We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
201 Waterfront Street, National Harbor, MD 20745-1135
6 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$377
View deal
Booking.comUS$377
Hotels.comUS$377
TravelocityUS$377
Gaylord HotelsUS$382
PricelineUS$377
Trip.comUS$414
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3046)
Room & Suite (488)
Dining (101)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 25/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Updated 25/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 6 hotels in National Harbor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Video game console
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
5732Reviews91Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,940
  • 1,870
  • 972
  • 510
  • 440
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gleighh wrote a review 16 Aug
Bel Air, Maryland3 contributions1 helpful vote
Pro's: Reasonably good service, very friendly staff, self contained hotel, close to attractions, clean, fun light show. Cons: Cafe area is a nightmare. It's very unclear that additional registers are located at the very end and clerks were constantly shrieking NEXT!! The hotel was accommodating a large group event and were clearly understaffed. Coffee was lukewarm with bland options. Starbucks clerk spoke and understood limited English and got our orders, which i repeated twice, wrong. At 3p.m. there were virtually no clean towels for pool goers. The cold drink machine by pool area and arcade was not working and my suggestion to at least put a sign up was met with indifference. No mini frig in room and mini coffee pot is a 1970's throwback. Rooms are very small. Bathroom and closet good size. Overall unimpressive unless paying expensive costs for the privilege of staying there impresses you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suad Ali, Guest Services / Front Office at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Responded yesterday
Dear gleighh, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable review. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority, and we sincerely apologize we fell short of meeting your expectations. Please be assured I have shared your concerns with our leadership team to address internally to help improve our world class service. Thank you again for your review, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to host you in the future. Suad A Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeanne S wrote a review 2 Aug
Johnstown, Pennsylvania78 contributions19 helpful votes
The hotel is beautiful. The conference facilities are very nice and the buffet lunch was tasty and innovative. When I asked about Tesla or ev charging I was told that there is availabilityIn the garage near the elevators on each floor but you need to bring your own cord. It turns out that there are no EV marked spots and these are simply 110 wall outlets that are near parking spaces. With a resort of this size I think they should have EV charging.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Only 110 outlets for EV charging
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
vincentp452 wrote a review 2 Aug
Boston, Massachusetts127 contributions73 helpful votes
I recently stayed with my son for 3 nights and the hotel is beautiful, but it all stops there for me. The elevators on weekends have 30 minute waits, the Potomac Store is severely understaffed and the employees are miserable. The mattresses in the rooms are not very comfortable. The bathroom soaps etc. are cheap quality. The hotel concierge was clueless when i asked him a question and gave me wrong information. I also have emailed Marriott regarding this all and they honestly don't care, I will stay someplace else next time.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from shirlyne joseph, Guest Services / Front Office at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Vincentp452, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable review. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority, and we sincerely apologize we fell short of meeting your expectations. Please be assured I have shared your concerns with our leadership team to address internally to help improve our world class service. Thank you again for your review, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to host you in the future. Shirlyne J Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
499_Washington wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City, New York9 contributions4 helpful votes
Gaylord’s humongous atrium is a real wow, the sound of water flowing and the relaxing music really calms you! The room was clean, the mattress was very comfortable and the daily 2 free fresh water bottles was a nice bonus! Beautiful national harbor walkways! Cons: We stayed in a room with two beds. We are trying to understand the logic of having two beds, and two vanity sinks but only one chair in the entire room. The refrigerator size is the smallest version available on the market, and there’s no microwave in the room. The self-service parking lot should’ve been connected by an indoor passageway, and there were no luggage carts available for the self-parking lot. $33 for parking is considered expensive. Otherwise, we loved our stay at the Gaylord and we will most likely return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
P Jay wrote a review Jul 2022
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina720 contributions90 helpful votes
Fantastically comfortable room. Lots of space, sitting options, room to walk without worrying about stubbing your toe. Bed just melted around your body and the linens soft, light and plentiful. Great lighting. Love having natural light in my room. Bath was nice because the shower and toilet separate of wash room. Again, plenty of space. Lovely Bath linens. Soft and scratchy. The facility itself is a large conference center with a large variety of dining options, beverage locations and shops. Definitely bring waking shoes. It's conveniently located at National Harbor with lots of [expensive] restaurants if you ventured out of the hotel. It's a short drive to DC where you can experience a lot. Staff was incredibly kind and helpful for all. An awesome gym fitness center.... get there early or after 8am. A small arcade makes for some fun.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AZCatFan1998 wrote a review Jul 2022
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania243 contributions119 helpful votes
We stayed here with two of our kids and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel and grounds are amazing, especially the atrium. There was plenty to keep the kids entertained including a nightly movie. The pool is large if not great but they still enjoyed it. It is essentially a resort in the south of DC. We were upgraded to a suite and the room was fantastic, we couldn't have asked for more. The location is a very convenient walk to the National Harbor where this is a ton to do and many dining choices.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you can use your Marriott suite night rewards it's well worth it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Randy C wrote a review Jul 2022
Yorba Linda, California5 contributions5 helpful votes
We checked out earlier after 3 times fire alarm in the morning in both our 2 rooms, and no notice , front desk does not know it will happen later or not. no choice , moved to Mandarin Oriental with much cheaper rate, booked this hotel for DC visit considering to avoid city noise and the nice looking atrium, my suite booking guaranteed high floor above 14th, got 12th when check in , no explanation. Hotel is very crowd during weekend, seems they care only the convention groups, not for family. everybody seems in training, maybe they closed for too long, Service does not match the Room, Room does not match the Lobby, Lobby does not match the high price.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: whatever room you book, no guarantee, so doesn't matter, try your luck.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from shirlyne joseph, Guest Services / Front Office at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Dear Randy C, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review; we appreciate your feedback. Here at the Gaylord National, our team wants to provide nothing but the best hotel experience, and offer our sincere apology. Please provide us with your contact information by emailing dcguestexperience@marriott.com so I can personally dig deeper into the flaws of your stay. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you in the future. Sincerely, Shirlyne J Gaylord National Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Solomon Borgawker wrote a review Jul 2022
Raleigh, North Carolina6 contributions2 helpful votes
The Hotel policy states this despite charging $250/room : "Tax Policy Room rates shown do not include 18.00% Sales Tax Per Night (subject to change) and *** a $22 daily resort fee ***. Total charges presented on the website will include all room taxes but not any applicable resort fees."
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Too darn expensive $$$$ Plus EXTRA added charges
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from shirlyne joseph, Guest Services / Front Office at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Hello Solomon B, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. Please provide us with your contact information by emailing dcguestexperience@marriott.com so that we can dig deeper into the flaws of your stay. Thank you again for the review, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to host you in the future. Shirlyne J Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eileen B wrote a review Jul 2022
Columbia, Maryland2 contributions3 helpful votes
I recently attended a conference at the Gaylord in Denver and thought how great it would have been to have my family there. So we decided to check out the Gaylord National Harbor for the 4th of July. When we arrived there didn't appear to be anywhere to park your car to check-in and unload your luggage unless you wanted to pay for valet. The self-parking here is already insanely expensive. I cannot imagine what valet costs. The front desk staff was delightful and helpful throughout our stay. We booked a suite overlooking the river and it was a wonderful view, especially for the fireworks. The room was spacious and had a comfortable bed. The shower area was a little tight, but workable. However, our room was dirty upon arrival. There was trash on the floor in the room and hair visible on the floor in the bathroom and throughout the suite. The dining table had not been cleaned well. There was sticky stuff on the side of the table. Also, since we were having our kids there as well, which we noted on our reservation and at check-in, we needed to use the sofa bed in the suite. I had to call for bedding for that and they didn't bring us all that was requested or offer to make the bed for us. We had to move the heavy tables and make the bed on our own. This is not the service I expect when renting a suite at a resort marketed as "upscale." The coffee provided in the room was not the right size for the coffee maker. The inside of the refrigerator was hotter than the 72-degree air in the room. The pool was disgusting. The water was cloudy and in retrospect, I should have known that the filters were not operating properly or the chemicals had become unbalanced. I inquired with a lifeguard and they said the water was fine and it was just the kind of pool it is. Once in the pool, I realized there was a bunch of debris like hair, dirty tissues, used band-aids, and other stuff floating in the water. The bottom of the pool was flaking off. The lifeguards didn't seem to be doing routine tests of the pool water nor were they paying much attention to the swimmers. The deck area around the pool was super slippery and slimy. Not just wet, but slimy like it hadn't been cleaned. I let my kids swim for a little while because swimming was half the reason we came to the hotel, but we then required them to shower immediately afterward. I still wound up with an eye infection from the few moments I spent in this pool. The pool bar was also a disappointment. They didn't have all the supplies they needed, and the bartender, while friendly, was extremely slow. When we arrived at the bar there were two customers waiting for drinks prior to us. It took 30 minutes for the bartender to make their drinks (4 drinks in total) and another 15 minutes for her to make our two drinks. The lobby bar was not open. This was the 4th of July, not just a random Monday. You'd think they'd be better staffed. The food at the one open cafe was sub-par and expensive. Room service consisted of 3 or 4 total menu options. Dining at this hotel is not what you would expect from a resort at all. They are renovating their other restaurant space. I'm curious to see how that turns out. Overall I wouldn't say Gaylord is a bad brand, but it is certainly hit or miss. The Denver resort was phenomenal. This one didn't hit the mark at all. I'm disappointed that I wasted points on this experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from shirlyne joseph, Guest Services / Front Office at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Dear Eileenbunny, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center and providing your honest review. I am disappointed to hear you experience an area where we lacked flawless. On behalf of Gaylord National, we sincerely apologize for your experience you had while you were with us. Your comments highlighted some areas for improvement, which has been shared with our Leadership team to review and address internally. Once again, thank you for your review. We are consistently seeking ways to improve our service and product. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Sincerely, Shirlyne Joseph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cap G wrote a review Jul 2022
Aldie, Virginia9 contributions2 helpful votes
Review Highlights “The atrium where the amazing light show was held was also decorated in a Christmas theme.” in 192 reviews “The outdoor walkway around the Resort offers great views of the Potomac River, and of DC and Virginia.” in 31 reviews “On the 18th floor there is a night club (Pose) that is very state of the art with the amazing sound system, video wall art and interesting decor.” in 18 reviews Location & Hours Map 201 Waterfront St National Harbor, MD 20745 Mon Open 24 hours Tue Open 24 hours Open now Wed Open 24 hours Thu Open 24 hours Fri Open 24 hours Sat Open 24 hours Sun Open 24 hours Edit business info You Might Also Consider Sponsored Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town 145 2.9 miles away from this business Stacy M. said"I really meant to write this review a couple weeks ago but life caught up with me. In any event I felt the need to share some events that occurred during my stay at this hotel. My family and I were there for a huge family event.…"read more in Hotels MGM National Harbor 884 Brandon A. said"They're the absolute worst... someone stole $1000 for me and they didn't do anything about it....... Place is under a 0 star review any day of the week"read more in Hotels Top of the Town 44 8.0 miles away from this business Robyn U. said"Breathtaking view, extraordinary value. My son and daughter in law recently had their wedding there. It was a little cramped for a ceremony - no place for the bride to stay out of the way until the ceremony, etc. But it could not…"read more in Venues & Event Spaces Amenities and More Masks required Staff wears masks Accepts Credit Cards Accepts Android Pay Help Improve Yelp Does this business have EV charging stations available? Ask the Community Ask a question Q: Hi we're going to be staying there in October are there nice restaurants within walking distance? What else is near the property? Thanks! A: Google "The Awakening" statue which is about 2 blocks from the hotel. It is a fun view of the harbor. You will also be surrounded by restaurants and shops. The Peeps store is worth a visit. If you like oriental, there is a restaurant that looks… more Gail B. 3 years ago 1 person found this helpful Q: Wondering if they have provisions for small RV parking? A: They have indoor and out door parking my suggestion is to call them Chas P. 3 years ago 1 person found this helpful Recommended Reviews Your trust is our top concern, so businesses can't pay to alter or remove their reviews. Learn more. Search within reviews Search within reviews Newest First Cap G. Seattle, WA 00 Start your review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center. Chris S. Pittsburgh, PA 228148234 7/5/2022 12 photos This was truly one of the nicest places I've ever stayed! Located just off the National harbor, it has beautiful views in the atrium where the front and ceiling are all made of glass. The location is fantastic being so close to the water, the Ferris wheel, and so many restaurants and things to do. My husband had great things to say about his conference experience. They have an indoor pool, but no outdoor pool that I know of; however, there are two small hot tubs outside adjacent to the indoor pool along with a bunch of chaise lounges for laying out with a great view. Room itself was great as well. No issues. There is an open air grab and go food place in the atrium as well as wine/beer stop which is ok but both very pricey. Wish I would've picked more with me. Highly recommend and hope to be back! See all photos from Chris S. for Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center Down Like Four Flats S. Alexandria, VA 570115 7/4/2022 1 photo Last weekend I had the pleasure of staying here. During check I was not thanked for being Ambassador member. I'm sure I shouldn't be making a big deal out this situation however I've worked really hard to achieve. I was denied an upgrade because I'm also an employee " part time " who has stayed with Marriott over 500 nights. We all know that's no attainable by being employee. I've spent over $100k with Marriott for the last couple of years. I was also denied a late checkout because I was informed they had 1000 arrives coming in on Sunday. Mind you because of my status I can have up until a 16:00. I had also inquired about availability for Sunday because it was a holiday approaching. I was informed that the hotel was sold out, once I got to my room checked online. Go figure I noticed that they were not sold out very disappointing. So to be informed by the African American female with glasses and locs that there was a notes in the computer saying I'm not eligible for an upgrade because of my employment situation is complete B$. During to Marriott guidelines I shouldn't received a cash compensation for her not greeting me properly. Trust I won't allow that to happen again. Later that evening when I approached the Elite desk I was greeted by the Makayla was working the PM shift around 22:15. She's was extremely sweet and she gave me two vouchers. However I was able to use them because of the food selection at the restaurant. Most of the breakfast items had meat or eggs on them. I'm witting this review to bring a PSA. When an employee travel you're " a Guest " not an employee.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from shirlyne joseph, Guest Services / Front Office at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Dear Cap G, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center and providing your honest review. I am disappointed to hear you experience an area where we lacked flawless. On behalf of Gaylord National, we sincerely apologize for your experience you had while you were with us. Your comments highlighted some areas for improvement, which has been shared with our Leadership team to review and address internally. Once again, thank you for your review. We are consistently seeking ways to improve our service and product. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and thank you for your loyalty. Sincerely, Shirlyne Joseph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$317 - US$468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gaylord national hotel oxon hill, gaylord national resort and convention center, gaylord national oxon hill
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandNational Harbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1996
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Which popular attractions are close to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center?
Nearby attractions include National Harbor (0.3 km), The Awakening Sculpture (0.4 km), and Harborfront Area (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bobby McKey's Dueling Piano Bar, Crab Cake Cafe, and SUCCOTASH.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of National Harbor.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.