We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Oak Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Oak Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I was attending a family gathering near Buckfastleigh and the Oak was the nearest hotel I could find. The place had recently been done up so the bedroom was fresh and clean. The breakfast was excellent and the people who ran it friendly. In the evening there were friendly locals at the bar and some very good beers. I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChuckCo2016
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Characterful pub in pleasant village not far from Plymouth and very easy to find. There was a nice friendly atmosphere in the bar which was enhanced by the absence of TV and piped music. Beer was very tasty and so was the food, which was good value. We had a one night stay, booked through TripAdvisor; our double en-suite room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coyzone
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

I nipped into the Oak last night for a quick drink and a snack. I had a fantastic build your own burger . Just superb 10/10.but keep a look out for the man who ate my chips . A fantastic local run by a lovely family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichStarChef
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Fantastic family run hotel. Rooms are so well kept and you get more toiletries, tea making facilities than you would in a 5 star hotel. Eat in the pub as the food is amazing and great value. A hidden gem

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A C
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review - good to see we are getting it right. Hopefully we will get the outside sorted soon - unfortunately this pub like the Forth Bridge and there is plenty needs doing inside first - the outside is a pretty major job too.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We were really impressed with our room, we got the one with the four poster bed. Our hostess was brilliantly helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a real treat with loads of choice. Wifi was quite poor but I would definitely recommended The Oak Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Hi Annette Many thanks for taking your time to leave a review - glad you enjoyed your stay. With regard to wifi we have just recently changed over to fibre optic not realising our existing access points wouldn't be able to cope. We have such thick walls and are looking into improving the wifi but at the moment the expense...

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Came here for a night with family, rooms were nice and very clean but very hot with all the lovely sunshine we had. Whenever I stay at a B&B in the countryside I get a bit excited about the breakfast, this was highly disappointing- overlooked poached egg, cheap sausage, tasteless bacon and cremated baked beans. No offer of tea/coffee refills...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miss_sylv
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I would have liked to known whilst you were here about your problems so we could have done something about it . Everyone said they had a lovely stay so getting this review was rather surprising. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy breakfast - as I said above had we known...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Stayed here recently and congratulated myself on my choice.The staff were great and friendly and the room comfortable and quiet.The food was simply superb and served in innovative ways.The bangers and mash you order by selecting choices are to die for..I have never enjoyed that dish so much.The chef really is extremely good and it shows in the food.Good ranges...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Lovely local pub offering exceptional food, ales, lagers, and atmosphere. Highlights: - Sunday roasts - Specials - Wide selection of meat and fish mains - Quiz night and 'folk at the oak' - Easy parking (by the old train station) - Free wi-fi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theBBSS
southampton
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

We went to this local pub for an evening meal. Lovely atmosphere - we stayed and did the pub quiz. I went for the sausage and mash menu which was perfect for a winters evening. Veggie sausage, horseradish mash and veggies with onion gravy. Really tasty. Love the sausage and mash selection - you choose your sausage , type of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison_insouthampton
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad your enjoyed your experience with us. We are a small run family pub with only a few staff, chosen for their friendliness, who end up being part of the family. We feel this gives us a relaxed and friendly environment for people to enjoy our home cooked food. We do not have any "ping" food here...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

I had to be in South Brent for a sad family event but I was lucky that my Uncle booked me in here. The room was nice and as you can see from my photos was well furnished with lovely piping hot water in the bathroom. The room was nice and warm and the bed was lovely and comfortable; I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spencer V
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you back under happier circumstances in the future.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Brent
11.5 km away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
199 reviews
9.8 km away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 km away
The Pack Horse
The Pack Horse
#5 of 7 in South Brent
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Garfield House - Your Place in the Country
1.4 km away
Turtley Corn Mill
Turtley Corn Mill
#3 of 7 in South Brent
67 reviews
1.2 km away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 7 in South Brent
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oak is a friendly, family run Inn at the heart of the Dartmoor village of South Brent. A complete refurbishment in 2008 now include a cozy bar, air conditioned restaurant, covered courtyard area, private function room and 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oak Inn

Address: Station Road, South Brent, Dartmoor National Park TQ10 9BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > South Brent
Price Range: €78 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Oak Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had room 2 which was great”
 of 5 bubbles 478andrewg, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There is a noisy extractor fan outside the fire escape so a room further away would be best; we were in 3 which was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles AngelaIreneBristol, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“I've stayed in Rooms 1 and 3 and to be honest the only real difference is room 1 has a larger bath and is a little more luxurious, but not a lot!! Exquisite!”
 of 5 bubbles 82damianh, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms seem very nice, our friends were in room 1 which had four poster bed so that seemed lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles kirkgirl, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
“all the rooms are fully refurbished so no difference from what I could make out.”
 of 5 bubbles bammers54, 24 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay