We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 308: English reviews
Start your review of De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Warm welcome, top service/ staff and really nice accommodation. We felt very secure in the hotel. The dinner was great! Whenevee we will do the garden route again we would love to come again! Thanks a lot!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philip813
La Herradura, Spain
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel for our last night in South Africa purely on the restaurant menu and photos on the various sites. It was a lovely historic house but our choice of the a cottage turned out to be dark, damp and hardly recognisable from the webiste site. The wonderful menu we were expecting turned out to be a one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morifi
Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We found the room comfortable with large bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food excellent. Just a shame about the whole road being remade which caused difficulties on arrival and meant outside of hotel not at it's best.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T4426WSjanetb
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The kitchen staff was very friendly and food excellent. Only bad thing was that the WIFI was down. It is a really nice place with a pool we would recommend this place to our friends when thay are in Riversdal.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkMatroos
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived the road was being dug up and we could not get to the hotel. There was dust everywhere. Until we complained loudly the response from the manager was poor, then we got a better room. However it was very hot and there is no fan or aircon. We had to sleep with the windows open and got...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathygA8442US
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had made a special effort to revisit this small boutique hotel, based on the gastronomic experience during our initial visit a couple of years earlier. The then host & chef provided exceptional food at this somewhat remote boutique hotel. Our booking was made in October for a two night stay in February and we received a Reservation Confirmation from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OilandGas_13
Lund, Sweden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were travelling in the Western Cape province and had been recommended to stay at the Doornkraal on our way back to Cape Town after visiting a private game reserve near George. We were greeted by very friendly members of staff and our cottage by a pond was charming (fan very noisy!). We wanted to have dinner at the hotel...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fia240
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is suffering from months long road works, immediately outside some of the rooms. That is a problem, but a more real one is the feeling that the whole place is tired and needs some real money spent. I would also not take the garden house, if you expect a nice view and pretty flowers---there is none, and the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K9582BTandrewm
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the perfect place to stop on a straight drive from Cape Town to Knysna. We had a lovely big room with an additional lounge with seating for at least half a dozen and a decanter of excellent sherry. I had booked on the strength of reviews and had had an excellent exchange of emails with the chef -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle H
Montagu
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the only hotel we stayed at during our tour of South Africa which did not have air conditioning which was a disappointment. Having said that, the evening meal and breakfast was excellent. The gardens and pool were lovely

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETH F

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (123)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riversdale
32.4 km away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
40 reviews
1.7 km away
Fynbos Guest House
Fynbos Guest House
#2 of 8 in Riversdale
56 reviews
36.7 km away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
#3 of 8 in Riversdale
22 reviews
1.4 km away
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Riversdale
9 reviews
31.9 km away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#1 of 12 in Stilbaai
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
- Experience charming countryside hospitality in South Africa - We are committed to providing service excellence and ensuring that our guests feel that they are at home whilst away from home. Our good-natured team are proud that De Doornkraal has been recognized as the best four star Country House in South Africa, as well as the best in our province two years running at the prestigious Lilizela Tourism Awards – 2014 and 2015. In addition we also are proud recipients of The TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013, 2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

Address: 8 Long Street, Riversdale 6670, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riversdale
Price Range: €77 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not choose either of the cottages!”
 of 5 bubbles Morifi, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room fronting onto the stoop was spacious and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Mrsfromgorton, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The garden cottage is small and not convenient with a lot of luggage, the vineyard cottage would be a better choice.”
 of 5 bubbles ettemar, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Every room had a silver lining, great value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles 111TWIGAMINHAAFRIKA, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The cottages in the garden and vineyard are beautiful and a bit secluded”
 of 5 bubbles rxkok1, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5