We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
171 Waterfront St, National Harbor, MD 20745-1138
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
US$260
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$260
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
TraveluroUS$363
View all 21 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (216)
Room & Suite (107)
Dining (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 25/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Washington National Harbor
Updated 25/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 6 in National Harbor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
758Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 288
  • 229
  • 126
  • 63
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LeashSJU wrote a review 16 May
New Jersey8 contributions8 helpful votes
We typically stay at the Gaylord when we take trips into the DC, National Harbor area, but wanted to try something different this year. We will not be returning to the Westin. We had breakfast twice in the hotel. On Saturday we were sat right away, which was nice even though the kitchen service was a little slow. We returned Sunday for breakfast again at the same time, but was told there was a 30 minute wait because they were full. My family and I looked at each other in disbelief because it was clearly not full and there were plenty of empty tables. We chose to valet our car in hopes that made things easier. Well when we provided the ticket after we checked out the gentlemen pulled multiple cars at once and could not remember which car/ticket belonged to us. We were also not made aware that you had to request room cleanings. We are ok with not having daily room cleanings I understand that everyone is struggling with staffing, but we were not made aware of any of this while checking in. Communication is always key if you ask me and then we know what to expect. We will not be returning to this hotel when our experiences at other local hotels have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
petep231 wrote a review 9 May
Herndon, Virginia4 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I reside in Northern VA, and spent a Saturday night at the Westin as we were meeting up with a group of friends at Bobby McKey's. Since this was a last minute trip, my wife booked on points and the only option available were two double beds. Since my wife is Platinum Elite, she thought that it would be no problem to request an upgrade to at least a King bed on check-in. Unfortunately since the hotel was sold out, this was not available. OK, we can live with that since we where there for only one night. We had a nice view of the Potomac River and the Ferris wheel from the 6th floor. I had the need to utilize a computer to check my e-mail and print out my tickets for our Bobby McKey's show that night. When I inquired at the front desk about the location of the hotel business center, I was informed that there was none! Is this a COVID 19 related casualty? After arriving back at the hotel from Bobby McKey's just prior to Mid-Night, my wife and I decided to head downstairs to the Lobby Bar for a bite to eat but was shocked to learn that they had closed at 11PM! WOW! This is a resort hotel on a Saturday night? Again is this a COVID 19 related casualty? I would have hoped for at least a 1AM closure on the week-ends. We did partake of the Sauciety Restaurant Sunday morning. Our Server Martha was prompt and attentive. I ordered the Crab omelette which was tasty and reasonably priced. Our check out was seamless with our car parked right out front/ valet parking.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Nittolo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Washington National Harbor
Responded 1 week ago
Dear petep231, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the view in your complimentary Platinum Elite upgrade to our Deluxe Waterview room. Our king bedded rooms are very popular on the weekends, and we always do our best to take care of our Elite members. While we currently do not offer food service 24 hours, we are planning to open a 24 hour market that will feature fresh food from Sauciety to take care of those late night cravings. We hope to have this open later this year. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our Weekend Brunch in Sauciety. I will definitely be sure to pass along your gratitude to Martha and the rest of the team. We truly appreciate your loyalty as a Platinum Elite member, and can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Zipporah wrote a review Mar 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
The stay was relaxing. We had a great room with a great view. The service was amazing. Everyone was pleasant and accommodating. I felt valued. This will be my go to hotel every time I visit the National Harbor. Nikki was exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Kmil05 wrote a review Jan 2022
Chesterfield, Virginia267 contributions62 helpful votes
Stayed here for a Wedding Anniversary get away and overall it was a good experience, the late check-in was a bit of a pain because we couldn't check-in until almost 4pm. There was some inconsistency in information as I was told by 1 employee that Valet was $49 per night, but another said it was $51 so we just self-parked. In terms of the room it was a nice room with a couple of issues, first and foremost the toilet ran constantly, and the shower head was extremely loose and was losing water out of the connection. Since we were only there for 2 nights I waited til check-out and let the staff know. Drinks at the bar were expensive and the bar tender was only employee I found to be unfriendly. When I asked what whiskey/Bourbon they had she pointed to the unlit cabinets that were poorly/unlit and said this is what we have. It was extremely hard to see what bottles were in there especially from 6-8ft away. Did get a drink and took it to my room. I have stayed at many Westins and this one just wasn't the same overall experience. No in terms of future stays I'd stay here again and you can't beat the higher floor 4th and above harbor views, they are great. The room was plenty spacious enough and the bed was super comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: High Floor and Harbor View
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Nittolo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Washington National Harbor
Responded 4 Jan 2022
Dear Kmil05, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we let you down. Providing an excellent guest experience is what we strive to do. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate teams to ensure a better experience at our bar, as well as ensuring the issues with your bathroom are immediately corrected. I think you will be pleased to know that we have recently added additional lighting in the bar cabinets to address this very issue. Furthermore, our valet service does run $49, but is $51 after taxes. We appreciate your patronage, and hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Thomas P wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Our family of four visited for two nights just prior to New Year's Eve. We stayed in Room 511 which had a really beautiful view of National Harbor and Alexandria in the distance. I would suggest requesting a high floor with a Harbor View. Gold Elite "Bonvoy" members are eligible for these upgrades that include late checkout upon availability. The room itself was small at 300 square feet but, for some reason, felt a bit bigger in that none of us felt like we were cramped for space. This was surprising as I usually book suites now that I have teenagers. Staff here are very friendly, professional and courteous. They were quick to respond to our request for extra blankets and brought us bottled water. Perhaps the best feature is the location. You are adjacent to many good restaurants steps from the front door. McCormick and Schmick's, The Walrus (Oyster Bar), Fiorella's and Redstone are less than half a block from the front steps. The hotel restaurant, "Sauciety", is a nice option for breakfast. All of these places are pretty pricey so bring your "big boy" wallet if you are not planning to eat at McDanold's or "Subway". This is particularly true during the pandemic. This was our second trip to National Harbor having previously stayed at the Gaylord. That property is a resort. It is very pretty but less convenient and a bit of monstrosity in terms of size. They also charge you a very hefty "resort fee" per night. During our visit the Gaylord was going for $356 per night (not counting the resort fee) while the Westin was $204 per night (no resort fee_. However, you can still purchase tickets to Gaylord activities without actually staying there. During out time my daughter went ice skating at the Gaylord which cost about 17 dollars. It is about a 10- minute walk from the Westin. This made for an enjoyable trip along with riding the Ferris Wheel. The biggest downside was that Marriott does not clearly advertise that the Westin pool is closed due to Covid-19 restrictions. We would have liked to use it during our brief time there. Be sure to make note of that if traveling with kids. The other negative is that the parking is exorbitant. Valet is $50 per night whereas, if you park in the Mariner garage, they charge you 20-25. However, that option does not allow you in/out privileges. So, if you want to go to MGM casino, or the Tanger Outlets, you will need your car and they charge you full rate each time you leave and re-enter. I found both options to be a complete rip off. This is probably the best overall property at National Harbor when you factor in cost and star level. It's a four star and has nice cozy feel to it. There is an AC Hotel, Hyatt Place, Residence Inn and Hampton Inn in the immediate vicinity as well. Those are all nice options but slightly lower in star level and quality. Overall, we liked the Westin and would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go for a high floor with harbor view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
mws813 wrote a review Dec 2021
West Chester, Ohio764 contributions363 helpful votes
This was a work trip to the area and we booked ahead of time, My company sent all credit card authorizations as requested and I spoke to hotel the day before for early check in due to an extremely early flight and was told yes. The day of arrival, I called when landed and got a rude and uncaring lady that said nothing available and would not even give me an estimate or offer to call when the room was available. After several hours I called again and got a nicer lady who said there was a room ready. I got there and she demanded payment from me and stated that the credit card authorization was not received. I was about to scream at my secretary but she took half hour to drive all the way back home to log into the computer to not only find the original email but also the authorization form . Showing that they did confirm it and they had received it it was just an issue with their hotel not us. So after I had her send me the form and showed it to them they allowed me to check in but still tried to demand a payment in case it wasn’t OK even though they had the authorization form now. I refused and they went ahead and let me check in. This whole fiasco took approximately one hour with me sitting in the lobby the entire time. I later that same day contacted Marriott customer service and said they would have the manager follow up with me ASAP however the manager never followed up with me and never offered any sort of apology or compensation. I have sent numerous emails to Maria since then and each time they state that they have alerted the manager and they don’t even give the courtesy to contact me or remedy the situation. This is the most rude disrespectful management team I’ve ever dealt with in 20+ years of traveling. They don’t even care to take the time for customer service. I would’ve gave this hotel five star review had they reached out to me and made this right but they don’t have the courtesy to do that.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Nittolo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Washington National Harbor
Responded 20 Dec 2021
Dear mws813, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the trouble that you experienced during your arrival. Our team did note your request for an early check in, and provided expedited availability to you as an Elite Member. While we definitely do our best to accommodate all guests when they arrive at the hotel, we cannot always guarantee this. In your case, the hotel was completely sold out the night before, and we did not have any rooms ready until 12:00pm, as our checkout time isn't until 11:00am. I do see that you were provided an upgraded room just after 12:00pm. While we do understand there may have been some mis-communication regarding your credit card authorization form, we did receive it, but it was still processing at the time of your arrival. These documents are now digital, and go through a secure process before it drops into your reservation. This is our new standard procedure now in an effort to secure private/financial data. Our General Manager did authorize you to check in to your room while we waited for the form, which is an exception to the rule, and did ensure that you were taken care of properly. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced, but are glad that our team was able to go the extra mile to get you taken care of. We will definitely be sure to follow up with Maria and our Customer Engagement Team to ensure that information is better communicated in the future. We truly appreciate your loyalty, and hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Chuck wrote a review Dec 2021
East Greenbush, New York6 contributions1 helpful vote
Due to covid there was no valet parking so we had to park in the big parking garage and walk , i would say 2 blocks to the hotel ... no biggie because we only packed for overnight but glad it wasn't raining .. the room we got was an upgrade as most hotels give us that because of our points and status ... we travel a lot ... the view was nice but the windows had some kind of perforated covering on them ... sun protection ??? ... took away the clarity ... had a good breakfast but the dining area very dated ... definitely needs new tables and chairs ... nice staff tho ... wonderful server for breakfast ... should have got her name ...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Nittolo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Washington National Harbor
Responded 20 Dec 2021
Dear charleskF279nk, Thank you for your feedback regarding you stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we did not fully meet you expectations this trip. While we definitely understand that valet parking is more convenient than the self parking garages in National Harbor, we regret that the service was still not available for your trip. We are currently returning the service in a phased manner, and hope you can try on a future stay! We are excited to share that we are working on some updates to Sauciety, which will feature a new look with upgraded furnishing! We feel that this will match the excellent food and service as soon we finish the project! We truly appreciate your patronage, and hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Mega Bass wrote a review Dec 2021
Dover, Delaware59 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is great. Right off the water with awesome views. The staff is very helpful. The only bad thing I've notice is they don't pay attention to detail. There was hair on our bathroom sink and our windows were wiped with a dirty wet rag so it left streaks on the glass which took away from the awesome view. The carpet should have been vacuumed. There was hair all over our socks after we took our shoes off. In the hotel its self there were dust balls up and down the steps and in common areas. It was a great stay but attention to detail is needed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking is near, Restaurants are close and almost everything is walking distance!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Nittolo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Washington National Harbor
Responded 20 Dec 2021
Dear jmegabass, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, but do want to apologize for the less than perfect guest room. Our Commitment to Cleanliness is our top priority, with our team available 24/7 to ensure a clean facility. I will be sure to share your feedback with the appropriate department leaders to ensure this experience is not repeated. We do appreciate your patronage, and hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Vdidddy wrote a review Oct 2021
Houston, Texas137 contributions3 helpful votes
Average stay at best. Arrived to hotel quite late (9:50pm) albeit room was ready and check in was a breeze. Front desk attendant was efficient but not exactly friendly. No mention or what used to be an always welcomes greeting of “thank you for being a loyal member”. No complimentary water in the room so had back to the front where they charge you $3.00 for a small bottle. Really Marriott??? At that time (which is not late by most standards), was not able to order any food. In fact nothing nearby was open. Again, this Westin should comfier even cold sandwiches or something. Room itself was fine, comfortable. Everything worked although shower pressure was on the weak side. I think as we get back to some form of normality, the hospitality industry will need to step up their game any not nickle and dime their clients. There are plenty of choices and a discerning traveler will have a hard look at what exactly does loyalty mean these days.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: If arriving after 10pm, ensure you get food if hungry ahead of arrival. Nothing open
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Nittolo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Washington National Harbor
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Dear Vdidddy, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We have recently expanded our F&B hours to extend until 11:00pm daily, and some water now comes complimentary with your stay. We truly appreciate your patronage during these unusual times, and we look forward to welcome you back as we continue to evolve our offerings!
Read more
Doretta C wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
The Westin now a part of the Marriott, was lovely great room and view of ferris wheel, clean beds, in room refrigerator, no microwave. Front desk courteous but not friendly. No parking at hotel and no discount at the garage although the Marriott Residence Inn does have discount and In and out service, same brand so why not at the Westin. No valet service which is why I chose the hotel. Lastly only 1 working elevator during weekend rush SMDH! Shout out to the bar best Margherita I've had ever, well worth the overpriced cost.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Nittolo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Washington National Harbor
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Dear dorettac313, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and your waterfront room! We definitely understand your concerns about the parking, and are diligently working on a solution to have valet parking at our hotel soon, which will allow for in-and-out privileges. We truly appreciate your patronage, and hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$198 - US$336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin washington national harbor hotel oxon hill, westin oxon hill, westin hotel national harbor, oxon hill westin
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandNational Harbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
195
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Washington National Harbor
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Washington National Harbor?
Nearby attractions include National Harbor (0.05 km), The Awakening Sculpture (0.1 km), and Harborfront Area (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Washington National Harbor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Washington National Harbor?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Washington National Harbor?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Washington National Harbor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bobby McKey's Dueling Piano Bar, Crab Cake Cafe, and SUCCOTASH.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Washington National Harbor?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Westin Washington National Harbor located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of National Harbor.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Washington National Harbor?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Washington National Harbor?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Washington National Harbor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Washington National Harbor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alexandria's Christ Church (3.6 km), Old Town (3.1 km), and Arlington House - The Robert E. Lee Memorial (7.9 km).