We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The County Hotel

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Very bad service, humidity, the shower noisy with pump, other customer with loud music, people screaming and noise of extractors, dropping water from the roof, lights in room not working, breakfast without chef, so no breakfast, No WiFi, Coffee horrible, in the Hotel their recommend you go another places for breakfast is surreal place, price very expensive quality ratio. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlexSpain69
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Ground floor of hotel was unkept, no staff at reception, strangers could walk in off the street and up the stairs - which happened- luggage was stolen. Food was of poor quality, tables were sticky! Breakfast was of substandard. Bread was rationed to each guest. Room was OK but carpet on stairs up to bedrooms was filthy. Would not recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alicecampbell2012
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed her the 18th june. The hotel and room were filthy and so run down. I stayed in Room 101 and the carpets are filthy and stained, the table is very stained and needs throwing out. The TV remote didn't work and I had to climb onto the dressing table to switch it on, and the top of the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jessiecar15
Pauline M, Owner at The County Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry for your very disappointing stay at the County . We are relatively new owners to the hotel and are in the process of starting a refurbishing program for the rooms, starting on the first floor. I am perplexed as to how you could not get a hold of reception as i was on duty that night. I have...

Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Staff are friendly enough, the reception person was keen to give me a room key and point me to the lift and informed me the restaurant was closed now @ 20.15 The room was a twin quite small but passable the shower curtain could do with being lifted up as hangs in the shower tray too much The carpet was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 185iainf
Pauline M, Owner at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for you frank and honest reveiw. We are relatively new owners to the hotel and have currently refurbished the ground floor. Our next step is to start refurbishing the rooms. The issues about the restuarant and coffee shop have now been addressed .

Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

This place is horrible.. The ground floor looks lovely but the rooms are disgusting. We were informed a function was on but we wouldn't hear anything as we were up a floor.. We heard everything. The whole room was run down. The bathroom was dreadful and the floors in the corridors made you feel drunk while sober. Would never recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank missdx10
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2016

i booked in for one night as a last resort,i was put in room 214. do not accept this room.the window does not have a lock,the shower rail was broken and the room door could push open when locked. i told the receptionist about the problems but nothing was done,the bed was like concrete,the floor and walls have stains on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CAIRNSY712
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Went in for a lunch time snack on a Tuesday. No food available apart from scones so no quick lunch. Bit disappointing but the coffee and service were both fine. Room was clean, bright, well lit and spacious. Just a pity about the food. It'll cost them custom.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frasjas
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Food was terrible, owner was rude, staff seem more interested in chatting amongst themselves than actually doing there job, I visited here in march and the food was amazing, I'm guessing a different chef back then as the food was horrible the other day. Menu is rubbish. Place is a shambles. Never going back.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John W
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

So while over for the week for a wedding (not at this hotel) we came in to the County hotel for some lunch and refreshments. On entering, reception staff were welcoming, friendly and very professional. We were beginning to wish we had made a reservation here rather than stay with family. We go to the bar for some food and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank donnacatherine
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Was in Dalkeith for a meeting and decided to have a coffee first. While on-street parking was busy in the centre of Dalkeith, I was able to get a space towards the Country Park entrance, so a short walk to the County Hotel and its Coffee Bar. The Coffee Bar is on one side of the entrance hall, with doors...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra and Alan S

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
1.5 km away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
930 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
3.9 km away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
5.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Dalkeith, a five minute commute to Edinburgh. The County Hotel is a striking building dating back to 1940. Enjoy comfortable accommodation in one of our 32 en suite bedrooms, relax with a drink in the bar or sample home-cooked meals in our cosy restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 152 High Street, Dalkeith EH22 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Price Range: €89 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel Dalkeith, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The County Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont do it”
Lindy123_13, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check they have been refurbished beforehand and avoid room 208”
AWPedd, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a room overlooking the main road but it was still very quiet.”
653alunj, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid 3rd flour as you could be in room on top of the Combi Boiler”
  • My Bedroom Door
M671PMstephenh, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“lift to all floors,we stayed on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel with a good view of the church.”
craigf962, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates