tea. Don't wait to long before you return and keep an eye open for our 2017 Afternoon Tea Diary. Kindest Regards Piers Vowles

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016

A superb experience staying in an authentic castle with magnificent grounds, but it was tarnished with the poor menu in the restaurant and the lack of privacy with the bathroom which was missing a door. We found it an excellent place with the superb grounds and facilities but when guests have to reluctantly spend the evening in the local Pub...

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Phil L Thank you for leaving your comments bout your stay. I am sorry that the menu did not take you fancy. If you had made this aware to one of the team, they would have happily spoken to the chef to arrange something different. We do also offer a All Day Dinning Menu, which has elements such as...

Derby
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We have visited Amberley Castle a couple of times previously and this time the food was even better, we had the tasting menu which was exemplary, I see some comments where people have not had enough, what is wrong with them, we came out having eaten plenty and I am a big eater. One minor criticism, the Pearl of liquid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SternDaleDerby
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear SternDaleDerby Thank you for you lovely comments about the meal, and Conor will be happy to read that it was the best food you have eaten at the Castel. I will pass the comments on about the Mango dessert and all feedback is well received and communicated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards Piers...

UK
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Rocked up and it started with the amazing view, walked around the gardens, talked to the head gardener and he explained the plans they have for the gardens.. He called Bob for me (white peacock) so I could get a photo.. Then it was time for tea... Delicious, unrushed, not hassled. After tea another wander about. Had a lovely time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katogirly
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Katogirly I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. You are welcome back at any point, even if it is just for a walk around the gardens, Regards Piers Vowles

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

The most breath taking view driving up the gravel driveway, with the rest of grounds are just a beautiful as your initial sight. The location is just fairy tale like,the curtain walls are full of white doves nesting and not forgetting Bob the resident white peacock. Bob is rather vocal and could hear him through the night which I found...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank donna W
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear donna W, Thank you for your wonderful review, and I am so pleased that you were able to be the "Princess for a Night". I have ensured that your wonderful comments have been passed to the team at the morning meeting. We do hope that you come back soon , and yes longer would be better. Regards Piers Vowles

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We stayed here for one night and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a four poster bed suite. The general manager parked our car for us and from the minute we arrived, to the minute we left, we were treated fantastically. The setting is stunning, let alone the grounds, castle and staff! We will definitely be staying here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Timothy B We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, and I will definatley be more than happy to park you car again for you. All the best Piers Vowles

Liss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Our stay started well when we were upgraded to a suite with a four-poster bed and just got better and better! We really couldn't have asked for a nicer room, everything about it was just perfect. The staff were very friendly and attentive to our every need. The setting for the evening meal was stunning along with the food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Kathryn W, I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us, I have passed on all your comments to the team, and they were delighted to receive them. Our Head Chef, Conor Toomey, is pushing for his Michelin Star, and it is a area that is keeping us focused, so we are pleased that you...

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Stayed in a few 5 star hotels , eaten in lots of Michelin star resturants. I must say my husband and I would say this has got to be the worst meal we have had. Tiny portions Expensive and tasteless . We have eaten better quality good at our local macdonalds . It's a rip off do don't bother to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kellyneal2016
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Kellyneal2016 Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the hotel. Firstly I thank you for your positive comments about the staff and the hotel rooms. I do appreciate your feedback about the food and I am sorry that this did not live up to your expectations. We do have many positive comments about the food, but...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

I couldn't believe my eyes when we drove up the gravel driveway towards Amberley Castle... The whole place is just absolutely stunning. Our room (Camber room) was beautiful too, with lovely little touches like a packet of cookies and L'Occitane toiletries. We were greeted by very friendly staff, who suggested we might like to have a go on the putting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bexmetalkitty
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear bexmetalkitty, that you for you r wonderful review, and I am so pleased that it was " A Magical Birthday Surprise." We hope that you will again join us very soon. Regards Piers Vowles

946 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (528)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (279)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (404)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Classic Room (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (51)
Viewed
Junior Deluxe Room (49)
Viewed
Premier Deluxe Room (54)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Superior Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
39.4 km away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
39.8 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
22.7 km away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
952 reviews
16.3 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
17.4 km away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Amberley Castle

Address: Church Street, Amberley BN18 9ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Price Range: €197 - €630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberley Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Amberley Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley Castle Hotel Amberley
Castle Hotel Amberley
Amberley Arundel Castle
Amberley Castle West Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amberley Castle staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Amberley Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book early - join Relais& Chateaus to get offers - ask for upgrade - go after march for museums - any questions ask the managements : very accommodating . There is only 2 rooms , where from inside it, had access to climb up to the top of the castle with a beautiful views .. ”
 of 5 bubbles greencrt, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Seffrid and love it!”
 of 5 bubbles 409alexandrap, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a door on the bathroom / look.”
 of 5 bubbles lesliebW97WG, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“classic room if on a budget.”
 of 5 bubbles colinpauldavies1, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“depends how much you want to pay”
 of 5 bubbles NAZARLondon, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5